RoadBikeReview.com's Forum Archives - General


Archive Home >> General(1 2 3 4 5 6 7 8 9 10 11 12 13 14 15 16 17 18 19 20 21 22 23 24 25 26 27 28 29 30 31 32 33 34 35 36 )


My profile(46 posts)

My profilePODIUMBOUNDdotCA
Jun 9, 2002 10:06 PM
Well its 12:06 Calgary time and I've been changing my nickname... but if I did the closest I'd stray from PodiumBoundDOTca is notPodiumBoundDOTca. I've offended a lot of people and I apologize for this but its not something I'm going to run away from by changing my nickname.

Heres what I feel is a very well written profile of me that I feel may better explain who I am written by a fitness company I am a member of:

Profession(s): Fitness Instructor, Motivational Speaker
Accreditations: AFLCA

Rate: Various

Web: http://www.PodiumBound.Ca

About: After 15 years of being an "unathletic" kid that never gave up, Nick finally found his niche. In a short 2 year career as a track cyclist, Nick has quickly climbed the ladder of success after being one of the first Canadians to go to the Junior World Track Cycling Championships in July of 2001. An achievement that meant, along with his two teammates, going faster than any other junior male (under 18) in almost 20 years. (This is made more impressive by the fact Nick joined the sport after a severe knee injury playing football, which left him on crutches unable to do any exercise for 3 months.)

As a member of the Canadian National Cycling Team after a strenuous fall and winter of training, in March of this year, Nick was in Trinidad for the first major test of his senior career. However, on the second last night in the second last race of the 3-week event, fate took a turn for the worse. Nick's team mate, was crashed by a Trinidadian cyclist and fell directly in front of Nick. With nowhere else to go Nick T-Boned his teammate causing him to go over the handlebars, flying over 10 meters in the air and landing directly on his head. All at 60 kilometers per hour.

As a result, Nick sustained a severe brain injury (a normally fatal form of concussion). After 15 minutes of being in a full blown coma he miraculously awoke. However, for the next 15 days he was sleeping an unreal 22 hours a day and had complete amnesia. Although admittedly the single worst thing ever to happen to him in his life, he has decided to take the best out of a bad situation and learn from it. The accident can be blamed on many things...from over training to an improper diet to a poor mental attitude. These are lessons anyone can grow from and through being a group fitness instructor, doing speaking engagements and possibly some coaching, Nick feels these lessons can be shared.

Specialties: He is interested in speaking with groups on the kind of determination and drive it takes to get to the championship level while, at the same time, incorporating issues such as over-training and eating disorders, which he has experienced first hand. He is young, enthusiastic and very knowledgeable.

Nick is also available as a Spin Instructor, an excellent opportunity for group fitness programmers to provide the ultimate training experience for their participants!

In addition to his athletic endeavors, Nick also has a flair for designing business cards and resumes to assist athletes looking for sponsorship. To see examples of his resumes, click on the following links: Resume1 (pdf format-requires Adobe Acrobat Reader) and Resume2 (MS-Word Document).

If you have any questions on cycling or racing, please send Nick a message using the form below.

Philosophy: "Accept nothing less than perfection." Although an impossible goal to fully achieve in everything...to reach the top levels of both sport and life, being a perfectionist for some people can help lead them to their goals. Nick firmly believes he is the type of person who really gains from this sort of attitude.

Also, Nick believes victory comes from perseverance and has a vast number of philosophies that drive him to train 3-4 hours a day, 6 days a week.

Achievements: In a short career of 2 seasons Nick has amassed an uncountable number of podium placings, which are estimated to be close to one hundred(11 whi
Nick, Nick, Nick, you have to understand...hayaku
Jun 10, 2002 2:04 AM
If people are upset at you, then "sorry, I've ruffled a few feathers and rubbed the wrong way a few times... but, this is the real memememememememe!" ain't gonna help.
I'm on your side, I hope you know that but I can't see how on earth you thought this would help.
Take it easy, let your speed do the talking. If these guys can't hear, then it ain't talking loud enough.
M.
re: change your name to "tediumbound.gag" nmdzrider
Jun 10, 2002 4:17 AM
I've been following this for a week or sonova
Jun 10, 2002 4:26 AM
And I really don't have an opinion one way or another.

However, I would encourage you to look within yourself for whatever troubles you.

Life is 5% external forces, and 95% how you react to the external forces.

Put another way: Life is what you make of it.

So if you are having trouble with something - fix it. It is all up to you, not a group of strangers. Why do you care so much about what we think of you?
re: My profileAvanti Guy
Jun 10, 2002 4:28 AM
Nick I have abstained from comment for as long as I can, here is all I have to say on the issue...

Nick we dont care, get over yourself and shut the heck up!
TBI ?filtersweep
Jun 10, 2002 4:38 AM
Good heavens?!

If this is true, that you've had a traumatic brain injury, all I can say is that I'm sorry to hear that.

This might actually explain a few things around here. You likely already know that "impulse control" issues are a very common after-effect. If you don't know this, you might want to "check yourself" in the future before some of your posts... AND maybe some of the folks around here can cut you some slack once in awhile. Your age doesn't help the impulse control issue any... (I'm not trying to make light of your situation... just a commentary).
man you can toot your own hornallezrider
Jun 10, 2002 5:43 AM
Nick I have followed this ongoing saga for a week as some others have done. Now I feel the need to feel sorry for you. If you feel you have to continue to defend yourself to a message board then I must feel sorry for you and your life. I think you need to search within yourself before you need to continue with all of this crap about yourself. I personally don't care what your accomplishments are in life anymore. If you have to prove something then prove it on your bike.....
Me me me me me me me Look at ME! Me me me me me (nm)jtolleson
Jun 10, 2002 5:46 AM
Why don't we ever see....tronracer
Jun 10, 2002 5:59 AM
other pro cyclists proclaim their greatness on this board?
You don't have to go away mad, just...go away. (nm)RhodyRider
Jun 10, 2002 6:14 AM
you're a child - you have no profile - troll - nmMJ
Jun 10, 2002 6:37 AM
enough with the self-promotionrufus
Jun 10, 2002 6:55 AM
jeeezus, it's tiresome. why do you feel the need to constantly talk up your accomplishments? a truly great athlete knows what he's made of, and doesn't feel the need to brag about himself to any and all. if you are a great athlete, then people will recognize that without you having to tell them.

the only thing you are showing by this is a tremendous lack of self esteem. is there anything about you as a person that does not revolve around your performance on a bike?
ARE YOU INSANE !!!!! nmishmael
Jun 10, 2002 7:06 AM
Does 'Exposure' or'21st century schitzoid man' mean anything2u128
Jun 10, 2002 7:29 AM
I caught your reference to Eno somewhere?
"Exposure" is a Fripp album with some Eno influence (as well as john Hall, Adrien Baleau, the Roches etc). On my all-time favorite album list, and in the spirit of "Hey, dig me" I'm really hip about music and you sound like someone who might be able to relate to me on my level.
Oh, btw, I played with Hendrix for awhile (playedwithhendrx.alloneworddotcom)
But then he got mad, took his bowl and went home. Then I adjusted the Earth's axis to correspond with the solar ecliptic (adjustedplanet.com)anyway! Enough about me. What do you want to know about me? I guess all I'm really saying is if you're into that sort of thing, I would recommend giving "Exposure" a listen...pretty neat record from those days.

How about "Here come the Warm Jets."Is that Eno? (one...backwards. clever sod!)
im not as hip as you'd thinkishmael
Jun 10, 2002 8:17 AM
I dont understand. Are you speaking to me? What are you talking about? What is playedwithhendrix.com? Is that a joke? what about changing the earths axis? Are you talking to me? I dont understand. Hello? Whose a clever sod? Me? Cool! Do you want to go on a date with me? Did you really play with Hendrix? Do you really ride a bike? Seriously, I dont have a single record all I listen to is the radio. I gave all my cds away because I got sick of them. They cost to much to buy any new ones, I need to buy a new drivetrain and I'm jobless, and as soon as I buy something I dont like it anymore anyway. I like the randomness of the radio. If I buy anything sound related (other than fixing my bike's sound) it will be a great reciever to get distant stations. Are you being funny or did you really play with Hendrix, Im not a huge fan (of anything) but I did love his blues album without any singing (when I had it, dont know what happend to that one)
I thought you were listening to Brian Eno, when you talked to128
Jun 10, 2002 8:52 AM
the editor of that paper that had the article about 'dooring' cyclists. Remember? Last friday??:
"Luckily I was listening to some Brian Eno in the background" and I just wondered if you were into that period/style of music...
Was that you? Maybe I'm all mixed up....

Oh, well..
The answers to your questions are: yes, music, a farse and parody of podium.com, yes (but not in the case), another instance of hyperbole, yes I was talking to you, Hi, Eno is clever as his name is based on spelling the word 'one' in reverse, no, date sure: if you're a boy it's biking, if you're a girl maybe we can take a ride together (Ewww!), no, yes.
(well, that was exhausting)

Sorry if I bothered you with nonesense!

ps: I love radio too. and cycling of course...
I thought you were listening to Brian Eno, when you talked toishmael
Jun 10, 2002 11:38 AM
that was me. It was on the radio. It's ok I like nonsense
what station on the radio? nm128
Jun 10, 2002 11:53 AM
in phillyishmael
Jun 10, 2002 12:36 PM
I scan through --90.9(npr, commercial free), 88.5(soft cheese but sometimes good, commercial free), 91.7(drexel station, commercial free, diverse, a bit too rough sometimes gwar), 96.5(80's), and 90.1(classical till 6 then jazz, commercial free) Ocassionally I listen to 103.3(i think thats it, commercial free, princton station) but its too weird for me mostly. are you in philly?
in boston...raised on radio...TSOP128
Jun 10, 2002 1:01 PM
mostly college stations in the eighties and 90's and all the commercial stuff too.
WILD: r&b, soul ("the peoples station")TSOP!
'coz- dead now, was rock ("pure rock and roll for Boston!")
'bcn- the 70's cool station, now 'angry white-boy alterna-rock'
WJIB: musak and light songwriter favorites
W**?: "Music of your life" 40's big band, war years male/femal 'crooners'...

college: zbz, tufts, bur, etc...depending on what signal you could get. Shows I liked:
Breakfeast of Champions: early a.m punk
The fuse box: jazz/fusion
Rockers: reggae
Early risers club: ??
Love to try to get distant a.m stations: Canadian hockey, from boston have gotten Toronto-Chi.-St.Louis-NYC-
Screwed around with Grundig short wave a little too.

"Radio GA GA" -Queen
long distance radioishmael
Jun 10, 2002 1:44 PM
Ive been meaning to get a long distance reciever(if such a thing is possible). I know you can pick up am from far away but what about fm. there are enough great stations out there that I'd never want a record again, I dont even want one now come to think of it.
why not just listen to net radio?ColnagoFE
Jun 10, 2002 1:48 PM
You can get bizarre stations from all over the world through places like live365.com or windows media.
ill check it out but i need it in the car nmishmael
Jun 10, 2002 2:23 PM
Whatever happened to WRKO ? Dale Dorman I think it was...GreenFan
Jun 10, 2002 5:44 PM
Whatever happened to WRKO ? Dale Dorman I think it was...128
Jun 11, 2002 4:18 AM
Excellent! I'll bet you remember Major Mudd too! (A local kid's show space man character, how 'bout Rex Trailer?)

Anyway, 'rko is all talk now. Was top forty with, yup 'Dale Doormat' as we called him. Don't know where he's at these days.
Do you recal Sonny Jo White? Pretty sure he was on 'rko (or 'ild) and then moved to KISS FM?
I miss top 40 stations....My taste are so schizo ....er...ecclectic

Is Greenfan a reference to the Celtics??
I now finally understand why there is a post length limit...biknben
Jun 10, 2002 7:17 AM
Anyone else notice that Nick's post got cut off? I can only begin to imagine how long it could have kept going.
its' really not fair to limit praise of such exceptionSteveO
Jun 10, 2002 7:26 AM
So we are posting resumes and/or CVs here now?ColnagoFE
Jun 10, 2002 7:32 AM
I mean c'mon now. If I'm interested, I'll email you or visit your site. I have to say your arrogance and self-serving posts are getting really annoying.
While Nick's post may be ridiculous, self promoting babble...JBurton
Jun 10, 2002 7:33 AM
The rest of you take the time to read it and get steamed over it! Let him fall by the wayside. If he's that good, great. If he's not, fine. What's it to the rest of you. Don't respond.

I have first hand experience with Tramatic Brain Injury. That "impulse control" is really only limited to spoken word in my experience. My step-father and one of my co-workers both can make complete idiots out of themselves in person, but both type very eloquently. They hold down full time, high responsibility jobs and function well, aside from occasional TBI episodes, in which they have some sort of meltdown and lose the ability to cope. This can last for five minutes or five hours.

I think that Nick's condition has little to do with his sounding off on this board. He is a young guy who hasn't learned humility yet.
How SadBerm
Jun 10, 2002 7:35 AM
This must either be a joke or it is very sad.
"Uncountable number of Podium Placings?"Me Dot Org
Jun 10, 2002 7:38 AM
As to the "uncountable number of podium placings" you've "amassed" in "two seasons", I would ask:

How high can you count?

Yes, I'm being facetious, but if you are going to be a motivational speaker, you better bring something to that podium worth hearing. Referring to two season's worth of podium finishes as "uncountable" simply brands you as too lazy to count.
Crapflood! -nmSnowBlind
Jun 10, 2002 7:40 AM
bordering on commercial promotion?DougSloan
Jun 10, 2002 7:43 AM
Aside from the egocentrism issues, since Nick has let us know that his website bike activites are a commercial venture, I think these posts might violate the spirit of this web site's terms of use (solicitations to buy or sell products).

Nonetheless, the promotion efforts might be backfiring.

Doug
Nick's RBR Profile...biknben
Jun 10, 2002 7:49 AM
About: After 15 years of being an "unathletic" kid that never gave up, Nick finally found his niche. Nick has been posting on the RBR forum for nearly 2 months. Like his cycling career, he has wasted no time making an impact. His posts regularly sit atop the message board.

Achievements: Nick had managed to drive eveyone on the RBR message board completely insane. His open ended posts spread like wild fire. He has recently surpased RRP for the "Most annoying Post of the day awards". Like his track cycling, he continuously pisplays his mastery of traveling in circles.

Nick realized his goal in life while watching a movie, The Natural. "I want people to see me and say, There goes Nick from Podiumbound.ca, the most annoying RBR poster there ever was.
Why bother responding?Len J
Jun 10, 2002 7:49 AM
Nick, either incapable of getting how obnoxious self-promotion is, doesn't want to get it, or is a Troll who is looking for just the kind of emotional response he has been getting. In any case, the only thing responding to him does is encourage the same behavior.

So I ask,, Why bother responding?

Len
***Only comment***PODIUMBOUNDdotCA
Jun 10, 2002 8:12 AM
I've stirred enough shit by posting this. But if noone has realized it was all written in the third person by someone I hardly knew. So when I read it I was so flattered I was beside myself.

Nick Corcoran
PodiumBound.ca
way to go Nick, your the best! nmishmael
Jun 10, 2002 8:19 AM
RON PRUITT-STOP THE CHARADE!!! WE KNOW ITS YOU!!!ohmk1
Jun 10, 2002 9:51 AM
Biting my tongue, NMLowend
Jun 10, 2002 10:11 AM
I WAS TOTALLY ON THE MONEY ABOUT THISLazywriter
Jun 10, 2002 3:17 PM
JERKOFF NICK. BUT AS USUAL I GOT CRAP FOR SAYING HE WAS A EGOTISTICAL MORON. NOW YOU ALL KNOW. NICK, I THINK YOU ARE MORE ANNOYING THAN I AM TO MOST PEPLE ON THIS BOARD. THANKS FOR TAKING THE HEAT OFF ME. YOU ARE A TOTAL MORON AND I THINK A LITTLE RETARDED.
when you think everyone sucks youre bound to finally be rightishmael
Jun 10, 2002 5:30 PM
Ya big ugly grump
LOL, now someone who finallyLazywriter
Jun 10, 2002 6:38 PM
figured me out. Ishmael was a great book btw. The one about the gorilla.
I'll cut ya some slack Nick,rwbadley
Jun 10, 2002 5:09 PM
I know you are well accomplished in such a short time, and I congratulate you. You have reason to be proud.

The folks I respect the most will usually have some traits in common. It would seem that on a bike the one that gets the most from me is the guy (or gal) that will "get business done" without a lot of noise.

Thanks for the background info of your past performance.
re: My profileGreenFan
Jun 10, 2002 5:40 PM
We've got SPAM and eggs on SPAM, SPAMcake on toast with SPAM, SPAMloaf with a nice mint jelly with a side of SPAM, SPAM and SPAM on SPAM.....adnauseum
cp123 profile...cp123
Jun 10, 2002 9:00 PM
I haven’t posted on here for a while so I think I might post my details… maybe i should seek some sponsors too?

Born 1966
1972 – won the colouring-in competition in the Ballarat Courier newspaper. Received a glorious certificate.
1975 – got 3rd prize in the primary school “potato race” at the sports day
1976 – got 3rd prize in 25 metre breaststroke in the under 12’s.
1977 – won 3rd prize in the 100 metre sprint at the interschool athletics. Won a first ribbon in a relay team
1984 – finished high school – no outstanding grades
1984-2000 – competed in a range of other non cycling sports. Won a lot but I won’t go into that
1996 – acquired serious head injury in horse riding accident – acquired brain injury – although people who know me think that was present already…
1985-2002 – participated in some cycling activities. Never been on the podium. Don’t expect to ever really get there unless everyone else falls off. But have achieved my own goals and am generally happy with life.

Really quite boring compared to some…
cp123 profile...cp123
Jun 10, 2002 9:06 PM
aaargh! something has just gone spack with my formatting in my previous post - sorry about that.