RoadBikeReview.com's Forum Archives - General


Archive Home >> General(1 2 3 4 5 6 7 8 9 10 11 12 13 14 15 16 17 18 19 20 21 22 23 24 25 26 27 28 29 30 31 32 33 34 35 36 )


Just in accident(13 posts)

Just in accidentcolosipm
Jun 13, 2002 5:29 PM
I was just involved in a traffic accident that was not my fault. I'm unsure what damage was done to my bike. I have a TT frame with dura-ace parts, that I bought 400 miles used last year. I'm curious as to what the process is with bikes and getting them either replaced or getting a check for how much their worth. Do insurance companies accept whatever ruling a bike shop gives as to the worth of the bike?
Go to your LBS - Act FAST!!! Avoid the Blood Sucking Lawyersjose_Tex_mex
Jun 13, 2002 5:51 PM
Have the thing checked out by the Pro's. If I was hit by a car on my carbon bike I am not sure if I would trust a mere visual inspection. Make sure you have them give it a professional once over and get it in writing!!!
As for insurance companies,

I dealt with an adjustor once who knew of Cannondale and Aerospoke's buy back policies and made adjustments. However, it depends on the damage as to whether they will take your word.

Here's what I would do. Make sure your bike gets replaced with no expense spared. Get the works and be picky even down to a scratch - tell them it needs a new paint job. Then (if and only if you are 100% healthy) tell them you wish to settle for (let's say) $1500. Tell them if they get the check to you within a week you will settle for both personal and property damage. Think about it from their end. Your medical bills could easily be 2 or 3K, any personal injury a few more, and on top of that they have to pay the property damage. Depending on the price of the bike and the damage this could be your best bet. I actually dealt with a company where I just told them there was $1500 damage and if they cut the check before the end of the week - all was settled. They never asked for anything and the blood sucking lawyers didn't get their cut.

Questions: What kind of bike, what's damaged?
bad idea...do not go right to the LBSColnagoFE
Jun 14, 2002 10:00 AM
Leave everything in its damaged state. do not repair or modify anything. take pictures...and get a lawyer before you go too much further.
I disagree - he has know the damagejose_Tex_mex
Jun 14, 2002 11:16 AM
Again,
IF you are 100% ok wrt health...

You have to get your bike checked out at the LBS - but do not let them fix it. As someone else said, go to the expensive one in town - they'll charge a lot for labor which you can probably do yourself.

Next, depending on the extent of the damage figure out how what is serious and what is not and come up with a figure you are happy with.

Call the Insurance company first thing Monday. Tell them you are going to see your doctor. If they cut a check within the week - you will settle for both and any injuries will be "your problem." Personally, I would ask them for the price of the bike. Also, make sure you get to keep the bike.

As for lawyers - sure you can involve them. The claim could take years and of course they are going to get their cut. If you can get the price of the bike before the end of next week - take the money and run.

Just do not say too much. State your case.
1) I was hit
2) I was hurt
3) My bike is screwed
4) I am going to the doctor
5) Will you settle for $xxx
6) IF YES - take money and run
7) IF NO - contact lawyer and go to Doctor
My experiencetronracer
Jun 13, 2002 8:19 PM
A car rear ended me w/ bike on trunk rack. I had a friend who worked in a bike shop so he wrote that the bike was damaged beyond repair and the cost of a new bike same model was x amount of $. Faxed it to the insurance co from the bike shop and they wrote me a check for the somewhat inflated bike shop price of the new bike in addition to the cost to repair my car. I still kept the bike.
kind of the same here with a different outcomeJekyll
Jun 13, 2002 8:49 PM
Also got rear ended - the guy who hit me only had $5000 in property damage coverage. My car had $5200 worth of damage and my 3 week old Jekyll 3000 and rack were totaled. So now I have 2 Jekylls on my CC and a law suit against the bastard - like I'll ever see anything...
PIP insurancefiltersweep
Jun 14, 2002 4:16 AM
Funny thing is you could live in MN and not worry about an uninsured motorist (unless they are from out of state), or you could buy a new Jekyll every year with the money you save in your state by not paying for PIP insurance (no-fault insurance.... very commonly misunderstood, as it does NOT apply to propery, but rather personal injury, but is a big boost to premiums. I might be exaggerating mildly, but my insurance doubled with I moved here).
PIP insuranceJekyll
Jun 14, 2002 8:34 AM
mine is bad enough as it is - I live in rural PA, I have no traffic violations or accidents in the last 5 years, I'm in my thirties, and I'm paying 2K+ for coverage - its a bloody racket.
They advertise a company called "SafeAuto" around here all the time - their big selling point is that they will sell you the absolute minimum coverage required by law (5/15K). The only thing that 5k will replace is a 6 week old Korean import. With what cars cost today, I have no idea why those who write the laws to mandate coverage bother to do so when the minimums they impose have no basis in reality. Every time I see that ad, I want to put my foot through the television........
Just happened to me....this is what I did.James
Jun 13, 2002 11:18 PM
Go to the most expensive shop and have them give you a crash estimate. Every scratch or ding on every part means it needs to be replaced. Price each part of the group, frame and any little parts out seperate. This will raise the value of your bike up high. Dont tell them you bought it used, tell them you bought it late last year and try to promote the idea that it's your main transportation. In my case they totalled my full Dura Ace Kestrel 200 Sci(with K's) and I ended up with $5000.00. I bought the bike back for $200.
They cant tell you where you take it for estimate and you can even choose to do the repairs yourself and keep the money. I bought the Nolo's guide to personal injury and it helped alot. Dont let them bully you, all you were doing is trying to ride your bike. Any other questions, just post them.
re: Just in accidentpa rider
Jun 14, 2002 2:26 AM
I had an accident two years ago and had my insurance pay the claim. They said we were both at fault and wouldn't go after the car driver. The lady was parked in the whole road on my side and I hit her because by the time I saw here I was ten feet from the car (24+ mph).

So my erie insurance (home owner insurance) paid for the bike. I had my local lbs estimate how much a new bike of this quality would cost. The insurance wanted an estimate of replacing only those parts broke. So my LBS did that too and the dollar amount was close to the same.

If my pedal had a scratch or crank was scratched, it was considered new part. Insurance companies like to seddle fast, but make sure your ok. You may have sore neck and a few days later start having problems.

Make sure the driver understands that you may go to your doctor in a few days and that they're picking up the doctor bill. I took therapy rehab for my neck, from being advised by my old girl friend. She had a wreck a few years ago and did nothing, but now has a sore neck everyday. Her doctor told her if she had therapy when it happen she wouldn't have problems now.

By the way, I had two car accidents in 8 years. Erie insurance paid both. The first time the driver insurance paid me and didn't even look at the bike. The claim adjuster listen to my story and gave me a check. Hope you had a police report. Insurance believe you more when you hand them the police report (saves on the who is at fault crap).

Leave us know how you make out. I was settled both times in three days.

Emory
Thanks everyonecolosipm
Jun 14, 2002 4:10 AM
I don't want to get into the specifics of my bike. I had a ti frame with full dura ace parts and a 909 wheelset. I think I'm going to ask for 4000 to replace the bike and, from all of your replies, I think I'm entitled to every bit.

I have an appointment in 15 minutes for PT. My shoulder is killing me and I'm a triathlete so I kind of need that to swim. I'll keep all of you updated.
re: Just in accidentGrabnmcbutt
Jun 14, 2002 5:10 AM
When this happened to me with a Santana Tandem I included into the estimate the price of sending the frame back to Santana and having them stip the paint, examine the frame, check all welds ect and then repaint and send back. It brought the quote up so high they decided to replace the bike.
get a lawyer...that's the best advice i could give you (nm)ColnagoFE
Jun 14, 2002 9:58 AM