RoadBikeReview.com's Forum Archives - General


Archive Home >> General(1 2 3 4 5 6 7 8 9 10 11 12 13 14 15 16 17 18 19 20 21 22 23 24 25 26 27 28 29 30 31 32 33 34 35 36 )


cyclist fight....(20 posts)

cyclist fight....tronracer
Jun 10, 2002 3:31 PM
I'd like to show you guys an mpeg of two cyclists fist fighting. It is absolutely the clumsiest fight I have ever seen. I don't have web space though to post a link to, would anyone like to volunteer to host the vid so others can see it? Unless no one wants to see it then its a different story.

Can someone explain the benefit of having someone draft you? I just don't get it.

-Marco
re: cyclist fight....ishmael
Jun 10, 2002 3:45 PM
I'll watch it. About being drafted, I'm pretty sure they fill the space behind you where otherwise there would be a vacum.
i've seen itcollinsc
Jun 10, 2002 3:47 PM
and yeah, those guys suck at brawling. but what do you expect from a pair of scrawny euro dudes?

if they were 7 foot tall and black, well, then it would have been on pay per view
just go to geocities.comEpicX
Jun 10, 2002 4:17 PM
sign up for a free website. you get 15 MB free I think. it only takes a couple of minutes if you fill the forms with crap.
Benefits of "Being Drafted" - Bernoulli Effect - My $.02jose_Tex_mex
Jun 10, 2002 5:22 PM
Good Question,
I am unsure as to why there would be a measurable drafting effect for cyclists. I can understand the "cycological" effects though.
In car racing it's completely understandable especially at higher speeds. As a car cuts through the air it pushes the air out of the way. As is moves it drags some air. As a result there's a little current which swirls off of the back and actually pulls you back - the Eddy current(spelling?). This is why Porsches and other cars have fins. Also, this is why a group of cars (there's a critical number depending on temp, pressure, ...) can go faster than one car.
Have you ever drafted a bus (not suggesting you do so)? However, doing 40 miles an hour without pedalling is no big deal once you are in the slipstream.
As for cyclists, I do not see the breakup of the drag caused by a drafter to be of any measurable consequence for the speeds cyclists normally do. The wings of cars only come begin to come in to play at the higher speeds, realistically 30mph+. Compare the surface area of the car to a cyclist...
Benefits of "Being Drafted" - Bernoulli Effect - My $.02atpjunkie
Jun 10, 2002 5:58 PM
You do feel some residual Bernouli effect from someone behind you, it also helps to know someone will be able to pull for a while and you can therefore pedal a little harder.
RE: the fight....sheesh, gotta be euro's. I'm a Clydesdale 6'4" + and 230 and I had to bitch slap a guy who was out of line on a group ride (hassling mostly the women) and damn near broke him. Ya know Lycra just isn't conducive to macho beahvior.
Are you serious?nova
Jun 11, 2002 4:44 AM
Numerous scientific studies over the course of decades have shown that a cyclist drafting another generally works about 30% less than he/she would otherwise.

Expressing your opinion is fine - but if you've never been in a paceline; think again.

BTW: Cars suck.
Speaking of 'expressing opinions',SteveO
Jun 11, 2002 5:17 AM
if you havent carefully read the post to which youre responding; think again.

noones questioning the benefits of drafting.
Being Draftedjose_Tex_mex
Jun 11, 2002 5:41 AM
SteveO,
I thought I read the post correctly. I am questioning the benefits of "being drafted." Albeit theoretically possible, I question whether the person in front being drafted actually receives any benefits (less drag) because someone is on their wheel.
You did jose, i was responding to NovaSteveO
Jun 11, 2002 6:00 AM
and his apparent misunderstanding of your post.
Oooops - Sorry - String Confusion !!!jose_Tex_mex
Jun 11, 2002 1:06 PM
and again I say: "Huh?"nova
Jun 11, 2002 5:49 AM
the post I replied to said: "As for cyclists, I do not see the breakup of the drag caused by a drafter to be of any measurable consequence for the speeds cyclists normally do."

I guess I was mistaken to define "drafter" as used in the context above to literally mean "drafter" (as in; the person doing the drafting and not the point person)

Next time, I'll get drunk - then perhaps it will make more sense.
ah;SteveO
Jun 11, 2002 6:03 AM
the context of his statement was the effect of the drafter on the one being drafted; the draftee (?) was implied.

Reword to '...i do not see the breakup of the drag caused by a drafter to be of any measurabe conseqeuence to the speed of the draftee'.

many, many things make more sense while drinking.
the chicken is ready for dinnercyclopathic
Jun 11, 2002 12:49 PM
darn English gotta love it
I think you misunderstoodjose_Tex_mex
Jun 11, 2002 5:38 AM
Agreed Cars Suck.

However, we were talking about the benefits of the person in front. Someone stated that if you are drafted (not drafting) than you receive benefits.
This is what I would like to see studied and proven to show a measurable effect and not just theoretical.
I wouldPODIUMBOUNDdotCA
Jun 10, 2002 9:25 PM
How big is it? I have space on my geocities account. If not I could post it on my PodiumBound.ca website. Just crap like that as funny as it may be at times to us does reflect poorly on our sport so I'd be a bit reluctant to put in PodiumBound.ca.

Email it to me if you want at Nick@PodiumBound.ca.

Cheers,
Nick Corcoran
PodiumBound.ca
re: cyclist fight....PatM
Jun 11, 2002 6:52 AM
Here is the link

http://www.fotoforum.com/bikefight/cycling_fight.mpeg
That's the one, thanks for posting it. nmtronracer
Jun 11, 2002 8:18 AM
Damn...that was pathetic...biknben
Jun 11, 2002 8:21 AM
I think I saw one mediocre hit if that.

Needs some sound:
Hey you...I was drafting him not you! You cut me off!!! No I didn't...I was avoiding a pothole!!!
You're team colors are sissy!!! Oh yeah...you're legs are so skinny, I could snap them like a twig!!! Yadda, Yadda, Yadda...
That was pathetic...Brooks
Jun 11, 2002 9:36 AM
I think the guy on the right might have got a punch in, he was certainly throwing them. The guy on the left used more of the slap and grap technique. I especially liked the spin move in cleats. Sad...