RoadBikeReview.com's Forum Archives - General


Archive Home >> General(1 2 3 4 5 6 7 8 9 10 11 12 13 14 15 16 17 18 19 20 21 22 23 24 25 26 27 28 29 30 31 32 33 34 35 36 )


Mavic Ksyrium vs. Open Pro(18 posts)

Mavic Ksyrium vs. Open ProJanette
Jun 5, 2002 11:01 PM
Can you feel the difference? I use open pro wheels
36 spokes with daytona hubs and from a short ride with
the Ksyrium wheels it's hard to tell whivh one is better.
re: Mavic Ksyrium vs. Open Prosticky
Jun 6, 2002 2:44 AM
Depends what hubs you are using.
I have some 32 spoke open pro rims on ultegra hubs and the K's feel stiffer, stronger and lighter. In terms of feel, they feel faster.
If you are using Record or DA hubs then I would certainly doubt whether the K's are lighter. The k's may still be stronger and may feel faster but probably not worh the extra cash if i'm really honest. That said, I like the K's - loads of people don't but they look cool and feel pretty good. I chose K's over some DA/open pro's because of the looks and I had the money to spend.
re: Mavic Ksyrium vs. Open Probob_vanderhaus
Jun 6, 2002 5:55 AM
I must ask, how can you quantify stiffer and stronger? How does a wheel feel faster? I have ridden many o sets of wheels and currently have 4 sets, and I have yet to ever, "feel," a difference in how a wheelset rides. Are you riding the same tires with the same pressure? I have also never met a person that has a complaint on how the k's ride or perform, the biggest complaint is that they ain't worth the $800 bucks.
Your nerves in your butt must be dead. I went from a cxp30Paul
Jun 6, 2002 6:41 AM
to a set of Heliums, and there was a world of difference. The Heliums will flex, the cxp30 won't. Big difference in ride from a deep dish aero to an OP. I've gone down hills at hi speeds, and the K's are faster then OP.
I can feel the difference in wheelselviento
Jun 6, 2002 8:02 AM
Why do you have to quantify everything? I know steak tastes better than spinach, even though I can't quantify the difference.

I have a set of Rolf Comps and a set of Shimano 6500s. Paid about the same price for them and I don't really feel strongly about either brand, hence no bias. Both sets use 23mm Michelin tires. The Rolfs are noticeably stiffer, especially on rough terrain or while rocking the bike.

I have also compared the feel of Rolf Pros with 36 spoke (14 gauge) Shimano 600 box section wheels. Being a hardcore poser, I went for Rolf Pros solely for the cool looks, but somehow unexpectedly noticed an improvement in performance too;-)

The final comment is that I have never paid retail for high end wheels. Have you?
I have both and I think the Open Pro with Dura Ace (32 hole)Paul
Jun 6, 2002 3:23 AM
is really the better deal. They will ride better then the Ksyriums, and cheaper,easier to maintain. The K's are lighter, I have the older model, and the newer K's are lighter due to the scoped out metal. You can get the K's thru totalcycling (Mavic won't honor the warranty cause it considers this a Grey market), for a good price. it really depends how much money you want to spend. About 325 for Open, 565 for K's. The K's are faster, and lighter. You really have heavy wheels and either setup will be better.

One other thing, if you break a K spoke,the wheel goes so much out of true it's unridable, Open pro, you can wabble home.
K spokes are 5.00, Open Pro .25. If being cool counts, get the K's.
Are the K's really lighter?jtolleson
Jun 6, 2002 5:56 AM
I went through this analysis building the new bike and by my calculation the OPs with Dura Ace hubs were lighter.
Are the K's really lighter?FlyByWire
Jun 6, 2002 6:19 AM
From the latest Excel Sports catalogue:

OP Rims (32)/DA hubs - 716g(front)/954g(rear) - $295.95 (pair)
K SL - 722g(front)/892g(rear) - $349.95 - front 449.95 - rear
K Elite - 755g(front)/960g(rear) - $224.95 - front/$274.95 - rear

The K weight refers to clinchers - the tubs are a bit lighter, but that would be comparing apples to oranges.
I weighted them on my wife's measuring scale she uses for cookinPaul
Jun 6, 2002 6:35 AM
which is prertty accurate by using some known weights. I do it when she's not around for obvious reasons.
Okay, I have a set of OP with World Class hubs which are lighter then DA.The front hub is 100 grams, and the rear, man it's been awhile, 285 grams. Remember it was under 300.

The front K was lighter by about 80-100 grams over the OP, it's been awhile. The rear OP was 10 grams lighter then the K. I was surprised cause I'm using 14/15 spokes. The WC rear hub has a ti free body, K's use steel or an alloy. If the OP had the 17's, it would probably be as light if not lighter then the front K. Now the new K's are about 80 grams lighter, so you have to consider this. I don't believe the published weights, seems to vary from catalog to catalog.

17s on the front, 17 on rear non-drive, using 14/15 or 15 for drive 3X laced, DA hubs, man you have a light, fast OP wheel that's alot cheaper then the Ks.
Not MuchB2
Jun 6, 2002 7:13 AM
I have a set of Hugi/OP's with 3x DT Rev and alloy nipples. They weighed in at 1552g with rim tape. The DA Hub/skewer is 147g heavier than the Hugi hub/skewer (per weights listed in Excel catalog - my skewers weigh 78g).

If I add that up correctly, you get 1699g for a set DA/OP wheels. Ksyrium are advertised at 1614g.

Bryan
re: Mavic Ksyrium vs. Open Proszybki
Jun 6, 2002 6:26 AM
I have both, K's and OP\DA with Sapim spokes laced 3X. The Mavics are stiffer and slightly more aero. I judge stiffness by how the wheel flexes when standing and climbing, and if they rub on the brakes during high speed cornering. The Ksryium spoke breaking crap comes from people who don't own them. I have never seen anyone (group rides, races, etc.) that has broken a K spoke. I have, however, been told by people that somebody's brother's - cousin's - uncle had a K spoke break - BS. Both wheelsets are extremely nice, the K's "feel" better and require less maintenance and look pretty cool too, the OP/DA wheels are light and fast and cheaper, but you can't go wrong with either one. Also, don't add up the parts and expect your wheels to weigh that amount, throw them on a scale and I think you'll be suprised. BTW, you can go overseas and get the Mavic's much cheaper.
breaking K spokesweiwentg
Jun 6, 2002 6:36 AM
it's true that you won't break a spoke during normal rides unless you're a 500lb gorilla. at his first road race, my friend had someone's rear wheel go into his front. it bent 2 spokes, and rendered the wheel almost unrideable. so, it's either that or t-bone something really, really hard.
K spokes do break, I've seen it. You can twist them like aPaul
Jun 6, 2002 6:47 AM
pretzel. Don't make a statement like that it's "breaking crap comes from people--" M friend is 210 lbs, has two sets of K's, and broke a rear after 1,000 miles on the new set. It happens dude!
I've personally seen it happen. Still I like my KsSintesi
Jun 6, 2002 7:08 AM
what happens when you break a spoke?ColnagoFE
Jun 6, 2002 9:11 AM
are the wheels still rideable--like my 36 hole CXP33s are? or do you walk home at that point?
admittedly, you probably do walk homeweiwentg
Jun 6, 2002 9:30 AM
as I said, my friend's wheel with 2 bent spokes was way out of true. he could ride, but it was not pretty, and he bailed out of the race.
The wheel was rubbing the guy's brake.Sintesi
Jun 6, 2002 10:22 AM
But the problem was removing the spoke. It broke near the hub. He had to flex it back and forth until the metal weakened and he could snap it off near the rim. i don't know if he did ride it home or even if he could I didn't stick around. Maybe, if he undid the brake, the rim didn't look tacoed.
K spokes do break, I've seen it. You can twist them like aszybki
Jun 6, 2002 10:27 AM
My friend's cousin's sister... This is exactly what I meant