RoadBikeReview.com's Forum Archives - General


Archive Home >> General(1 2 3 4 5 6 7 8 9 10 11 12 13 14 15 16 17 18 19 20 21 22 23 24 25 26 27 28 29 30 31 32 33 34 35 36 )


@#$% Race X-lite tires(7 posts)

@#$% Race X-lite tiresBikeViking
Jun 4, 2002 3:14 PM
I have had these tires for 800 miles and I am already finding small sidewall fissures on them, especially on the rear one. They run the entire tire diameter. They are marginally notceable on the front tire.

THey are all small, but do they require IMMEDIATE replacement or are they good for a few more miles? Any have similar experiences with these GP3000 clones?

If they need immediate replacement, any recommendation on replacements? I am a 6'3"/205, so I ain't dainty! I have heard good things about the Axial Carbons, but with all the tires reviews here, I can find mixed results for all of them.

THanks for your advice in advance.
GatorsDougSloan
Jun 4, 2002 3:18 PM
I've done the weight weenie thing as much as anyone. I still have a set of Supersonics on one wheelset. However, for most riding, even racing now, I use Conti Gatorskins. They are darn near indestructible, and in most situations the extra weight is not that noticeable. They give me far more peace of mind than lighter weight does.

Doug
strangely enough,...JS Haiku Shop
Jun 5, 2002 5:01 AM
had the gators put on my merckx; sidewall blowout on the rear in less than 300 miles. replaced 'em with tried and true mich axial kevlars. will put the gators (replacment rear) on the ss.

I was looking forward to >2k miles on the gators...ugh!
Truth no. 3DougSloan
Jun 5, 2002 5:31 AM
"The better your experience with a product, the more likely someone else will post a scathing review of the same thing (and vice versa). If you got 20,000 miles on a wheel without so much as truing it, I guarantee the same wheel exploded on someone else in the first 10 miles. However, likely no one has any data showing the frequency of good or bad experience with the product."

"Historical truths of the Board?" 4/18/02 3:45pm
word. nmJS Haiku Shop
Jun 5, 2002 6:22 AM
More good stuff about Carbonsmickey-mac
Jun 5, 2002 5:07 AM
I used to be pretty flat-prone, doing a fairly substantial amount of riding in areas with a lot of road debris. I started using Carbons at the beginning of the year and have had one flat when I hit a piece of a small piece of pipe that would have punctured any tire. When I put them on I planned to use them only for winter, but they're my new year-round tires now.
re: @#$% Race X-lite tiresgrandemamou
Jun 5, 2002 5:25 AM
You will find mixed reviews on every tire because everyone is looking for something different lightweight,cornering, flat resistance etc.

I've tried various tires from Conti, Mich., Vittoria. I run Axial Pros/Race on my main rig and Mich. carbons on my other two. The only downside is that the axial pros seem to cut easier than other tires. No flats just lots of little cuts. For me it's a fair tradeoff for the great cornering. FWIW I'm 145 lbs.