RoadBikeReview.com's Forum Archives - General


Archive Home >> General(1 2 3 4 5 6 7 8 9 10 11 12 13 14 15 16 17 18 19 20 21 22 23 24 25 26 27 28 29 30 31 32 33 34 35 36 )


Lemond Zürich riders? Opinions?(18 posts)

Lemond Zürich riders? Opinions?EpicX
Jun 5, 2002 6:47 AM
Got a line on a 2 year old Zürich frame w/ carbon fork. Any opinions. The review section is sort of generic. How do you like the "lemond geometry"? How's the ride? Weight? thanks.
re: Lemond Zürich riders? Opinions?Lone Gunman
Jun 5, 2002 7:27 AM
Got a 3 year old Z. Rides smooth and stable. Fits the riding that I do, training rides and tours. I don't race (in my mind) so the bike definitely fits my needs. Frames run large, so know your needs in a top tube. I ride a 55 and size out in a 57, (55Z=56.5TT might go to GVH bikes and notice that some 58cm bikes have TT in this range) It is not a light bike as compared to other offerings but the frame rides very nice for me and I am not worried about weight.
re: Lemond Zürich riders? Opinions?EpicX
Jun 5, 2002 7:53 AM
hmmm. i ride a 54 specialized and was thinking a 55 lemond would fit ok. sounds like it may be to big for me.
was gonna add...EpicX
Jun 5, 2002 7:59 AM
i forgot to say, i run a 14 cm stem on my 54, so that long TT on the lemond may work out ok after all with a shorter stem, mainly just worried about standover.
re: Lemond Zürich riders? Opinions?WhoWasThat
Jun 5, 2002 8:01 AM
Geometry is stretched-out. Took about 1,000 miles for me to adjust, but now I wouldn't have it any other way. I feel (subjectively of course) aerobically efficient this way.

Ride quality is excellent.

If it's a close call on the top tube, take 20 mm off the stem length.
re: Lemond Zürich riders? Opinions?Alpedhuez55
Jun 5, 2002 8:18 AM
THe geometry is not for everyone. For me, I have shot legs and a long torso so my 55 CM Zurich fits me like a custom. I would try to take a test ride on one before you buy the frame.

One thing I have noticed about Lemonds is that Mountain Bikers buying a first road bike tend to like Lemonds.
you're right about mtb'ersKgB
Jun 5, 2002 8:46 AM
After mountain biking several years,I decided to get a road bike.I noticed right off that the Zurich felt more comfortable than the others I had tested.
I am 5-9 and a 53 fits perfectly.I have had the bike for almost two years and I love the way the bike handles and it is comfortable on really long rides.I can't give a really honest review though since I have not ridden a lot of other road bikes.
Yikes! Now I'm a statistic...dsc
Jun 5, 2002 4:04 PM
I've commented many times on this board on how much I enjoy riding my Zurich. I'll just add, like others have mentioned here, to ride it first - the geometry is "long and low", compared to some others. It's not the lightest frame, (although with upgrades, my 55 cm comes in at 17.5 lbs. with LOOK pedals), nor the fastest out of the gate (compared to, say. an alum. frame TCR), but at about the 80 mile mark, the ride is still comfortable.

My .02
-Debi
It's not the lightest frame??B2
Jun 5, 2002 7:45 PM
>>"It's not the lightest frame, (although with upgrades, my 55 cm comes in at 17.5 lbs. with LOOK pedals)"

Yikes - that sounds pretty darn light to me! They must be some pretty good upgrades.

Bryan
It's not the lightest frame??dsc
Jun 5, 2002 11:33 PM
Yeah, the guy I bought it from (it's a '99, bought used last year) manages a bike shop, so it got the treatment royal... full DA, Ouzo Pro (CF steerer), Rolf Vector Pro's, Ti seatpost, etc. - what's a few $$$ to drop 2 lbs?!!!
It's not the lightest frame??garhead
Jun 6, 2002 2:11 AM
go for it!!!
re: Lemond Zürich riders? Opinions?MP
Jun 5, 2002 8:34 AM
I had a 1996 Zurich and like it very much until I crashed it last October and bent the frame and fork. It was my first serious road bike and I bought one that was too big for me because it felt more stable than a smaller frame during test rides. I am 5'9" and bought a 55, but should have gone with a 53. I was too stretched out for my not-so-limber body. Ultimately I reduced the stem length and that improved the fit, but that method is not as good as having the correct top tube length. You will enjoy the bike if you buy one, but keep the geometry in mind.
re: Lemond Zürich riders? Opinions?garhead
Jun 5, 2002 9:10 AM
just curious how much you were paying, cause I was thinking of selling my 55cm 2001 Zurich frame /fork.
$300 nmEpicX
Jun 5, 2002 9:13 AM
That's a great price!garhead
Jun 5, 2002 9:22 AM
re: Lemond Zürich riders? Opinions?Dave L
Jun 5, 2002 9:11 AM
I purchase my Zurich two months ago after test riding A Trek 5200 and Cannondale R900. I have about 900 miles on the bike and love the ride. It's a great bike for long distance tours and that is where you get to appreciate the Lemond geometry. The Trek and Connondale are both lighter and feel faster for a short ride than the Zurich, but after 50 miles of riding, the Lemond's steel frame and geometry make up for the extra weight in comfort.

I would agree with the above post that you sould make sure the bike fits you and I would also suggest that you test ride many models of bikes before you buy.
nooooooo! it's SOOOO close. help!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!EpicX
Jun 5, 2002 6:27 PM
Ok, need more opinions here. I went to the LBS and tried a 55cm Zurich. It feels so close. The saddle was almost all the way back on the rails, so maybe that has something to do with it. I just felt a little to stretched, and didn't have more than 1/2" of standover.

what do you think? just TOO big? or workable? like I said, it felt really close. i hate to pass up a good deal...
nooooooo! it's SOOOO close. help!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!dsc
Jun 5, 2002 11:38 PM
So set your saddle height and position, relative to KOP (where it feels comfortable to YOU) and get the stem length/rise that makes it all come together. Standover is pretty much a non-issue on a road bike, so long as all of the other 'fit' components can be met.

-Debi