RoadBikeReview.com's Forum Archives - General


Archive Home >> General(1 2 3 4 5 6 7 8 9 10 11 12 13 14 15 16 17 18 19 20 21 22 23 24 25 26 27 28 29 30 31 32 33 34 35 36 )


Ride to Mt Wilson this morning(27 posts)

Ride to Mt Wilson this morningPeterRider
Jun 15, 2002 3:39 PM
OK, since I enjoy when people post pictures of their ride, this morning I borrowed my roommate's digital camera and took some pictures on the way to Mt Wilson. I live in Pasadena, CA, so Mt Wilson is a good ride for climb. The difference of elevation is probably around 5000ft.

First picture: getting ready to go. 7:50am, I'm too young for getting up so early on a saturday morning !
starting on the Angeles crest highwayPeterRider
Jun 15, 2002 3:41 PM
The road going to Mt Wilson is the Angeles crest highway. There is a century, going on there, but I need to train more before I can do it. Going up Mt Wilson, I average 7.5-8mph
Cops giving a speed ticket to a motorbikePeterRider
Jun 15, 2002 3:44 PM
I hesitated to take a picture of the cops when I was just in front of them....
Motorbikes go really too fast on the Angeles Crest Highway, this is the only thing I don't like about this ride. I hope the ticket was expensive ! It was in a double fine zone
I'm going up, going up...PeterRider
Jun 15, 2002 3:46 PM
Time for a break, here is what I see...PeterRider
Jun 15, 2002 3:47 PM
At the ranger station Clear Creek (about half way)PeterRider
Jun 15, 2002 3:50 PM
I rode a bit with this lady (ah, I'm awful with names, I don't remember hers !), we stopped at a ranger station, where the ranger gave us a map.
Huge pine conesPeterRider
Jun 15, 2002 3:53 PM
It is difficult to see on this picture... I brought back one of those pine cones some time last year, I should check but I'm sure it weighs around 3 pounds (like a bike frame !)
Sorry I lied, it's only 1lb 10oz. Just put it on the scale :-(PeterRider
Jun 15, 2002 8:17 PM
... pretty heavy though, for a pine cone !
re: Ride to Mt Wilson this morningmickey-mac
Jun 15, 2002 3:54 PM
Nicely done. I've been thinking about taking my digital camera up into the Angeles Forest. If you haven't done it, you should take Angeles Crest to Angeles Forest and descent Big Tujunga Canyon. It must have been warm up there today.
re: Ride to Mt Wilson this morningPeterRider
Jun 15, 2002 4:20 PM
Thanks. Is the ride you're talking about turning left at Clear Creek ranger station, while the road to Mt Wilson continues on the right ? (the lady I was with told me that ride is very nice - 47 miles)

It was very hot indeed, between 85 and 90.

Pierre
re: Ride to Mt Wilson this morningmickey-mac
Jun 15, 2002 5:21 PM
That's it exactly. If you stay on Angeles Forest instead of going down Big Tujunga, you'll end up in Lancaster. I like going up the back way on Big T and coming down Angeles Crest because I run into less traffic. I'm glad you enjoyed the ride and thanks for the pics.
fog on the valleyPeterRider
Jun 15, 2002 3:56 PM
The last 5 miles of the ride really kill the legs, there are very steep parts. So let's stop to admire the beautiful landscape !

This didn't come out as good as I expected, the brightness is saturating. Since the layer was not red/brown, I don't think it was pollution.
The antennas on Mt Wilson ! I'm approaching the top.PeterRider
Jun 15, 2002 3:58 PM
Looking down (is this Glendale ? or maybe Pasadena)PeterRider
Jun 15, 2002 3:59 PM
That's Pasadena...Geex
Jun 15, 2002 5:41 PM
Glendale is towards the right behind the foothills...
I'm at the top ! Phew, I'm tired.PeterRider
Jun 15, 2002 4:01 PM
Are you Peyton Manning? just joking! cool pics (nm)TPC
Jun 16, 2002 10:20 AM
Was talking with those nice people...PeterRider
Jun 15, 2002 4:02 PM
And I promised I would email them the file :-)
The 100 foot solar telescope (left).PeterRider
Jun 15, 2002 4:04 PM
I think it is still operated by UCLA (or is it USC ? I don't remember)
What is this mountain ?PeterRider
Jun 15, 2002 4:06 PM
I think this picture is looking in the direction of the LA downtown area. What is the mountain on the left ? is this Mt Washington ?
Other nice people I was talking withPeterRider
Jun 15, 2002 4:07 PM
They hiked from Sierra Madre. They were tired but proud of having made it to the top !
Last picture for today : the 100 inch telescopePeterRider
Jun 15, 2002 4:12 PM
The 100 inch telescope is the main telescope of Mt Wilson observatory. It was built in 1917 by George Hale, and remained during 30 years the most powerful telescope in the world. I think it isn't used on a regular basis any more, because of the pollution. The telescope on Mt Palomar is exactly the same, but 200 inch, and minutes of observation at this telescope are very precious for the astronomers of all the world.
Hey Gregg !PeterRider
Jun 15, 2002 4:13 PM
With pictures almost as nice as those you submit, don't I win a roadbikereview T-shirt ? :-)

Pierre
Sat was pretty clear! :)JohnG
Jun 15, 2002 5:13 PM
NICE pics!!! :)

I did a somewhat similar ride last weekend..... but went on to Azusa Canyon and exited that way. IMHO, it's even prettier the farther up/in you go. The route down Azusa Canyon is pretty hairball too. A closed mountain road with some fast steep turns..... doesn't get much better than that. Met some fellow riders up there and had a blast on the way out of the forrest. The lower part of Azusa is real tough though. Headwinds were pretty tough and the "downhill" felt like a serious climb. ;(

ride on
JohnG
Great Report, Thanks (nm)Scot_Gore
Jun 15, 2002 8:17 PM
Nice pictures.Leisure
Jun 16, 2002 12:05 AM
It's cool to see more people doing this. Getting to see all these different riding areas which can be from anywhere in the world is pretty nice. I wish everyone would post these, and not necessarily just for the major rides. I'm interested in seeing what people are doing for their routine rides, be it out in the country or through a city, twenty miles or whatever.
Thanks for the picturesdsc
Jun 16, 2002 8:21 AM
Very nice; I'll have to plan a little trip north (from San Diego) in the near future.