RoadBikeReview.com's Forum Archives - General


Archive Home >> General(1 2 3 4 5 6 7 8 9 10 11 12 13 14 15 16 17 18 19 20 21 22 23 24 25 26 27 28 29 30 31 32 33 34 35 36 )


Whats the best lesson you've learned from cycling?(42 posts)

Whats the best lesson you've learned from cycling?PODIUMBOUNDdotCA
Jun 5, 2002 10:37 AM
My question is whats the best lesson you've learned from cycling?

For me I've learned so many; from how important perseverance is to how to apply focus in other areas of your life can help.

However, the single greatest lesson I've learned is why I ride. I ride, because I love it. I'm a sprinter, because I love it. I may trap myself in a box by making myself a sprinter and I know that... but at least I'm happy doing what I love. And this can be said about anything you do in life from other hobbies, to work, to relationships.

Cheers,
Nick Corcoran
PodiumBound.ca
there is a difference...neube
Jun 5, 2002 11:38 AM
there is a difference between knowing the path, and walking the path.

ok i learned that from a movie, not cycling. but sitting there in the theater i was thinking about training, rather than the movie.

We spend so much time worrying about training schedules, base miles, aerodynamics, weight and other things that sometimes we forget to 'walk the path'.

Just ride.
humility nmDougSloan
Jun 5, 2002 11:39 AM
: ) : ) : ) !!Sintesi
Jun 5, 2002 11:46 AM
AgreedPODIUMBOUNDdotCA
Jun 5, 2002 11:47 AM
We all have our own God given talents. Whether we know it or not. Just like Joe Friel said that the greatest cyclist who ever was... never was. And just because you can beat someone on a bike doesn't mean you can beat them at anything else. Thats where humility and humbleness come into play.

Cheers,
Nick Corcoran
PodiumBound.ca
Alright...Who kidnapped Nick!!! Who is this imposter?:o)spyderman
Jun 5, 2002 8:54 PM
I suggest we start a reward fund for the return of our good friend Nick. I'll donate the first dollar (Canadian)...:)
the more you spend......Spirito
Jun 5, 2002 11:44 AM
the less you enjoy and the more $'s you lose.

oh...and of course chicks dig cyclists and are more impressed by chrome, shiny steel and vintage jersey's
than aero anything, 11lb bikes, fat tubes and dayglo modern clothing. the latter are just for sissies.

also

cycling is an Art Form - unless you make it a science.

sure the above is kinda esoteric, obtuse and retro-grouchy but i feel it to be true.

ciao
(the only weight weenie i worry about is better described as a kielbasa or perhaps a bratwurst) :-)
might be on to something - cruisers are cool - ladies?DougSloan
Jun 5, 2002 11:55 AM
When I'm on my Colnago, Cervelo, or EV2 women riders don't even give me a glance.

Last Saturday I took my Milano cruiser out for a 50 mile easy ride; I wore the full "uniform", that is, baggy bike shorts, plain red jersey, string back gloves, SPD "skateboard" type shoes, and Rayban Aviators rather than the Rudy's -- in other words, incognito.

I swear, 20 out of 20 women waved, and several even shouted "hi" out loud from across the highway. I thought I looked sort of like a total geekball, and apparently the women did not (unless women are more likely to acknowledge geekballs than pseudoracers).

What's up with that? Ladies?

Doug
were you drinking "ginseng-up"? (nm)ColnagoFE
Jun 5, 2002 12:06 PM
Can I get a picture so I can mimic please? (nm)PODIUMBOUNDdotCA
Jun 5, 2002 12:22 PM
You had the look...Spinchick
Jun 5, 2002 12:39 PM
of someone who didn't give a flying flip about "fashion" and what is expected to be worn while cycling. Kind of an eccentric, I'm just doing my thing look. Can't speak for all women, but I for one prefer a guy who "does his own thing" than one who falls for all the trappings.

Okay...maybe it was really the string back gloves. That's just downright NAUGHTY...;-)
go ahead...tickle yer fancy......Spirito
Jun 5, 2002 12:45 PM
Ahhhh, something about stringbacks...Spinchick
Jun 5, 2002 12:58 PM
like fishnet stockings. Am I weird? Wait...don't answer that.
How many times are you gonna flash those things...Lone Gunman
Jun 5, 2002 2:10 PM
In fact I am rethinking the whole kit for the 2 day ride I'm doing this weekend and I may wear the gloves, might even ride the retro.
ill let THE MAN do the flashing....Spirito
Jun 5, 2002 5:24 PM
eddy baby..... nobody did it better. or was kitted out with more style....
oh, so we're on to somethingDougSloan
Jun 5, 2002 1:02 PM
It may very well have been the bike, which, in my (humble) opinion, is one of the coolest bikes around.

The string backs I wear on the racing bikes, too, so that can't be the sole factor.

It was funny, actually. About 20 miles out of town on a lonely country road 3 of my racing buddies pass me, look back, and nearly come to a halt. They were fawning all over the Milano. They thought it was so cool; I thought I'd be a bit embarrassed to be seen on it by them. Who'd have known?

Maybe it's just the innocence and non-threatening nature of the bike and ensemble?

I'm taking the Milano to centuries from now on (not that I can act on anything...).

Doug
I think YOU'RE on to something.look271
Jun 5, 2002 1:51 PM
The innocense and non-threatening appearance of a bike a like the Milano and your ensemble. IMHO, (FWIW), women seem to be more at ease around non-threatening men. You'll find out 1st time you take your child to a mall w/o your wife, Kids are "chick magnets" because the women are at ease in approaching you because they figure you have no hidden agendas.
canb i rent a kid for an hour or so? :-) NmSpirito
Jun 5, 2002 2:00 PM
cute dogs seem to work better in my opinion (nm)ColnagoFE
Jun 5, 2002 2:10 PM
the Milano is cheaper than either nmDougSloan
Jun 5, 2002 2:58 PM
ain't that the truthColnagoFE
Jun 6, 2002 9:13 AM
really like the looks of the Milano. If my beater bike ever gives up the ghost I'm getting one. How does the shifting work?
shiftingDougSloan
Jun 6, 2002 9:24 AM
It works fine. It has a easy-clicking thumb shifter lever, and sequentially goes up and down the gears. You don't have to pedal to shift, either. It has 7 speeds, which are decently spaced and with a range for rolling terrain. I rode the bike up the mountains once, and it was not up to that task without a whole lot of really hard cranking out of the saddle.

The paint and graphics are very nice, too, with real painted on names with gold painted outlining. Real leather grips.

I installed some heavy slime tubes and tire liners right off, to avoid a flat at all costs. The rear wheel is a real pain to remove and replace.

It's a fun bike.
they can sense the looming fatherhood. nmJS Haiku Shop
Jun 5, 2002 12:43 PM
No matter how fast I think I am, there's somebody faster (nm)HBPat
Jun 5, 2002 11:49 AM
Expanding pain tolerance thresholdTig
Jun 5, 2002 11:59 AM
I agree with humility being the most valuable, but had to add expanding pain tolerance as well. This happens not only at the physical level, but more importantly, the mental level. Learning to not give up and pushing yourself further demonstrates this growth. The ability to endure pains of all kinds can be useful in life's other endeavors.
That it is a better cure for a midlife crisis than ...ms
Jun 5, 2002 12:01 PM
the usual. I started riding at 41. I has had a positive effect upon my work and my family. And, I feel better too. It is never to late to start something new.
re: Whats the best lesson you've learned from cycling?zero1
Jun 5, 2002 12:14 PM
now that i am 52 and just started back into cycling in jan. after 20 yrs of running...i just can't do what i use to and i sure do not recover as fast but the most important thing is to just ride, ride, ride and enjoy it instead of seeing how fast i can go each time i ride, like i use to...we are all adults on a kid's toy....ride safe!!!
re: Whats the best lesson you've learned from cycling?No_sprint
Jun 5, 2002 12:19 PM
Well, I started bike racing BMX at 8. I was already playing tennis competitively amongst other sports. I learned valuable lessons of humility back then. There was always someone better. Since those days I have become very comfortable in my role as something of a jack of all trades, true master of nothing. One thing I learned from cycling is to feel and understand my own body better. With tennis and skiing and all the other competitive stuff I'd do, I was very very good because of developed skills. Road racing is different. Skills will only get you so far. The rest is up to how well and how hard you train your body to be a fast, well oiled and tuned endurance machine.
Just one, huh? Hmmm...rideslikeagirl
Jun 5, 2002 12:29 PM
Can't narrow it down-

1. I'm much tougher and stronger than I'd ever imagined.

2. I had never really experienced The Bonk before!

3. There are SO many stupid drivers out there!!

4. It ain't just kid stuff anymore.
The truth for me is there isn't just one...PODIUMBOUNDdotCA
Jun 5, 2002 12:31 PM
I completely agree there are so many so narrowing it down to one almost belittles the other experiences that are just as important.

Cheers,
Nick
PodiumBound.ca
re: Whats the best lesson you've learned from cycling?Rode Warrior
Jun 5, 2002 12:34 PM
Wear sunscreen.
Llamas run REALLY fast. nmSpinchick
Jun 5, 2002 12:40 PM
There's gotta be a story here...? nmrideslikeagirl
Jun 5, 2002 1:23 PM
Of course...Spinchick
Jun 5, 2002 2:12 PM
last summer..I had just replaced the size 23 tires with 28s so I could do a little off road riding during my weekday rides. I decided to ride through a pasture as a short cut to a park road in the Pine Barrens. As I rode past a large dune (going about 16mph), I spotted the llama - but not before he spotted me. He was not happy. I did a quick turnaround and hauled ass back to where I came into the field. At this point I was up to about 18mph and he was RIGHT ON MY ASS. I hit a sand pit, did an endo and ended up flat on my back with the llama looking down at me with a rather confused expression on his face. I wish I had the whole scene on video. Er...well, maybe I dont.
Too funny!rideslikeagirl
Jun 6, 2002 7:21 AM
Sounds like he was just bored and you were some good entertainment-
And they spit!...trust me on this...nmmr_spin
Jun 5, 2002 1:48 PM
re: Whats the best lesson you've learned from cycling?Me Dot Org
Jun 5, 2002 1:05 PM
Don't push the pedals, spin the crank.

Ride for yourself.

Make it fun.
Clean socks. Make sure you have clean socks.SnowBlind
Jun 5, 2002 1:11 PM
Oh, and never wear bibs more than once before washing...
when in doubt, take in the view (nm)mwood
Jun 5, 2002 1:15 PM
re: How to push & disipline myself....jrm
Jun 5, 2002 2:20 PM
to become a stronger rider. Not to mention that looking and feeling good are great side effects.
To be grateful for my health. (nm)namir in SoCal
Jun 5, 2002 6:51 PM
Brakes are good. (nm)Leisure
Jun 7, 2002 3:53 AM
Alright, I'm really just using this as an excuse to learn how to post a pic. Leave me alone! (If it shows up, it's a pic of my bro from a couple years ago.)