RoadBikeReview.com's Forum Archives - General


Archive Home >> General(1 2 3 4 5 6 7 8 9 10 11 12 13 14 15 16 17 18 19 20 21 22 23 24 25 26 27 28 29 30 31 32 33 34 35 36 )


Michelin Pro Race; opinions?(11 posts)

Michelin Pro Race; opinions?gs6769
Jun 12, 2002 3:37 AM
Any thoughts on these? I've got Mich Axial Pros on My Klein (speed bike) and Conti GP 3000's on my Bianchi (touring bike). I'm down with both brands but it's time for a new set for both bikes. Thinking about taking the plunge and trying the Pro Race. Whadya think?
just like Axial ProsDougSloan
Jun 12, 2002 5:54 AM
I bought a set. No big deal, really. I could not tell them from Axial Pros in any respect. I got a flat my first time out, too.

The black/gray ones do look pretty sharp.

Doug
Great clinchersBipedZed
Jun 12, 2002 6:28 AM
Ride is similar to Axial Pros but durability is much better. The rubber compound resists cuts much better than APs. I've been training on Pro Race clinchers since beginning of March and after 3000 miles they still have plenty of life in them (I'm 145lbs). I haven't gotten that kind of performance/mileage from any other clincher, including APs and GP3000s.
Get them...they rockrobbz27
Jun 12, 2002 6:31 AM
I had them on my Klein and my buddy has them on his 5900.

They are much more supple than the Axial pros. You can pump them way up and they soak up more of the little bumps, making your ride a lot smoother.

I'd recommend them to anyone.
Easier to mount than Axial Pros?5ive
Jun 12, 2002 7:14 AM
One of the reasons I've given up on Axial Pros was that they were impossible to mount on my Campy Nucleon's. How do they compare to Axial Pros in terms of mountability?
Easier to mount than Axial Pros?robbz27
Jun 12, 2002 7:51 AM
First time was a pain in the ass, but since the initial mounting, I've had no problems at all. Really easy.
Have you tried the Crank Bros Speed Lever? nm12x23
Jun 12, 2002 9:10 AM
Funny... I broke one off mounting Axial Pros (nm)5ive
Jun 12, 2002 1:04 PM
try thisDougSloan
Jun 12, 2002 3:08 PM
Shop Tire Tool

TL-10 in use



Shop Tire Tool
TL-10

Install and remove. The heavy duty TL-10 Shop Tire Tool quickly and easily removes any bicycle tire (20" and larger) from the rim and then mounts the tire with the same ease. The TL-10 simply hooks under the tire bead and then rotates around the axle to completely dismount the tire. To mount the tire, attach the installation portion of the tool and again just rotate around the axle. Save time with each tire repair you perform. Not a take-along tire lever, the TL-10 is a heavy-duty tire tool designed for use in the shop.

http://www.parktool.com/tools/TL_10.shtml
Looks like SpeedLever on EPO. Thanx (nm)5ive
Jun 12, 2002 4:49 PM
More supple than Axial Pros and ..Pecos
Jun 12, 2002 1:33 PM
stickier too. I have never ridden on tubulars, but their ride has been compared to them.

I have always used AP's, but I am switching to the Pro Race on both of my bikes. I bought Conti 3000s in an out of town emergency, and really don't like their ride at all.