RoadBikeReview.com's Forum Archives - General


Archive Home >> General(1 2 3 4 5 6 7 8 9 10 11 12 13 14 15 16 17 18 19 20 21 22 23 24 25 26 27 28 29 30 31 32 33 34 35 36 )


Talent ID tests(44 posts)

Talent ID testsPODIUMBOUNDdotCA
Jun 11, 2002 9:43 PM
Out of curiousity what do you people consider good talent id for a sprinter (not a cyclist) in the following double leg excercises:

-double leg jumps up stairs (from 90 degrees jumping up as many as possible)
-5 x double leg jumps one after another... distance in feet or m

Thanks,
Nick
PodiumBound.ca
What I really think...spankdoggie
Jun 11, 2002 11:01 PM
I think your post is boring.
You sound like a nerd.

Personally, I think you are a nerd fred dinkleberry...

I could kick your ass in real life if we fight.
Tard.

And... You are a jackass bastard son.
Swim in that sh%$, jackass.

Tears and Accolades... and an Honest Appraisal,

Spankdoggie
Really though...spankdoggie
Jun 11, 2002 11:09 PM
I am new here,

and am trying to make friends.

Love,

Spankdoggie
if you want to make friendsweiwentg
Jun 12, 2002 4:18 AM
this might not be the best way to do it.
Nick is just young and perhaps a bit foolish, and you and I were once this way. although his post did ask a valid question (one that I have no idea how to answer, since I can't really sprint that well), he does occasionally say things that put people off. George Bush does the same (more silly than offensive, though). if you don't like it, just ignore it. it's only electrons, as someone else on this board said.
he wasn't tooting his own horn in this post, anyway.
dunno weiwentgMJ
Jun 12, 2002 4:21 AM
I think spankdoggie did a fine job of winning friends and influencing people with that effort
I think you had it right the other day...biknben
Jun 12, 2002 5:15 AM
...when you called Spanky a troll. Good call!!!
I'm guessing he will toot his own horn soon thoughColnagoFE
Jun 12, 2002 7:06 AM
As soon as someone posts a metric for the things he mentioned he will likely start telling us how he blows it away and that in turn makes him the best sprinter since mario cippolini
Do you know nothing about me?PODIUMBOUNDdotCA
Jun 12, 2002 7:09 AM
I want to be a TRACK sprinter... not a road sprinter. Just clarifying that since theres no Track Bike Review... yet.
Unfortunately, too much...TJeanloz
Jun 12, 2002 7:21 AM
Greg, could we get a Track Bike Review site up, so we can get this clown out of here?

I'll even consider funding it...
Seriously, a track bike forum would be nice.Alex-in-Evanston
Jun 12, 2002 7:29 AM
Maybe the cross forum can do double duty. It doesn't get much action in the spring or summer.

Alex
Seriously, a track bike forum would be nice.brider
Jun 12, 2002 9:14 AM
Agree, though there's some track traffic inthe "Racing" forum. Don't know how much traffic it would get, as I don't know how many track racers there are here (seems like very few). So, trackies, identify yourselves!
similarity with RRP?DougSloan
Jun 12, 2002 7:34 AM
I'm seeing a lot in common between "Nick" and RadicalRon. It's just a gut feeling at this point, but there just seems to be a lot of similarity in tone, responses, and darn good trolls that suck all of us in way too deeply before we realize that we've been done.

Anyone else see this?

Doug
Agreed, but it can't be...TJeanloz
Jun 12, 2002 7:41 AM
I'd like to think they're one in the same, but the aggregate knowledge base indicates that they're probably not. RRP had distinct knowledge of metropolitan Chicago, Nick seems to be legitimately Canadian.
What makes a Canadian a Canadian? :) (nm)PODIUMBOUNDdotCA
Jun 12, 2002 1:17 PM
A mullet is sufficient proof (nm)TJeanloz
Jun 13, 2002 3:15 AM
I tried RRPs asian chicken pizza recipeColnagoFE
Jun 12, 2002 9:05 AM
I hate to admit it, but it wasn't bad.
Don't think soKristin
Jun 12, 2002 9:10 AM
RRP is from Chicagoland...he knows the NW suburbs quite well. (I have my suspicions about who RRP is.) Nick is a confirmed, actual person from Canada. (far from Chicago)...unless RRP is pretending to be Nick because he is jealous of Nicks superior power cranks, handling skills and social charms.
Do you know nothing about me?PODIUMBOUNDdotCA
Jun 12, 2002 7:15 AM
I want to be a TRACK sprinter... not a road sprinter. Just clarifying that since theres no Track Bike Review... yet.
re: Talent ID testszooog
Jun 12, 2002 2:06 AM
Double leg jumps..both feet...on your computer, so you never have to write on this board again
go ride your bike - - -liv2padl
Jun 12, 2002 2:24 AM
and spend less time begging for attention.
re: Talent ID testsAvanti Guy
Jun 12, 2002 3:16 AM
Ok I swore I wouldnt reply to any more of your posts but I know you are just sitting there hitting for refresh waiting for someone to ask you...HOW MANY CAN YOU DO NICK YOU ARE MY HERO!
How many can I do?PODIUMBOUNDdotCA
Jun 12, 2002 6:54 AM
I intentionally didn't say how many I could do. But you asked.

-double leg stair jump-6 stairs from 90 degrees exploding up
-double leg jumps-15 m

Is this good or bad for an untalented, nerdy troll who in the real world is not a sprinter?
you took the bait hook line and sinkerishmael
Jun 12, 2002 6:59 AM
I dont know how many I can "explode up" but do you land on the sixth? Also stairs come in different heights so results arent really comparable.
see i told you he couldn't resist talking about himself (nm)ColnagoFE
Jun 12, 2002 7:07 AM
But you couldn't resist flaming me...PODIUMBOUNDdotCA
Jun 12, 2002 7:21 AM
How are you any better than me?

And I was reluctant to post how many I could do... but I decided to anyway.

Nick
PodiumBound.ca
had to twist your arm pretty hard didn't we (nm)ColnagoFE
Jun 12, 2002 9:06 AM
How many can I do?PODIUMBOUNDdotCA
Jun 12, 2002 7:02 AM
I intentionally didn't say how many I could do. But you asked.

-double leg stair jump-6 stairs from 90 degrees exploding up
-double leg jumps-15 m

Is this good or bad for an untalented, nerdy troll who in the real world is not a sprinter?
*** Get a life ***PODIUMBOUNDdotCA
Jun 12, 2002 6:42 AM
To all except Weweintg and Biknben who replied:

Seriously get a life. I ask a completely legitimate question that I did not know the answer to and you don't either and you answer anyway.

My reasons for asking it are none of your business. And I also intentionally kept myself out of it so people couldn't find a way to flame me... and what do you people do? Flame me.

Tell me how it is not a legitimate question... I know theres some people like Peleton and a number of other fitness professionals on here who may know stuff like this so I'm interested to hear the answer from them.

I can kick your ass in real life or your a nerd show that you have a lot of growing up to do. The internet is great because you can say anything and not have to back yourself up ever off the computer. If you look under my bio my # is plainly listed in there along with my email. And if anyone wants to send a mail bomb do so here:

96 Woodborough Cres. SW
Calgary, AB T2W 5A2
Canada

Just make sure to put your name on it so I know who is blowing me up.

Nick Corcoran
PodiumBound.ca
didn't someone ask what a troll is? nmDougSloan
Jun 12, 2002 6:43 AM
my money's on spankdoggie - nmMJ
Jun 12, 2002 6:48 AM
Oh ya...PODIUMBOUNDdotCA
Jun 12, 2002 6:49 AM
Before I forget... please clearly mark the package MAILBOMB. They won't notice at the border. Being blown apart is about as fun a suprise as asking this question and getting flamed. My mom always taught me if I didn't have anything nice to say to someone don't say anything at all. I thought all boys learned that lesson.

Nick Corcoran
PodiumBound.ca
The Reason for Flames...CJMeredith
Jun 12, 2002 7:12 AM
I'm new to the board and certainly don't want to get in the middle of this brawl, but I think the flames have nothing to do with the topic and everything to do with past issues. Nick, from an objective observer's viewpoint, I don't think you can ask ANY question without getting flamed. Some people see your name and just can't help themselves, regardless of what point you're trying to make. Had it been anybody else, that post probably would have simply gone unanswered.

I know others have given you this advice, but you should really consider getting a new name and not telling anybody so that you can get a fresh start. I'm sure there are others here who have done the same. Alternatively, you could just lay low for a while. I'm sure you think that you shouldn't be forced to do that, but the flames will probably continue if you try to continue as if it's business as usual.

Once again...I'm new and should probably stay out of this, but I am objective. You've got to have better things to do than constantly posting back to the flamers.
Thanks for your responsePODIUMBOUNDdotCA
Jun 12, 2002 7:17 AM
Welcome to the board! If you look lower down the question I asked about fighting in sports... no flames. Then this one lots of flames. The minute people can conclude I even have a little bit of a chance to involve myself thats when they begin flaming, because they see an opening to extort. You can't really say "I'M GONNA KICK YOU A$$" to "Does fighting belong in sport" without other people pouncing you. But for the record yes I've said stuff to piss people off.

Cheers,
Nick Corcoran
PodiumBound.ca
so you dont feel aloneishmael
Jun 12, 2002 6:56 AM
I think people are jumping on you too quick on this one. Your history is what they are pissed about this question is as legit as any. Nice to see a bit of spite out of you for once, maybe your feeling it because its warranted in this case. You know what everyone is pissed about and this question does maybe give you the opportunity to show off and people are assuming the worst. then again maybe you suck at jumping up stairs, I'm too lazy to try right now, I'll give you an answer on a better day. Might end up with a stupid story for a stupid injury
re: Talent ID testsbrider
Jun 12, 2002 7:13 AM
I don't really know that there are ANY test that can ferret out cycling talent, other than cycling. I know the Russians and East Germans were supposed to have done so when the Iron Curtain was hanging, but I really don't know what thoses tests were. The problem with this sort of thing is that it assumes that a person hasn't done ANY specific training of ANY sort, and is looking for some inate strength. That you've already done a fair amount of cycling training and maybe done well in these tests might suggest that they're a decent test of strength/fitness for a sprint cyclist, but to say these would find the next Carl Lewis or Nelson Vails I believe is an extreme stretch.
What worked for me....tronracer
Jun 12, 2002 7:16 AM
This was one of the many exercises I used to do for 5 animal fist kung fu. ahhh nevermind, who cares.
How ever many Ryan MacKenzie can doterry b
Jun 12, 2002 8:46 AM
find out, and follow his program.
Cheap shotPODIUMBOUNDdotCA
Jun 12, 2002 1:09 PM
Thats cheap shot... don't bring my friends into this. I have unlimited respect for Ryan and train with him year round. He beat me last year at Nationals. PERIOD. Although we tied 1-1 in the finals of Provincials.
Oh?terry b
Jun 12, 2002 3:13 PM
I've noticed he doesn't spend a lot of time here talking about himself. Why is that?
You are in here somewhere...nova
Jun 12, 2002 10:22 AM
http://www.mentalhealth.com/fr20.html
specificityDuane Gran
Jun 12, 2002 10:55 AM
As I understand, the goal is to be a better track sprinter. That said, I can't imagine any better measure of that ability than to sprint on the track.

Seriously, nothing will work your cycling muscles better than being on the bike. We can talk about vertical leap and all sorts of interesting metrics, but unless the finish line is positioned on a stair step it will need to be crossed on a bike.

There are good weight training exercises to increase raw strength for cycling, but nothing beats the real thing in my opinion.

(now somebody answered your question instead of flaming you. satisfied?)
Thank you!!!PODIUMBOUNDdotCA
Jun 12, 2002 1:16 PM
Specificity is very important in my opinion. But cross training is even more important.

Without being a well rounded athlete its much more difficult to become great at a single thing in my opinion. And vertical leap and these sorts of tests are a measure of this. Its like can a track sprinter (cyclist) run a 4.4 40 yard dash? Probably not... but can a 40 yard dash specialist start as fast on the bike as a track sprinter?

Which leads me into your right on the bike it means nothing. Its like saying a body builder should make the best sprinter ever since they are so powerful. But in reality this isn't true at least with specificity. They lift to gain massive ammounts of muscle. Not agility.

Now to bring myself into this. My max squat isn't much more than 250 lbs because I used to only lift with my quads using very little hamstrings and even less glute. But I still have enough power to go the speed on the bike that I do. So using my whole leg with a perfect pedal stroke will be interesting to see how much I can beat my pb's by.

But to conclude my post... my question was what ranges would indicate a sprinter. (not track sprinter or running or sprinter in rowing (is there such a thing or in any other sport but a sprinter)

Cheers,
Nick Corcoran
PodiumBound.ca
NickSoultrain
Jun 12, 2002 6:30 PM
I think you know the answer to your question.
If someone has explosive power naturally then he/she has a predetirmined ability, that would lean towards sprinting.
Things such as a standing jump. 38 inch vertical jump is track sprinter territory. As is running sprint, like you said for the 40. Focus on your whole leg, that means every motion that your leg performs while sprinting. With the majority of work on your quads. Also specific leg speed on the bike is important,
There really is nothing like watching somebody with a 180 rpm spin!
If you want to know the Physiology then just ask the question and see if people answer it, and please stop answering the flames.
You will NEVER win if you answer them. I reiterate YOU WILL NEVER WIN IF YOU ANSWER THE FLAMES!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!
I can squat 250+ as well and I don't even approach a 13 second 200m, so alot is just genetics, My marginally educated advise to you is to hit the gym like it's going out of style, but that's just me.
ThanksPODIUMBOUNDdotCA
Jun 12, 2002 8:38 PM
Soultrain,

Thanks for the post. Its almost hard to talent ID people with vertical jump and tests like that in my opinion. A lot of it is pure strength and power but if you don't have the athleticity to match you may not have a 38 inch vertical jump. Noone can jump that high naturally without a lot of training.

Then as for a 180 rpm spin... agreed it is very impressive and it takes a hella lotta work to get up there. I know I've always been strong enough I could just use power or form. But to take it a notch above and to see where genetics end and where technique can make me faster is what I'm looking forward to seeing.

Like my one rep max for squat is about 250 lbs... thats pathetic for what I SHOULD be able to do in my opinion. But its because I only squat with my quads so I'll stall at the bottom and can't explode back up. However, I have gone faster than a lot of people in my 200 m who can squat way more than me. Heck some people I can almost beat from a standing start. So weights can be stupid but being a sprinter its the only true way to cross train to develop the strength power. You can only do so much on the bike.

About answering flames... some flames need to be answered to get people to stop flaming. I noticed after I had answered a few flames the flaming ceased.

Thanks for the input. If you email me at nick@PodiumBound.ca I'd love to continue the chat.

Cheers,
Nick Corcoran
PodiumBound.ca