RoadBikeReview.com's Forum Archives - General


Archive Home >> General(1 2 3 4 5 6 7 8 9 10 11 12 13 14 15 16 17 18 19 20 21 22 23 24 25 26 27 28 29 30 31 32 33 34 35 36 )


litespeed ghisallo: is it worth it?(15 posts)

litespeed ghisallo: is it worth it?cipollini
Jun 8, 2002 11:22 AM
I'm in doubt, need a new bike, thinking about a ghisallo, i want the very best (dont we all) are there any lighter frames coming up in 2003? and where can i find some pics from ghisallo's other than the litespeed site pic?
how tall are you and what do you weigh? nmgtx
Jun 8, 2002 12:06 PM
how tall are you and what do you weigh? nmcipollini
Jun 9, 2002 9:18 AM
I'm 1.77m and 57kg
metric sorry
re: not if youre even remotely similar to Cipocollinsc
Jun 8, 2002 12:09 PM
I doubt you'll see much lighter than the ghisallo ever, at least not made out of titanium.

Never ridden one but have heard many complaints from not-so-large riders calling it a noodle. It is certainly way light, picked up a tricked out one at a bike expo. Would be a blast to climb on I think, but I am not heavy. If you weigh much at all (like 170 i guess) it will flex a bunch.

This is, again, just what I've been told.
re: litespeed ghisallo: is it worth it?legs
Jun 8, 2002 12:58 PM
I think it is easy to think that lighter somehow equals the best...
when really that isnt so...
lighter just equals lighter...
the ghisallo is a great bike if you need a superlight rig for climbing (assuming you really are built like a climber)..
I suppose the first question is.. (and this must be answered honestly)..
what kind of riding do you do?
what is your build and weight?
how long would you like the frame to last?

if you are a light rider that is doing some serious balls to the wall climbimg (this means climbing at a high pace) and you are only going to use this rig for climbing rides.. then i would seriously consider it...

if you are an avid sporty recreational rider that likes to pretend.. there are other bikes that you might enjoy even more (including the vortex/ultimate)..

surprisingly to me.. my favorite climbing bike is a merlin xlcompact..i lride big hills on every ride... and the frame still works great for racing crits..

luck and happiness...
I test rode the Ghisallo and was interested inLazywriter
Jun 8, 2002 1:40 PM
purchasing it at first because I was told there was no weight limit. I love Litespeed bikes and own 2 of them with the most recent one being a 2002 Vortex.
However, I flexed the Ghisallo very very easily. I am about 180-200lbs in a year and most of my wieght is in my legs. If you are over 160lbs I would say that you would flex this bike to some degree and if over 180lb forget about it.
My Vortex on the other hand is a beast. Lotto Team is riding them almost exclusively and it is light and stiff. Consider that as a better all around bike that can do it all.
re: litespeed ghisallo: is it worth it?cipollini
Jun 9, 2002 9:24 AM
thanks for your reply
i'm 1.77m and 57kg
and i don't have that much power, so maybe it wont flex that much me riding it
i live in holland, but i ride twice a year in the alps and that's why i want a light bike
bit most of the time on long staight roads in holland
your merlin must be great, should consider a merlin also
thanks again
Why not get a Columbus Starship bike?pmf1
Jun 10, 2002 5:46 AM
The ghisallo weighs 863 grams in the medium size. The Coppi Millenium bike weighs in at 980 frams, but costs quite a bit less. LS bikes are high here in the U.S., I can't imagine how much they are in Europe. The savings in money would go towards some light weight wheels or other goodies that would make the end product pretty light. Why not just go for a super lightweight bike made in the EU?
Here is a felx testelviento
Jun 8, 2002 4:32 PM
http://www.cannondale.com/bikes/innovation/caad7/images/deflection.jpg
Oh, I forgot to addelviento
Jun 8, 2002 4:34 PM
Cannondale might be a little biased but at least there is no reason to favor Trek over Litespeed. I would think Trek is a bigger competitor for Cannondale.
re: litespeed ghisallo: is it worth it?Leisure
Jun 8, 2002 11:09 PM
If you're looking at the lightest possible Ti you can also look at the Seven Alta; about the same price/weight as the Ghisallo but with custom geometry and tubesets. Downside is the lifetime warranty doesn't apply if your over 200 pounds.
I'm with the others about the whole over-emphasis on weight issue. Being the lightest is not the final word on being the best. It will definitely work for the lighter riders or those that like a lively ride, but it's definitely a specialty-purpose type frame. If you're really sold on Ti, the names that most commonly get bounced around here are Litespeed, Seven, Serotta, and Bill Holland. The latter three all specialize in custom built frames, and the last appears to be far and away the most exclusive if that matters to you. Look into all of them.
NO....C-40
Jun 9, 2002 4:17 AM
There's a lot more to frame performance than weight. Some of the weight savings is lost with the longer seat tube. Also look at the length of the head tube. It's very short. You'll end up with a high rise stem or an ugly stack of spacers to get the bars up to height.

It also make no sense to pay a lot of extra money for a light frame unless your body fat percentage is in the single digits. If not, that's where the cheap weight savings can be had.

There a lot of better frame values out there. You can get a C-40 with carbon for and seatpost for about $2500 from totalcycling.com. With the C-40 you get light weight, a great ride, stiffness and a fantastic paint job. No dull grey for me.
NO....pmf1
Jun 10, 2002 5:50 AM
By my calculations, this guy is 5'10'' and weighs 125 lbs. I probably would not notice an extra 200 grams while riding in the alps, but he may well feel it.

I still agree with you that in the end, adding long stem weight and seat post, the finished product won't be much lighter than a C-40, or aluminium bike. Wallet will definitely be lighter though.
re: litespeed ghisallo: is it worth it?CT1 Guy
Jun 9, 2002 11:58 AM
Cycling Plus in the UK ran a review of the Ghisallo and thought it was too lightly built which compromised its handling. Wouldn't fancy an alpine decent at 80kph and the front end starts to wander. Then again, you're a light rider - even lighter than me at 60kg, and are less likely to find the stiffness issue much of the problem. I ride a Colnago CT-1 and have found it very stable on high speed decents, plus you'll save a whole lot of cash in comparison to the overpriced (in Europe anyway)Litespeed and buy some really good wheels to match the frame.
how about something like this?Jekyll
Jun 10, 2002 6:22 AM
http://www.cannondale.com/bikes/innovation/caad7/ - interesting comparo between weights of the OCLV, LS and CAAD7.
They do work the numbers in their favor a bit but the price would most probably be in your favor. The bike is light, I rode a Black Lightning CAAD7 demo last week and it felt great, and you know being a Canny, it does not feel like a noodle - If I were looking for a climbing bike this would be pretty high on my list.