RoadBikeReview.com's Forum Archives - General


Archive Home >> General(1 2 3 4 5 6 7 8 9 10 11 12 13 14 15 16 17 18 19 20 21 22 23 24 25 26 27 28 29 30 31 32 33 34 35 36 )


For Campy and Volkswagen fans!(16 posts)

For Campy and Volkswagen fans!girchygirchy
Jun 17, 2002 4:03 PM
Has anyone else seen or heard about the work Campagnolo has done with the new Volkswagen Phaeton, their new luxury car? Campy helped produce the trunk and hood hinges, they're literal pieces of art. I might order onefrom the local VW dealer just to put on my desk or something. Automobile Magazine has a picture of the trunk hinge on page 64, which I've scanned and uploaded.
VW is cool butLazywriter
Jun 17, 2002 4:47 PM
I can live without Campy. Just got a GTI 1.8t and it is awesome and really really quick. The Phaeton is a beautiful car but I cannot see people paying $70,000 for a VW. For that price they will go with a BMW or Mercedes even if the Phaeton is just as good of a car. People need status.
Save $40,000 plus and toss this little thing around. I am telling you it is quick (180hp turbo)
nice!girchygirchy
Jun 17, 2002 6:28 PM
That is one gorgeous Golf you got there. Probably the same colour/etc I'd get (if I couldn't find an Impreza WRX wagon first!). But I'd have to say I'd prefer the $62,000 VW...I love the subdued look, and I'm not a big fan of newer MB and BMW designs. And, I could pop the hood 'n trunk, and stare at the hinges.
180 hp?muncher
Jun 18, 2002 2:18 AM
Did you chip it up or is that standard? They are only 150 here in the UK.
No chip...biknben
Jun 18, 2002 4:24 AM
180HP is stock for the 1.8T

http://www.vw.com/gti/price.htm
Wow - that must fly...muncher
Jun 18, 2002 5:19 AM
I have a 130 non T 1.8 and that doesn't hang around.

I bet you could make good money selling the US standard chip to UK drivers. I saw an outfit here selling a 10 hp gain chip for around $150!...
Wow - that must fly...divve
Jun 18, 2002 9:05 AM
In the rest of Europe the GTI 1.8 turbo is also rated at 180 HP. Perhaps in the UK the gas pedal bottoms out on the left front wheel well before it really bottoms out:)
Bizzarre.muncher
Jun 18, 2002 10:00 AM
Wonder why we only get 150 here. Only the VR6 gets more power - could be our emissions regs, but I would have thought all Eurpoe would be the same. Anyway,here's the specs for the 1.8 T

3 DoorGti 1.8T 150Bhp 3 DoorGti 1.8T 150Bhp 5 DoorGT TDi 150bph PD 3 DoorGT TDi 150bph

Brake Horse Power
150


Engine cubic capacity
1781


Fuel Consumption



Urban
26.2mpg - 10.8l/100km


Extra-urban
44.8mpg - 6.3l/100km


Combined
35.3mpg - 8.0l/100km


Engine emissions
192g/km


Engine noise levels
71.0dB


Engine maximum Speed
134mph - 216km/h


Engine acceleration 0-62mph
8.5secs


Maximum output BHP
150


at RPM
5700


Maximum torque
155 lbs.ft / 210 Nm


at RPM
4600

From www.volkeswagen.co.uk, in case you are interested - looks like you got a better deal....
Bizzarre.divve
Jun 18, 2002 1:06 PM
I think it has to do with your method of measuring BHP. There are a couple of specs that stand out, as in, are very different from the German version. Specifically, 0-62 in 5.6s for the stick shift and 7.9 for the automatic, and maximum torque of 235Nm at 1950 rpm. Those figures are just too different to contribute to a spec variance.
It is truly fast, I am amazed butLazywriter
Jun 18, 2002 2:29 PM
Europe is getting the r32 GTI which is 241hp. Plus it is 4 wheel drive. this thing is a beast. My car at 180hp hauls ass though. It is the Audi 1.8t engine by the way in a little hatchback. 0-60 in mid 6 seconds and top speed of 140mph (limited). It is acutally faster than the VR6 which is 176hp but they are bumping it up to 201hp.
VW is coolMikeB1st
Jun 18, 2002 5:03 PM
I had a vr6 golf (1997 version 174 bhp). The body roll from the Golf on cornering was horrendous and the front wheel drive pulled the car all over the place on rough surfaces.
I went to a 321 bhp BMW M3 evo much better handling and almost twice the power - the vr6 gave birth to a dangerous need for speed.
VW have a concept sports car which may go into production -same w12 engine configuration as the phaeton but over 600bhp. I'd buy the VW before a porsche 911 or ferarri if I had the money. A UK journalist reviewed the phaeton which he'd tested in Saudi Arabia, he hit 200mph in a phaeton which had been dechipped for his test.
re: For Campy and Volkswagen fans!ohmk1
Jun 18, 2002 5:17 AM
I posted this info last week, in addition CAMPY has been making auto parts for many years-especially alloy rims for Maseratis, Lambos, and Ferrari.
here's an ideamr_spin
Jun 18, 2002 8:27 AM
Seems a shame to hide those things away. Perhaps the Phaeton should come without a hood and trunk lid. Or you could drive around with your hood up and trunk open, so everyone can see those works of art.
re: For Campy and Volkswagen fans!No_sprint
Jun 18, 2002 11:08 AM
The Campy stuff is cool.

Just for comparison purposes, the base price of a Z28 is equal to the GTI with the sunroof. Camaro has t-tops standard.

Camaro offers 310HP and a womping 325 foot pounds of torque.

Check with Motor Trend on all the speed and handling specs for Motor Trend's most bang for your buck car for years, the Camaro.

The GTI is cool too, in my opinion.
Yeah, but....girchygirchy
Jun 18, 2002 11:28 AM
Camaros are GM products. Plus, they're not made anymore. I'd gladly purchase a Golf over a crappy GM excuse for a vehicle anyday.
Yeah, but....fatguyonalittelbilke
Jun 18, 2002 9:42 PM
Ok Now there is no replacement for displacment.
By the way My 71 GTO only has a 455 with only 565 hp.
Come on by will see how fast your littel VW is.

Keep the rubber side down.
P.S the Speed limit here is only 70MPH No need to go 140 or so Its all about stoplight to stoplight