RoadBikeReview.com's Forum Archives - General


Archive Home >> General(1 2 3 4 5 6 7 8 9 10 11 12 13 14 15 16 17 18 19 20 21 22 23 24 25 26 27 28 29 30 31 32 33 34 35 36 )


My New Baby...(34 posts)

My New Baby...Akirasho
Jun 17, 2002 1:08 PM
... picked up the bare frame and the fork (seperate) at Airborne's last garage sale (06-08-02) for a song, finished it Saturday night and took it out for a shakedown Sunday morning...

Believe it or not... most of the bike was assembled from components laying around the basement (including the wheels). Essentially a Dura Ace gruppo (my first) with the BB replaced with Ultegra, CK headset and FSA "Team" cranks.

We abide.

Remain In Light.
hey, baby...come to butthead (nm)JS Haiku Shop
Jun 17, 2002 1:12 PM
coolDougSloan
Jun 17, 2002 1:33 PM
What are you using it for? How many bikes is that, now? I think you pretty much set the standard here. :-)

Doug
Wow, neat chainringrwbadley
Jun 17, 2002 2:13 PM
How do you like the new ride? I know it's soon to tell. Let us know when you have formed an opinion of this frameset, hmmm?
coolAkirasho
Jun 17, 2002 2:35 PM
... I have absolutely no idea... I have absolutely no idea... I'm one sick puppy... but I'm having fun!!!

We abide.

Remain In Light.
We demand a recount! (nm)Kristin
Jun 18, 2002 5:58 AM
re:thomson and Ti collarcollinsc
Jun 17, 2002 2:17 PM
Ive got the same on my Airborne and cant for the life of me get the thomson to stay put using the Ti collar. How is it working for you?
re:thomson and Ti collarAkirasho
Jun 17, 2002 2:32 PM
... good question...

It slipped several times on it's initial test ride... but since most everything was new... I didn't dwell on it.

Then, I read reviews on this and other forums and this seems to be an ongoing problem. It's a sweet and clean design (the bolt appears to be stressed only in one direction) but seems to be lacking. I'm also using a MTB Thomson post (the road version was about 1.75cm too short) which should theoretically, give it a bit more "bite". I'll address this directly to the folks at Airborne.

We abide.

Remain In Light.
re:thomson and Ti collarAkirasho
Jun 18, 2002 11:50 AM
... this was the answer posted on Airborne's forums...

Torque down on it fairly tight. Don't use a "T" allen wrench, as they don't have enought leverage. The problem is that Ti collars "stretch" a bit, so you have to really tighten them more than you think you should. If the bolt starts making strange noises as you tighten it, you are on the right track...

I'm willing to give it a shot...

We abide.

Remain In Light.
Nice - keep us posted nmDaveL
Jun 17, 2002 2:21 PM
NiceS-U-B
Jun 17, 2002 3:29 PM
looks like you stripped down the GT or the Cervelo? and put all the parts on the airborne. Looks nice though.
NiceAkirasho
Jun 17, 2002 3:46 PM
<>

I didn't strip anything!!! I still got 'em (in fact, I've still got every bike I've ever bought since '75 'cept the one I gave to the EX).

I'm a bit on the compulsive side... and buy parts, gruppos and components (usually at a deep discount) in anticipation of the next frame project... the odd thing is, I've had this Bianchi since about '99 and this is as far as I've gotten! The Airborne was slapped together in about a week!

We abide.

Remain In Light.
I guess it's a matter of priorities...elviento
Jun 17, 2002 4:29 PM
A victory of China over Italy? No?
... cuz Record is more 'spensive than Dura Ace...Akirasho
Jun 17, 2002 4:39 PM
... I've always wanted to buid the frame with Campy Record, but have very few quality Campy parts on hand... whereas, the Shimano cup runneth over...

We abide.

Remain In Light.
you continue to be my spirit guide! nmloop
Jun 17, 2002 4:49 PM
re: My New Baby...roadmeister
Jun 17, 2002 4:44 PM
Sweet..........one of the few builds I've seen
that looks like it's doing 35mph just standing
still...good luck, ride safe........
re: My New Baby...flying
Jun 17, 2002 6:06 PM
"""Believe it or not... most of the bike was assembled from components laying around the basement (including the wheels). """"""

Man-O-Man you rule ;-)

I always feel I should sell my old stuff when I buy newer stuff. I gotta get over that.
After seeing that I...empacher6seat
Jun 17, 2002 6:24 PM
need to find a clean pair of shorts! whew!
Nice ride, hope you enjoy it.
Nice bike!Ken of Fresno
Jun 17, 2002 8:08 PM
Isn't building bikes fun! Sometimes I think it's almost as fun as riding them. Sometimes.

Abide,
Ken
Very nice! Whats its name? (nm)PODIUMBOUNDdotCA
Jun 17, 2002 8:23 PM
Oh my... just got, well, how you say, <i>excited</i>...spyderman
Jun 17, 2002 10:51 PM
If she ever needs to find a new home...
baby is too small...C-40
Jun 18, 2002 4:10 AM
Hate to be critical but here's an example of a frame that's at least two centimeters too small (maybe more).

Love all those steering tube spacers.
baby is too small...Akirasho
Jun 18, 2002 11:37 AM
... when I size a frame, I'm most interested in the top tube length... and this one is "like a glove". While spacers were required for my ride style/position, that's only 2cm (less than an inch) which is not that different from a quill stem (from such an equipped ride, I took some of my measurments before cutting the fork). With a 130mm stem (I normally run between 130 and 140 depending on top tube length... long monkey arms), my position feels spot on.

This is my first and only semi compact frame... and indeed, it does "look" smallish... but it fits where it counts!

We abide.

Remain In Light.
still too small....C-40
Jun 18, 2002 11:52 AM
The next larger size would have reduced the spacers by 1.5cm, reduced the seatpost extension by 2cm and brought the stem down to a 110 or 120. Your position would still be the same.

Still say you got one size too small.
...hmmmmm...Akirasho
Jun 18, 2002 12:06 PM
... next size would have been the 61 with an effective top tube length of 60.7cm... long by my standards.

I prefer the longer stems.

Seatpost length might have allowed for the use of the Thomson road vs the Thomson MTB post.

While the position might have been the same, I'd have had a slightly slacker headtube angle and longer wheelbase... perhaps you're right... but I'm still a happy camper.

We abide.

Remain In Light.
closer examination....C-40
Jun 18, 2002 2:23 PM
Reveals that the head tube angle is the same and the effective difference in top tube length is exactly 1cm (60cm), after you subtract .7cm to account for the .5 degree difference in seat tube angle.

A 61cm would have given you a 120 stem with .5cm of spacer, less seat post exposed and the saddle better centered on that seatpost.
...ok, I'll take it back...Akirasho
Jun 18, 2002 4:38 PM
We abide.

Remain In Light.
What? No comments on the tape? nmMel Erickson
Jun 18, 2002 5:47 AM
Man, what do the neighbors say?Sintesi
Jun 18, 2002 5:59 AM
You have a bike for every day of the week. Honestly, you have more tricked out bikes... You are the sickest man on the board and I'm green with envy. ; )
Very Nice. Just 1 questionPhatMatt
Jun 18, 2002 9:21 AM
May I come play in the basement.

very nice ride
Matt
That's a hot-rod, man! Whatsit weigh? (nm)RhodyRider
Jun 18, 2002 11:13 AM
That's a hot-rod, man! Whatsit weigh? (nm)Akirasho
Jun 18, 2002 11:48 AM
... dunno (frame is over 3 pounds)... but it's lite...

I'd imagine saving a few grams if I went with an all carbon fork (that could tolerate the number of spacers I used) a lighter stem/bar and swapped out the Ultegra BB for Dura Ace... but since I'm no lightweight myself... no need for me to count grams!

We abide.

Remain In Light.
That's a hot-rod, man! Whatsit weigh? (nm)flying
Jun 18, 2002 1:53 PM
Their site is good. Like Wrench Science you can configure to your hearts content. It shows weight at the top of the page as you go. Pretty cool!http://www.airborne.net/eready/janette/store/roadhome.asp
... out of curiosity... I used their configurer...Akirasho
Jun 18, 2002 6:05 PM
... allowing for a couple of subs for parts not offered on their website... they say it's about 16 pounds with pedals... and a whopping $5K!!! I didn't spend that much... not even considering the parts I had on hand!!!!!

At this point, I can neither confirm or deny...

We abide.

Remain In Light.