RoadBikeReview.com's Forum Archives - General


Archive Home >> General(1 2 3 4 5 6 7 8 9 10 11 12 13 14 15 16 17 18 19 20 21 22 23 24 25 26 27 28 29 30 31 32 33 34 35 36 )


Lance and this year's Tour(16 posts)

Lance and this year's Tourstan_b
Jun 12, 2002 8:10 AM
Has anyone heard how Lance's training has been going the last few months? Has he made any comments on how he thinks he's going to perform this year?
Critérium du Dauphiné Libéré spoilerPdxMark
Jun 12, 2002 8:29 AM
Lance is currently racing in Critérium du Dauphiné Libéré. You can see the race reports at www.cyclingnews.com. As of today's individual time trial, Lance is in first for the general classification with 4 stages to go... though he hasn't won a stage yet. So, his training seems to be going OK, though maybe he isn't yet in top TdF form.
Critérium du Dauphiné Libéré spoilerPaulCL
Jun 12, 2002 9:04 AM
Tell me Botero of Kelme can't climb. If he can put 42 seconds into Lance on a TT AND climb - he'll be a problem.
Critérium du Dauphiné Libéré spoilermmquest
Jun 12, 2002 9:33 AM
Frankly, hopefully he can and give LA a run for his money this year. Last year's Tour was about as exciting as watching paint dry! Thank God for the break that put all the time into the favorite(s?) before the Alps...
Critérium du Dauphiné Libéré spoilerWayne
Jun 12, 2002 9:41 AM
He can climb, I think he was KOM at the tour 2 years ago, and he won the Classiques des Alpes on Saturday, the day before the Dauphine started. If you're set on Armstrong winning take heart. He clearly put in a pretty big effort yesterday whereas I suspect Botero sat up and cruised up Mt. Ventoux to save himself for today's TT. He finished 15 minutes down on the winner and given his victory at the Classiques des Alps he's clearly in good climbing form. I suppose he could have been sick yesterday or bonked but I doubt the latter since it was a pretty flat stage up until the final climb.
Critérium du Dauphiné Libéré spoilerJSchneb
Jun 12, 2002 9:54 AM
Still about 3 weeks until the tour... If Botero is on form now, the quesiton is "can he hold it for another three weeks?". Remember too, LA isn't out to blow everyone away right now; he's training on these races. If you look at the last 3 tours, when Lance decided to turn up the heat on a climb, NO ONE could stay with him. Anyway, LA is up "42. The TdF was contested by minutes (about 6 1/2 to 2nd place), not seconds. I think we haven't seen LA's top form yet this year. Now might still be too early.
Botero TdFPdxMark
Jun 12, 2002 9:53 AM
2000 Botero finished 7th with the mountains jersey

2001 Botero finished 8th, almost 21 minutes back

Interesting... beating LA by 40 seconds in a 40 km ITT a day after losing 15 minutes to LA on Ventoux... Maybe Botero is a good climber & a pretty good time trialist, but maybe not able to compete in both climbs AND time trials day-after-day in multiple stages...

In any case, he'll be one to watch, and I bet USPS keeps an eye on him too.
Wasn't Botero...TJeanloz
Jun 12, 2002 10:02 AM
Wasn't Botero the guy who won the Hautacom stage, or one of the epic mountain stages a couple of years ago? He and another guy started with like a ten minute lead at the bottom of the climb, and ended up finishing about 40 seconds ahead of Lance (as Armstrong rode everybody off his wheel)? Was that him? That guy was good.
I think that was Javier Otxoa on the Hautacam stage..nmchopper
Jun 12, 2002 10:28 AM
Wasn't Botero.Sintesi
Jun 12, 2002 10:29 AM
I don't think so anyway. I think it was that Kelme rider that got hit by a car a couple years ago. Lost his brother. Name escapes me.

I'll have to look it up but Botero did win a really impressive mountain stage later on. Huge descent into a small town with Salvodelli trying to catch him as I recall. He was dying in the end but it was a gutsy ride.
That was Oxtoa...Wannabe
Jun 12, 2002 10:29 AM
That was Javier Oxtoa (sorry on the spelling). He was involved in a terrible cycling accident that winter in which he was training with his brother (also on Kelme) and were hit by a car. Ther borther died and Javier was in a coma for months and nobody thought he would make it. He did, and is recovering, albeit very, very slowly.

Botero won the polka dot jersey that year after racking up a bunch of mountain points in a breakaway (like Jalabert did last year). I've said it before, but in my opinion, polka dot jersey does not really go to the best climber, but the most opportunistic climber. Someone who is going for top-GC rarely wins the polka-dot jersey as the other leaders rarely give the individual that much leeway to rack up the necessary mountain points. Again, my very humble opinion...

Andy
I stand corrected (nm)TJeanloz
Jun 12, 2002 10:47 AM
don't be too hastymr_spin
Jun 12, 2002 10:28 AM
Botero is an awesome rider, especially on TT, but don't kid yourself. He's almost 15 minutes down on GC to Lance. It all depends on whether you want to win the battle or the war.

And by the way, he is only an average climber. He lost 15 MINUTES to Lance yesterday on Mt. Ventoux, which explains why he is so far back on GC. He saved himself yesterday to go for it today. Lance went for it yesterday AND today.

And go back and look at the Vuelta in 2001. Botero won the leader's jersey in a time trial, then went out the next day and lost 2:45 in the mountains, losing the jersey at the same time. He's going to have to be a lot more consistent with his efforts if he expects to challenge Lance on GC.
don't be too hastyyeah right
Jun 12, 2002 5:51 PM
It's a matter of weight. Botero can be at a weight where he can climb like crazy, and also get to a weight where he can tt like crazy, so far he hasn't been able to find a weight that will work for both.
don't be too hastyesbike
Jun 13, 2002 12:21 AM
Botero, who describes himself as more of a road racer than a climber, had made winning the time trial as his week's objective. He added: "The Tour de France isn't one of my priorities this season, but the Vuelta race is because Lance Armstrong won't be there!"
re: Lance and this year's Tourrufus
Jun 12, 2002 10:26 AM
botero may be picking and choosing his times to work hard just as lance is. he's probably also fine-tuning his preparation, and decided to take it easy on the big climb, and work on putting in a big time trial effort to see how his fitness and preparation was at that discipline.

i like botero a lot, and would like to see him ride well in the tour.