RoadBikeReview.com's Forum Archives - General


Archive Home >> General(1 2 3 4 5 6 7 8 9 10 11 12 13 14 15 16 17 18 19 20 21 22 23 24 25 26 27 28 29 30 31 32 33 34 35 36 )


eBay sellers "yourbikesource" and "bikesandbeyond" caveat...(9 posts)

eBay sellers "yourbikesource" and "bikesandbeyond" caveat...unchained
Jun 12, 2002 9:31 AM
Anyone considering doing business with these ID's consider what position you will be in once their latest eBay account is suspended and you have no product!

They are "pre-selling" in violation of eBay rules. They do not have the items your are bidding on. They rely on your payment to fund their suppliers, therefore you have to wait several weeks for product. If their supplier happens to be out of stock you could try to get a refund, if their eBay account has not already been suspended by that point in time.

They have been kicked off of eBay at least three times that I am aware of, but they keep popping up with new ID's. They have just opened a new ID in anticipation of being suspended yet again - that new ID is "bikesandbeyond" Their other suspended accounts are "bikeaddicted", "all4bikes" and "bestgear4less". Their could be very well be other accounts that I am unaware of.

I was high bidder on a set of pedals from bikeaddicted. PayPal closed their account and sent my payment back, and eBay suspended them. In spite of this they still demanded payment from me. They said they could ship the pedals one week after receiving payment. (Why one week?) I told them that I would be happy to pay once eBay reinstated them. They said they were negotiating with eBay regarding having to pay commissions for non-paying bidders, and that they would be active again. BS - eBay refunds the commission when a bidder does not pay. Then they demanded I pay a 3% cancellation fee. Good grief. When I refused I began receiving computer viruses from unknown sources through my email account that was only used for eBay, and only used with three different sellers. I was forced to close that eMail account.


http://groups.google.ca/groups?dq=&start=100&hl=en&lr=&group=rec.bicycles.marketplace&selm=b2910aab.0206101334.3bef21ae%40posting.google.com
more on "yourbikesource"unchained
Jun 12, 2002 9:46 AM
aka "all4bikes" "bestgear4less" "bikeaddicted" "bikesandbeyond"

http://groups.google.ca/groups?hl=en&lr=&threadm=cN2h8.25691%24X2.267703%40nnrp1.uunet.ca&rnum=3&prev=/groups%3Fhl%3Den%26lr%3D%26q%3Dall4bikes%2Bgroup%253Arec.bicycles.marketplace

Did anyone notice that the source of the eBay images used in all their active accounts is a website in France?
All4Bikesjtolleson
Jun 12, 2002 9:51 AM
Not to defend their business practices, but they had a solid rep until about 4 months ago and all hell broke loose. No, I wouldn't buy from them now, but I probably spent $500 with them from late 2001 to early 2002, and had a good experience each time.
re: eBay sellers "yourbikesource" and "bikesandbeyond" caveat...dirthead
Jun 12, 2002 10:28 AM
I have made 2 purchases from "Yourbikesource" on Ebay in the last month, and have had very good service from them. My first purchase was a set of Campy Neutron wheels for $349. I received the wheels within a week of them receiving my payment. My second purchase was a pair of Pearl Izumi Microsensor shorts. Again, very quick shipment once my payment was received.

My experience with them may be better than most, but I cannot complain about the service I received from "Yourbikesource".
I ordered an Easton carbon bar and got it in 1 week. No prob. nmKen of Fresno
Jun 12, 2002 11:47 AM
Check their feedback....cydswipe
Jun 12, 2002 12:05 PM
They do a lot of transactions. Most of the negative or neutral feedback has to deal with "BidPay". A lot of complaints because of slow shipping from people who choose to pay with that service. I purchased a 2002 Selle Italia Pro Link Trans Am saddle from them. I am waiting for it to arrive. After reading some of these posts I'm a little un-nerved. I do not defend their business practice from the stand point of "pre-selling".
If your really in a hurry then...LC
Jun 12, 2002 1:03 PM
buy it at your LBS. Anyone with half a brain can see from their feedback that they take along time to ship, but that does not mean that they are ripping you off. Even though it took 3 weeks to ship a seatpost I bought from them, I had places like Performance and SuperGo take even longer since they said they had to get more from their suppier. If they take your money and never ship you what you pay for then you got something to complain about. Why ruin the good deals for the rest of us that can plan ahead?
eBay rules are quite clear. A reputable seller would honor themunchained
Jun 12, 2002 1:48 PM
Anyone with half a brain knows that if you do not have the item in stock, it is a pre-sell and must be listed as such in the auction. They demand your payment within 72hours, but fail to tell you if they even have the product, or that it could take several weeks to arrive.

Another thing to consider: there is a reason they do not have PayPal or a credit card merchant account. Their track record speaks for itself.

There may be a reason they are shipping UPS as well, they do not want the USPS investigating them.

Look at their terms, what happens if they ship you the wrong product, or it is not as described (there have been complaints of this nature posted @google.com groups re Castelli shorts):

There are no refunds, no exchanges, no credits and no returns. Please make sure that you ask questions before bidding if you are unsure of the product's specifications. You are bidding on a brand new product which will be delivered to you in that condition unless UPS or other common carrier damages
ahh.....is that why I can't attract enuf bidders at ebay...airbrushbikes
Jun 13, 2002 7:12 AM
This is a very good discussion especially if you are from a country where Palpal does not exist, and your business isn't large enough for credit card facilities.

I have been trying to sell several items at ebay and true enuf, majority of the bidders are sceptical and have a fair bit of reservation especially dealing with seller from overseas.