RoadBikeReview.com's Forum Archives - General


Archive Home >> General(1 2 3 4 5 6 7 8 9 10 11 12 13 14 15 16 17 18 19 20 21 22 23 24 25 26 27 28 29 30 31 32 33 34 35 36 )


need input on buying PEARL IZUMI Attack shorts(12 posts)

need input on buying PEARL IZUMI Attack shortskomatiite
Jun 17, 2002 7:55 AM
i need to get a new set of shorts really bad. my old ones
are not really cutting it. i am thinking of getting a pair of Attack shorts, as i cant afford the Microsensor shorts. however, after reading some posts in the reviews, i hear a lot of complaints about the PRT chamois, which is in the Attack and the Microsensor shorts.

anyone else have any input on this or recommend a set of affordable, quality shorts (is that an oxymoron?).

thanks.
What is the budget?Lone Gunman
Jun 17, 2002 8:01 AM
Got 2 great options, and just my opinion Santini is a better choice @ bikejerseys.com. Sorry, haven't figured how to post a link but:

http://www.velowear.com

and

www.bikejerseys.com

The best I've ever had, PI stuff is overpriced/overrated.
re: need input on buying PEARL IZUMI Attack shortstarwheel
Jun 17, 2002 8:02 AM
I had a pair of the PI Attack shorts and returned them after using a while because the seams were rubbing sores, which didn't happen with any of my other brands. I would recommend checking out Voler shorts and bibs at www.velowear.com. Top quality gear for reasonable prices. If you pick the wrong size, they include a postage paid envelope for exchanges or returns. If you join their email club, you can buy bibs this month for $45, which is hard to beat. I've got 3 pair.
re: need input on buying PEARL IZUMI Attack shortsIan
Jun 17, 2002 8:14 AM
I use the Microsensor shorts, same PRT as the Attacks and find it very comfortable. But, just like a saddle, we are getting into the area where everyone is a little different. What works for one doesn't for another. Pearl must be doing something right though, because around here that is what 80-90% percent of the riders are wearing.

Ian
ok by meJekyll
Jun 17, 2002 8:19 AM
But I would just as well save the money and get Voler like the other posters pointed out. I find the Voler team short to be more comfortable then the attack but asses will vary. Give Voler a try - if you don't like them you get your money back and get to keep the tootsey rolls - if you do like them then you save $20 a pair over the PI's.
chamois a major minusDaveG
Jun 17, 2002 8:32 AM
I used to love PI shorts. Last year I bought some Attacks thinking that they would be nearly as good as the Ultrasensor and Microsensors I had before. No dice. The new chamois used is about as comfortable as a piece of 60 grit sandpaper. The seam on the chamois ripped my butt to shreds. What were they thinking?
That's why they are called ATTACK shorts!! NMbnlkid
Jun 17, 2002 8:34 AM
Heh. Good one. NMgs6769
Jun 17, 2002 9:30 AM
no problems with PEARL IZUMI Attack shorts w/PRTTig
Jun 17, 2002 11:11 AM
I've ridden them for a year and like them for the most part. PI's PRT is a little thicker than my other short's pads from Voler and Louis Garneau, but I prefer the latter's designs. For the money, go with Voler. I love their bib shorts and knickers.
no problems with PEARL IZUMI Attack shorts w/PRTkomatiite
Jun 17, 2002 1:37 PM
the voler shorts do sound pretty killer. and for
that price...
the return policy at velowear.com seems kinda
redundant. you can return them for free but they cannot be worn or used. so hows a guy supposed to know how they fit?
you might be able to get some items on sale from VeloWear.comTig
Jun 17, 2002 3:24 PM
Go to http://www.velowear.com/home.asp and enter your email address to receive monthly emails on sales and other Voler E-Club specials throughout the year. You can save even more.
Giordana CP4cking17
Jun 17, 2002 3:46 PM
Same problem as you. Wanted PI but read the reviews. Look at Giordana CP4 "Silverline" shorts. $59 and excellent.