RoadBikeReview.com's Forum Archives - General


Archive Home >> General(1 2 3 4 5 6 7 8 9 10 11 12 13 14 15 16 17 18 19 20 21 22 23 24 25 26 27 28 29 30 31 32 33 34 35 36 )


I find it amazing....(12 posts)

I find it amazing....PODIUMBOUNDdotCA
Jun 6, 2002 11:15 AM
Before I start. This post is directed at noone either directly or indirectly. Its just an observation I've made through personal expereince.

I find it amazing how people are able to belittle someone elses accomplishments... even a pro's accomplishments. Here are my examples:
-People don't respect Mario Cipollini, because he wins the flat stages however he has never finished the Tour. This is no big feat, because sprinting at 70 km/h is no big deal since there are no big climbs or the GC contenders don't care. Also Mario has a team helping him so without them he'd be pummelled. All excuses.
-People have a tendency to belittle someone winning a race whether its a race they were in or missed or were in a different category by making excuses. It was a fluke, one good move allowed them to win or the guy who wasn't there could have beat him EASY.
-People belittle the accomplishment of buying a nice bike even if its just a beginner that can afford a nice bike saying they don't need it. An excuse not to have someone with a nicer bike.

Why must people make excuses for other peoples good fortune? It's human nature to write off someones achievements. And human nature sucks at times. However, human nature brings out the best qualities in us as well. I'd like to leave you all on a high note with this Olympic ad that I use to inspire me every time I train.

To be a giant. Not to stand on ones shoulders or to have one as a friend, though these may be fortunate things. But to be one. Giants step over barriers that seem never ending. They conquer mountains that seem insurmountable. Giants rise above fear, triumph over pain, push themselves. And inspire others. To be a giant, to do giant things, to take giant steps. To move the world forward.

We all have the ability to be giants whether we realize it or not... however there will always be giants bigger than ourselves and we have to remember that. Thats where humbleness and humility become so important.

Cheers,
Nick Corcoran
PodiumBound.ca
re: I find it amazing....TJeanloz
Jun 6, 2002 11:32 AM
People certainly reserve the right to look at things, like race results, and analyze them.

I think everybody respects Cipollini's accomplishments, but his accomplishments don't necessarily merit inclusion in the Tour de France. For instance, Nick, a lot of us respect your accomplishments, but most of us don't think they merit an invitation to the Tour de France.

People do have a tendancy to write down the accomplishments of others. But they typically do it in response to some gross exageration on the part of the accomplisher. I think it was fair to question Lance's first Tour win, when no real contenders were there, and he came from nowhere. At this point, he's proven that he really is that good. I think it's fair to give critical analysis when facts are presented that seem a little too good. For instance, Pantani's Giro-Tour double, when it happened, I was amazed. Knowing now that it was likely EPO enhanced, I'm not so amazed.

I have no idea why people belittle others for having fancy bikes. Mostly because I have a fancy bike and can't ride faster than 10mph without getting winded. And also because I've known kids who turned pro on bikes that were held together with duct tape. Seeing that'll teach you how important your bike isn't.
my thoughtsDougSloan
Jun 6, 2002 12:29 PM
I think if people belittle, it usually is someone's attitude that is the target, not the person, the bike, or the accomplishment.

When someone is self-promoting, ego-centric, arrogant, mean, oblivious to others, etc., they sort of make themselves targets, and it might appear that it is the thing they are talking about that is the target.

People always have and always will contentiously discuss sports and sports figures. That's part of the game. Not many of the stars are so thin-skinned, I'd imagine, to let it get to them much. You become a public figure, and you have to expect some criticism.

If you are really talking about yourself here, then I wouldn't worry about it much. You sort of stuck your neck out there, self-promoting a bit (the opposite of humility), and made yourself a target. You may not have intended to, or maybe you subconsciously did so in your efforts to promote your ventures. You got called on it a bit. Rather than make it a big issue, I'd just lie low and learn from it.

That's my free advice, which is worth at least as much as you paid for it.

Doug
If I had any money...PODIUMBOUNDdotCA
Jun 6, 2002 12:59 PM
The post that began this thread had no intent to say anything about my bad experience on this board. However, I did intentionally leave it open to be tied into that. And if I had any money I'd pay your constant advice!

But yes I do some self-promoting on here. My whole nickname proves that but most of the time I am at least fairly low key and through giving my advice. I have a fair ammount of experience whether I'm 19 or not and I like to share that with other riders. However, I did become very high profile in a very negative the other day and I learned from it. That lesson was priceless. It doesn't mean I can't ask a good question or make a statement but I know some things I have to be really careful in wording. And if you believe in something so much... you don't have to say a word to anyone.

Cheers,
Nick Corcoran
PodiumBound.ca
If I had any money...koala
Jun 6, 2002 7:19 PM
The whole point is is you believe in yourself that much you do not need to say anything and if you are that good you will humble yuorself grasshopper.
It's funny...PODIUMBOUNDdotCA
Jun 6, 2002 8:31 PM
I humble myself... if I'm able to do something I've never been able to do before... I'm not super happy about it. I'm happy I did it and overcame that barrier but humility is a weird feeling and thats what I think it is.

Cheers,
Young Grasshopper
PodiumBound.ca
chillsDobione
Jun 6, 2002 12:33 PM
reading that last part sent chills down my spine...

Ayn Rand and Vince Lombardi both say the same thing about struggles, accomplishments, and winning: when it comes down to it, the person with the most drive, the most heart, the greatest desire, and the largest love of life will be the one to pull through in the end. If you want it badly enough, go get it, and let the rest be damned.
re: I find it amazing....tempeteKerouak
Jun 6, 2002 2:08 PM
Dear Nick.

Humility does not come from bigger giants.

It does not come from fear of failure. (Hence the existence of a bigger giant, someone who could beat you.)

Humility comes from consciousness of others, especially smaller and less gifted.

I cheer for you and I want you to win.

Now on the matter of diminishing the glory of others, be carefull; it's these exact people who whatch and judge and "make excuses for other peoples good fortune" that are feeding this world you want to live in.

You want to play this game of performance and competition, you have to find a way to get through this small stuff. If you want to rise above something, start by rising above this.

Then one can only realise the class of a Mario Cipolini, or Ayn Rand... (who wrote "contradictions do not exist. Whenever you think you encounter a contradiction, verify your premises. One of them is false).

The one thing one cannot buy is one's reputation. That stands for a champion.
Records stand; opinions don't.AllisonHayes
Jun 6, 2002 3:10 PM
Nick,

Very thoughtful post. It is important to understand that there are opinions, there are informed opinions and there are critics.

Critics are supposed to be the experts whose opinions others turn to. However, critics can be wrong when they let their own biases cloud their judgement, particularly when someone or something is "unproven." Often it is only in retrospect that it is possible to truly understand and appreciate true greatness.

Informed opinions are from those who are knowledgable and whose judgement you have learned to respect. They know you and your abilities as well as have an understanding of what obstacles and demons you have overcome. They are objective and honest in giving feedback and advice. They too can be wrong or have a limited perspective; it is always a good to have several different people from whom you receive an informed opinion.

Opinions are just that. In the long run, these do not matter one way or the other. Opinions are bantered around in chat rooms, in bars, you name it. They are the source of gossip and rumermongering. Rarely will they be positive; often they will discount your achievements. What this person says states more about them than it does about you.

You have a responsibility to have higher standards and not get dragged down into the pit of opinions. Through your accomplishments, you can quell the critics. Through your character which includes humbleness, humility, strength, leadership--you can make those who are informed--proud of you.

It is through one's records, one's character and one's standards that it is possible to become a giant. And that is what will truly inspire others.

Allison
Records stand; opinions don't.koala
Jun 6, 2002 7:24 PM
Allison-are you really Sarah McLachalan?
musicnova
Jun 6, 2002 4:53 PM
I've purchased CD's which I don't like. I'm sure the musicians who recorded the discs poured their hearts into the music.

That doesn't mean that I have to listen to the disc, or that I can't tell my friends not to buy the disc. Those things don't mean that I'm belittling anyone, or jealous, or psychotic, or....
I hate to agree with youpmf1
Jun 7, 2002 5:04 AM
but I do.

I respect the bike riding ability of anyone talented enough to get paid to do so. I may not like some of them. And it doesn't make you a Giant.

A nice bike only means you have the money to afford one. But if you can afford one and it makes you happy, it is no one's business but your own and no one should fault you for it no matter what your abilities are.