RoadBikeReview.com's Forum Archives - General


Archive Home >> General(1 2 3 4 5 6 7 8 9 10 11 12 13 14 15 16 17 18 19 20 21 22 23 24 25 26 27 28 29 30 31 32 33 34 35 36 )


Bike Lust Strikes Again(8 posts)

Bike Lust Strikes AgainFranchise
Jun 17, 2002 11:55 AM
I was riding on country roads this weekend, when I saw one of the most beautiful machines these eyes have had the pleasure to behold...the DeRosa King. I saw it just for an instant, but it was a beauty.

Does anyone have any information about this frameset? I'm aware that DeRosa is a heralded Italian brand, but how does this frameset and company compare to Pinarello, Colnago, Gios? BTW, I saw a Gios carbon/aluminum frame on the road this morning. That was also a very slick ride!

Please let me know any information about the DeRosa King if you have any to share. Thanks. Also, if that frameset is too pricey, what is another alternative?(Merak, Planet)
In my opinion De Rosa=the end all of bikes. I have 2 Meraks. nmonespeed
Jun 17, 2002 12:12 PM
In my opinion De Rosa=the end all of bikes. I have 2 Meraks. nmFranchise
Jun 17, 2002 12:21 PM
onespeed,

Could you please elaborate? Also, where did you purchase your duo of Italian Stallions?
At the risk of being flamed for my strong opinions hereonespeed
Jun 17, 2002 12:54 PM
I purchased one off of Ebay as a quick replacement for an event and instantly found it to be exactly what I was looking for. I liked it so much, I bought another frame to build up from maestro-uk.com to have a replacement bike just in case (read this as "I was obessed with the quality of the ride").

Providing you are less than 175 pounds, the Merak has to be one of the most reponsive bikes I have ever ridden. It also may have something to do with Record Gruppo on both of the bikes. It is unbelievably light with superior handling.

I have ridden carbon, alumminum lugs, steel slx/sl/aelle but never a full alu bike. This was a concern that never became a problem. I have done 7 day rides on it, 1 day 200+ mile rides and all kinds of other rides without any jarring harsh ride materializing from this frame material.

The provenance and history that comes with any De Rosa is enough to sell you even before you ride one. I dont think I have ever heard anyone say anything bad about a De Rosa on this board unless it was "They are so damned expensive!!!"

They are expensive, but the cost can be lowered significantly by buying overseas (there will be opinions here also). My experience with buying overseas was positive. I saved close to 50% and sent my warranty and registration to De Rosa personally by FedEx to have my name on record.

These bikes are amazing. What else can I say?
did the delivery take long?olsta
Jun 17, 2002 10:19 PM
Rumor has it.............Dave Hickey
Jun 17, 2002 12:48 PM
The King is made for DeRosa by Colnago. It's an all carbon frame so it makes sense that DeRosa has outsourced it's production. I agree with you, that bike is #1 on my want list.
Rumor has it.............JimP
Jun 18, 2002 8:06 AM
The DeRosa King certainly looks a lot better than the Colnago C-40 multi-piece frame with the carbon lugs and tubes. If Colnago made it, it seems closer to the Ferrari model. My problem with it is the size - 54cm max! They should make one for "real-sized" people - at least 60cm.

Jim
CarbonissimoRoubaix
Jun 18, 2002 3:40 PM
Just go to the source. Colnago Il Carbonissimo. I have one. UNBELIEVABLE.