RoadBikeReview.com's Forum Archives - General


Archive Home >> General(1 2 3 4 5 6 7 8 9 10 11 12 13 14 15 16 17 18 19 20 21 22 23 24 25 26 27 28 29 30 31 32 33 34 35 36 )


Overtrained, sick!(10 posts)

Overtrained, sick!Breakfast
Jun 14, 2002 6:55 AM
Sometimes, there's a fine line between training and overtraining.

I rode a easy/moderate hour and a half on Monday, then a hard hour and a half on Tuesday, spin ups, sprint starts, 10 minutes at 165 bpm, 20 minutes at 110-120 rpm easy gear. Wednesday I did two hours riding on the flats but I know I went too hard because I just like to keep it flowing and I end up pushing on the pedals.

So, Thursday comes along and I'm planning intervals but I don't feel like it and shine it on. Thursday evening, headachy, slight chills, general malaise.

It was the flats, my hips and glutes felt a little sore on Thursday. Rested Thursday and will today too.
Funnyrideslikeagirl
Jun 14, 2002 7:25 AM
how your body knows WAY before your head does, huh?

When I've pushed too hard for too long, my body certainly tells me. That's when I'll be lucky to drag my sorry butt home from work and make it to the couch before I pass out. I just literally can't keep my eyes open past six.

The next day, I'm ready for action.

"Resting is training, too"
re: Anyone ever get this ?cyclejim
Jun 14, 2002 10:07 AM
Some days where I go really hard I later have an elevated heart rate for 24-48 hours.
re: My first hint is insomnia.dzrider
Jun 14, 2002 11:57 AM
I go six days per week and do just fine. Sometimes I'm forced by family or work to miss a few days and then try to make up for it. If I get to 9 days in a row I start waking up during the night and feel like my body can't relax well enough to feel well rested. Kind of an irony.
No wonder your overtrained...PODIUMBOUNDdotCA
Jun 14, 2002 2:36 PM
Well I looked at your training program so heres how I see it:

Monday - easy moderate hour and a half - a recovery ride/aerobic ride
Tuesday - spin ups, sprints, 10 mins at near lactic threshold and high cadence stuff. Enough to kill even a pro when does properly!
Wednesday - easy moderate two hours but easy turned into moderate
Thursday - intervals day but your body kicks you in the ass

Your entire week would have been great if you had just taken Wednesday easy. As I move away from my coach giving me a program and just following it I realize I have to listen to my gut instinct on stuff and I will be right.

For example. Last year during the winter I was told to do single leg stuff on rollers for balance but instead decided to do them on a trainer negating the balance aspect and just woking on the strength. Strength was the key reason for the workout... just entering the sport so late my on bike balance sucks at times. And looking at where I got me it was a good choice and I attribute it to not listening to my coach at times.

And now after my accident my coach can only coach me to 150 bpm so I am stuck doing most of my workouts on my own but have done an excellent job in my opinion. I do 20 hours a week and at times teeter on the edge of overtraining but keep it in gear. And as I taper for Sunday when I try out for the National bobsleigh team I have done a f*cking amazing job. I went from Monday where I was giving her to today where I cut back on the volume but did enough intensity to sharpen my skills and rest until Sunday when I hit it! But it still took close to 15 hours of training in 5 days to get to that point. Which proves the point tapering means decreasing the volume but not the intensity.

If anyone is interested in discussing me coaching them give me an email at Nick@PodiumBound.ca. I have a few clients who are very happy with how I've been doing including myself!

Cheers,
Nick Corcoran
PodiumBound.ca
I dunno 'bout this...klay
Jun 14, 2002 5:15 PM
Are you trolling for clients here? Advertising your services? The owners of roadbikereview.com may want to get paid for the advertising bandwidth you are now occupying.

IMO - this is an unacceptable use of this forum.

K
****Hmmm...****PODIUMBOUNDdotCA
Jun 14, 2002 8:07 PM
Am I advertising? I guess a little.

But at the same time I am advertising my services after ompletely legitimate information that everyone can use. Coaching is one of the ways I'm making money for myself so I can chase my dreams. If you want to take that away from me go ahead. And I'd be happy to pay roadbikereview.com a portion of the money I make from clients who contact me. However, for this they will have to contact me in private at Nick@PodiumBound.ca and we will figure out a split.

-Nick Corcoran
PodiumBound.ca Inc.
No.klay
Jun 14, 2002 9:58 PM
You need to contact them yourself. Scroll down to the "Contact Us" link at the bottom and make the same offer you just made.

It is my hope that they say something along the lines of "No thanks. The forums are not intended to be used for advertising. If you'd like ot advertize, we have some nice banner space to sell you".

If I see you advertising in here again, (regardless of how amazing your coaching is), I will contact them for your account be deactivated or your IP banned.

I don't see this as taking anything away from you that you didn't earn.

Thanks

K
Done... (nm)PODIUMBOUNDdotCA
Jun 15, 2002 8:24 AM
do you offer humility lesson too?(nt)rufus
Jun 15, 2002 6:19 AM
nt