RoadBikeReview.com's Forum Archives - General


Archive Home >> General(1 2 3 4 5 6 7 8 9 10 11 12 13 14 15 16 17 18 19 20 21 22 23 24 25 26 27 28 29 30 31 32 33 34 35 36 )


Who here would support a track bike forum?(19 posts)

Who here would support a track bike forum?PODIUMBOUNDdotCA
Jun 17, 2002 8:10 PM
Who here would support a track bike forum? I talked to Greg and he said if enough people were interested a forum could be started. One day I hope we can work up to a track bike review if track ever makes a resurgence again. Detroit was recruiting people for madison so who knows!!!

Cheers,
Nick Corcoran
PodiumBound.ca Inc.
Dude- GO AWAY!!!key
Jun 17, 2002 8:27 PM
Your posts are boaring, selfcentered and frankly your tired!!

Greg-please start forum so we can deep six this dud!!!!
If you have a problem with me you go away... I'm staying (nm)PODIUMBOUNDdotCA
Jun 17, 2002 9:07 PM
GO AWAY!!!key
Jun 18, 2002 8:35 AM
Please start a track forum, and take Nick.

Is that grammar and spelling clear enough for you? I don't doubt that Nick has a good heart; I just think he's TIRED!!! I picture him on his porch in 40 years wearing his national champ jacket and telling stories about what could have been.

Humility is the true test of ones character.
another test of one's character:weiwentg
Jun 18, 2002 5:52 PM
I contend that being able to see the good in people is another test of one's character. in theory it isn't that hard to do, in practice, it is. too often, we pre-judge people, and whatever they do, we can find something bad to say about it. this has happened to me before. it would seem that you and some other people on the forum have the same problem.
um, before you start criticizing Nick...namir
Jun 17, 2002 9:28 PM
Check your spelling and punctuation. Anything even remotely valuable you may have to say (which is doubtful at this point) is absolutely negated by your poor grammar, syntax, and diction.

It's hard to take your post seriously.

You may say the same about Nick, but the truth of the matter is this: Nick has a good heart and the best intentions. His sometime language errors are most likely attributable to his neurological injury rather than a bad attitude, whereas you come off like a jerk.

I wouldFender
Jun 17, 2002 8:28 PM
Only raced track for three months, but I loved it!!!
Great IdeaTonyR
Jun 17, 2002 9:26 PM
You know I'm up for it. Great idea Nick.

TR
It's about timeI Love Shimano
Jun 17, 2002 11:35 PM
I was wondering why they did not have a track forum.
why not just use the racing forum?tarwheel
Jun 18, 2002 5:03 AM
Rather than create yet another forum ... make use of what's already there.
agree. -nmTig
Jun 18, 2002 5:13 AM
Because...PODIUMBOUNDdotCA
Jun 18, 2002 10:46 AM
Because track cycling/racing is so vastly different than road racing. A lot of things they share in common but some key points vary. And the forum would not just be for racing... it would be dedicated to those who enjoy riding fixed gears/singlespeeds. At least in my vision of it.

Cheers,
Nick Corcoran
PodiumBound.ca
track/singlespeed forum?weiwentg
Jun 18, 2002 5:31 AM
would combining the two make sense? in any case, probably a good idea to have a track forum.
key, there is one person who should get off the board, and it is you. you need to get a life instead of automatically flaming people.
I like this ideabigdave
Jun 18, 2002 6:17 AM
Sure, there would be a bunch of disparate posts ranging from the Madison to commuting, but it would be fun. And riders of all single speed bikes seem to the same interest and respect for those who ride on 20 mm tires with no brakes, or a commuter fixie with fenders.

I say go for it.

--Dave
someday, I'm getting a fixie...weiwentg
Jun 18, 2002 6:32 AM
...but I got a cross bike instead. well, someday.
which 'cross bike d'you get?gregg
Jun 18, 2002 8:04 AM
sorry, I haven't had a chance to hit the dirt with my surly yet.

-g
I like this idea!!!PODIUMBOUNDdotCA
Jun 18, 2002 9:44 AM
As consumer review has both mountain bike and road bike forums it'd be cool to incorpate the 2 different types of single speed riding into one forum! Both have so much in common. Just like the racing forum in reality could be shared between the two sites since theres so much cross over.

Cheers,
Nick Corcoran
PodiumBound.ca
I got a custom frame from Tom Teasdaleweiwentg
Jun 18, 2002 5:44 PM
I shouldn't say 'got' as it will get here around early September if all goes well. it's a goofy looking contraption: a tiny semi-compact with 700c wheels. but I don't care. while everyone is going 'what the hell kind of bike is that????' I'll be blasting by. in theory, anyway. as long as it goes forward and I can shoulder it...
re: Who here would support a track bike forum?brider
Jun 18, 2002 7:18 AM
Count me in. I recommend track racing to every one looking to improve their tactical savvy and sprint placement. There is tremendous cross over. Every track night is like a mini tactics clinic.