RoadBikeReview.com's Forum Archives - General


Archive Home >> General(1 2 3 4 5 6 7 8 9 10 11 12 13 14 15 16 17 18 19 20 21 22 23 24 25 26 27 28 29 30 31 32 33 34 35 36 )


I am the dumbest guy on the forum!!!(19 posts)

I am the dumbest guy on the forum!!!Andante
Jun 13, 2002 5:14 AM
I have been getting my wife to commute into work (she is training for a triathlon), but I drive her home since traffic is so bad in the evening. Last night I pulled in to the garage------CRASH/CRUNCH. Stop the van, and look at the two pieces of her bike that are no longer in the Yak rack. Unfortunately this was not a S and S coupled bike, and should have been only in one piece. It sheared off at the headtube. It will be easier to pack for trips now, as it will fit in a suitcase.
The upsetting part is that now she will get a new bike in the insurance settlement, and I will keep riding the same piece o' crap.
Anyone reccomend any good 48cm frames? I don't trust these Quintana Roos if they can't take a simple massive impact into a house.
the dumb part?DougSloan
Jun 13, 2002 5:40 AM
You imply that the dumb part was wrecking your wife's bike, and not your own? :-)

Lots of people have done that. That's why I mostly use a rear mount rack. I could easily see myself doing it.

Doug
Ouch!!!Miklos
Jun 13, 2002 6:06 AM
Reminds me of that commercial that was on TV last year!

I haul mine inside the cab of my truck or if I have two to haul, they can either go inside the cab or inside the bed where they are safe.

Oh yeah, just go for a repeat performance in a few weeks with you own bike!

Miklos
Ladies and gentlemen we have a new king.Sintesi
Jun 13, 2002 6:14 AM
Funny stuff Andante. So you lost a QR and gained a priceless story.

Actually this is a common catastrophe so don't feel too brainless. I remember one guy here who had a horrible day at a century. I think he wrecked, bonked, everything went wrong to a point where all he wanted to do was leave and hang his head in shame and agony. So he gets in his pick-up and proceeds to back over his bike that he forgot to put in the bed of the truck. Something like that. I really think he is the true king.
No, it happens to lots of peoplegrandemamou
Jun 13, 2002 6:26 AM
My bike rides in the back seat or trunk. I don't trust myself enough with a rack. Last year a buddy forgot to secure his Trek OCLV on his rack. A quick stop sent the bike hurtling over the car.
How much?simstress
Jun 13, 2002 6:53 AM
What's the budget for the new bike?

A friend of mine is ordering an Orbea in 46cm or 47cm, I forget which. I've been riding a 48cm Cannondale CAAD3 for a few years. It's fine for what I've been doing, but I think I'm going to start test riding other materials next year. Maybe you can drive my bike home sometime? ;-)
Others have done the samet-bill
Jun 13, 2002 7:30 AM
I remember reading a string of postings here a few months ago where several people talked about similar "accidents".

I have no garage, or I'm sure I would have done this by now... probably to my wife's 100 lbs. bike that I hate hefting up to the roof rack... on accident, of course!
a 48? it shoulda fit in the garage while still ON the rack!;)nmmerckx56
Jun 13, 2002 7:56 AM
Then I'm dumb twice overColnagoFE
Jun 13, 2002 8:32 AM
I've done this twice...luckily with no bike damage...caught it as i was going in both times. once with a mtb and another with an old beater bike. i don't park in the garage anymore so that solves the problem for now.
re: I am the dumbest guy on the forum!!!t-bill
Jun 13, 2002 8:42 AM
Some solutions mentioned:

1. Get rid of the door opener, or post a sticker on it with a reminder.

2. put something in the garage that disallows you from pulling in, so that you have to get out and move it - thus hopefully seeing the bikes on the rack while out of the car.

3. Disregard these points if you're looking to get yourself a new ride too!!!
more tipsDougSloan
Jun 13, 2002 9:30 AM
What I've done:

If you have a sun roof, keep the sun shade part open so that you can look up and see the bikes.

Put the garage door opener in the glove box. If you have one that's built into the car, put tape over it.

Put a yellow sticky note "Bikes On Top" on the dash.
or, what i do...JS Haiku Shop
Jun 13, 2002 10:29 AM
keep the expensive cars (that you're still paying monthly notes for) in the driveway and a thousand bucks in kids toys scattered about the garage floor. can't pull into the garage = works every time for me.
Way Dumbergrzy
Jun 13, 2002 8:42 AM
Put the GF's (now wife's) bike on the roof rack of the car *inside* the carport and then tried to drive out. I had a lot of time to think about what I was doing - hey, it was snowing outside........
ROTFL....PdxMark
Jun 13, 2002 9:23 AM
Well Grzy, that was worth a very, very good laugh... thank you.
makes us non-engineers feel better nmDougSloan
Jun 13, 2002 9:31 AM
Did the sameklay
Jun 13, 2002 11:18 AM
Trashed a Thule rack and a $1000 frame.

K
re: I am the dumbest guy on the forum!!!swvegg
Jun 13, 2002 12:29 PM
I think I read about this in Bicycling magazine, if you ride with gloves, put the garage door opener inside one of the gloves.
check out the results of this quick poll on same topicgregg
Jun 13, 2002 2:16 PM
...this is on mtbreview.com

Have you ever mashed your roof rack?

http://www.mtbreview.com/polls/polls.asp?id=842&view=archive
re: I am the dumbest guy on the forum!!!snapdragen
Jun 14, 2002 5:37 PM
A guy in my club has a sticker on his rear view mirror:
Bikes on Top?