RoadBikeReview.com's Forum Archives - General


Archive Home >> General(1 2 3 4 5 6 7 8 9 10 11 12 13 14 15 16 17 18 19 20 21 22 23 24 25 26 27 28 29 30 31 32 33 34 35 36 )


Why do you post/read posts on this board? Wha makes a good/bad post?(33 posts)

Why do you post/read posts on this board? Wha makes a good/bad post?AllisonHayes
Jun 4, 2002 8:17 AM
Narcissism vs Self-Improvement?
rideslikeagirl summed it up well in a post below:

"Seems to me that this board is basically narcissistic by nature. And that's not necessarily a bad thing - just the way it is. We're all here to gain knowledge to apply to our personal situations and better our biking."

OK, so why do you post on this board? Are you here to share knowledge, share experiences, gain knowledge, learn from others experiences, be part of a community, be narcissistic, other?

What posts piss you off; what is a good post? How can I/you be a better poster or responder to posts?

btw, "Empty vessels make the most noise" by jarraa is a great saying.

(and I fully expect someone to say that posts like this one are what piss you off. I'll step out of the way now.)
Oh sure. And put me in the line of fire!??! ;-) nmrideslikeagirl
Jun 4, 2002 8:35 AM
heeheeheeheehee (maybe misery luvs company?)AllisonHayes
Jun 4, 2002 9:43 AM
or just being a little chicken shit, so I draw in others to deflect the fire? :)
re: Why do you post/read posts on this board? Wha makes a good/bad post?TJeanloz
Jun 4, 2002 8:37 AM
I typically try to avoid posts that are self-centered, with titles like: "I had a great ride this weekend, did you?"; I'm not saying they don't belong, I just am not interested in them- I don't care if your ride was good or lousy.

I used to only post on things that I had first hand knowledge of, but that rule has gone by the wayside as I get farther away from the industry. I still prefer to provide information that I see as truely factual (this, clearly has more to do with components than General topics).

The only posts that drive me nuts are the beaten dead horses. Cipollini not going to the Tour was news two months ago, now, I don't care- it's over and done with. The endless Campy/Shimano debate seems to be at cease-fire, as is the Litespeed/Seven/Moots/Serotta debate. This is good- but I hate posts that bring it up (at least they don't generate the hostility they used to).
re: Why do you post/read posts on this board? Wha makes a good/bad post?mr_spin
Jun 4, 2002 8:59 AM
What do I read? Usually it's all in the title. If the title doesn't interest me, I won't open it. If there are interesting titles in the responses, I'll probably open the original.

I'm with TJeanloz. Dead horse topics piss me off. Ego-centric posts like podiumbound does piss me off. And "I had a great ride, no problems, it was a sunny day" are a waste of time.

On the other hand, "I had a great ride, no problems, it was a sunny day, and I had such and such experience" are fine, because it provides a topic for discussion. It rained for the last 20 miles? Who really cares about your ride, but most people have a story about riding in the rain.

The posts that piss me off the most are people trying to "fix" the board, which inevitably means "censor" the board. Thankfully, there haven't been any of those in a while. I'm not sure "don't post Giro spoilers" applies.

Then there are the obvious inane posts from old friends like Cherry1, or the people who get really defensive and have to respond to everything, like RadicalRonPruitt tends to do. There is nothing more pathetic than someone digging the hole they are in deeper and not realizing it.
This is where I comerideslikeagirl
Jun 4, 2002 9:00 AM
M-F, 8-5, to get a taste of the bike during a time I can't ride.

I come here to share my weekend excursions with people that will understand what 60 rolling miles means. Rather than co-workers that think I'm nuts.

This is where I can learn to loosen my shoes after 15 minutes of riding to avoid numb toes.

Then, next week/month I can pass that on to someone else to help their little piggies.

All the component geek-speak threads are lost on me, so I don't bother when it starts sounding like Tim-the-Tool-Man-Taylors power-tool grunting. Just not my bag.

I love the posters that can turn a bike ride into poetry, cuz that's how it feels when I ride.

I hate when people gang up on another poster, rather than just skipping the whole thing.
Dead horsesrideslikeagirl
Jun 4, 2002 9:17 AM
I forgot to address this ever-popular thread-

Certain topics are bound to come up, over and over. Not everyone is addicted to this board and spends absurd amounts of time here - so, they may have missed the hot debate on chamois butter three weeks ago.

And there are newbies popping up all the time. And everyone seems to fumble on the same basics and ask the same questions when they're new cyclists.

I'm happy to repeat myself if it helps someone.
Is the Motobecane a good bike? (nm)jtolleson
Jun 4, 2002 1:46 PM
re More ego-centric than narcissistic.dzrider
Jun 4, 2002 9:10 AM
If somebody has a question that I've dealt with I reply, especially if my experience differs from conventional wisdom on the subject. I enjoy sharing unusual conclusions.

I read posts if the topic seems relevant to my riding or if people who have had good insights in the past have already responded to it. I seldom read posts that ask us to choose between bikes I've seen but never ridden or wheelsets that don't come with Campy hubs. I can't believe that people really want their answer to those questions to come from a group of riders they've never met and know little about but I'm not everybody and everybody's not me.
Communicate, Learn, commiserate........Len J
Jun 4, 2002 9:14 AM
with & from people who understand and share the passion.

The other reason that I read & post is because this community is a much broader cross-section of people than I am normally around. All ages, sexes, nationalities, socio-economic classes, personality types. I am continually amazed how many assumptions that I have about the world are just that, my assumptions. It forces me to reevaluate my core beliefs, I like that.

The posts that piss me off are the "attack" posts, as well as the "name calling", the one's that make it personal & say more about the attacker than the attackee. And I love the response to a troll that tells me not to respond because it's a troll.

A good post is one that either reminds me of something I forgot or shows me something I didn't know. In addition, any post where a poster exposes thier own weaknesses in an honest attempt to learn about themselves deserves an equally honest response.

Len
The Good, the Bad, and the Ugly....SteveO
Jun 4, 2002 9:19 AM
Good : knowlege sharing

Bad : Posts which sincerly seek the knowlege and experience of others (newbie riding style, training, heartrate, etc) are laregely ignored by the masses in favor of 'sexy' posts (like "which frame should i spend $5000 dollars on?) or 'overbeaten' posts ("The area construction workers make fun of me because of my shaved legs".

Ugly : Opinions or perspectives (which are stated as such) being criticized as 'wrong' or insignificant. Bashing people (such as RRP) for his posting, and then (apparently missing the action) continuing to bash them even after they STOP posting (the only thing more annoying than his posts is 35 people all bashing his posts)

I come here to hoping to offer differing perspectives/solutions from the mainstream, and hoping to receive the same.
re: Why do you post/read posts on this board? Wha makes a good/bad post?ColnagoFE
Jun 4, 2002 9:55 AM
coupla reasons:

1. to learn something
2. to research a purchase
3. to share info
4. to relieve boredom at work
5. to stir the pot...sometimes trolls can be fun as long as they are somewhat original
6. to correct what i feel to be incorrect info
"to stir the pot..."AllisonHayes
Jun 4, 2002 10:05 AM
Ever notice that there are often 10x the number of hits whenever this happens?

So, it seems there are a lot of people who like to see the pot stirred, don't you think?

And if so, what does that say about us? My guess there is a whole lot of gossip mongering in each of us that gets a thrill out of seeing that pot stirred.

i In medieval times, our ancestors would all go and watch a public hanging. Not so different, n'est pas?
"to stir the pot..."laffeaux
Jun 4, 2002 10:44 AM
Yep. It can be tiring reading the same questions and answers day in and day out. People that stir the pot (albiet devil's advocates or trolls - is there a difference?) definitely add originality to posts. That's probably a good thing.

I read things that seem informative, or make me think of something that I may not have thought of otherwise. It's a bit hard to place these items into a cateogy.

I generally read the questions such as, "what bike should I buy," but rarely do I read the answers. I only add input to these when I have a valid answer, and never when the question is vague.

I probably read, 1 out of 5 (or less) of the subjects posted.

I generally only post new subjescts when I'm seeking an answer to a specific question. I get an answer to that question about 75% of the time.

I notice that some people answer a different question than what was asked, although these seems to occur more often on mtbr.com than here. Maybe roadies listen better?

I stop reading replies when (a) they posts begin to repeat, (b) the posts diverge so much from the original topic that I'm no longer interested, (c) name calling begins, or (d) when posters post opinions as fact.
oh, the reasons ...Ravik
Jun 4, 2002 10:17 AM
Messageboards by their nature are semi-annonymous, and in that annonimity we're able to ask questions we wouldn't otherwise pose, answer when we might otherwise stay quiet.
A good post?
An opinion.
A bit of advice (good or bad, it's up to the individual to decide if it fits).
I came to the board to get help picking out a bike. I got some excellent advice, am in love with my bike and am back riding after nearly a 10-year hiatus.
I come back and read dozens of messages, watching the ebb and flow.
I sometimes print a message out, post it as a reminder, technical or for motivation.
I tire of thos boors who post frightened, nasty responses to questions they think are silly or stupid, but,hey, they have a right to make fools of themselves.
This is, by far, one of the more enjoyable boards I've ever been a member of.
Must me a classy group!
oh, the reasons ...Ravik
Jun 4, 2002 10:18 AM
Messageboards by their nature are semi-annonymous, and in that annonimity we're able to ask questions we wouldn't otherwise pose, answer when we might otherwise stay quiet.
A good post?
An opinion.
A bit of advice (good or bad, it's up to the individual to decide if it fits).
I came to the board to get help picking out a bike. I got some excellent advice, am in love with my bike and am back riding after nearly a 10-year hiatus.
I come back and read dozens of messages, watching the ebb and flow.
I sometimes print a message out, post it as a reminder, technical or for motivation.
I tire of thos boors who post frightened, nasty responses to questions they think are silly or stupid, but,hey, they have a right to make fools of themselves.
This is, by far, one of the more enjoyable boards I've ever been a member of.
Must be a classy group!
re: Why do you post/read posts on this board? Wha makes a good/bad post?tarwheel
Jun 4, 2002 11:17 AM
After frequenting this board a long time, I tend to search out posts by particularly knowledgable or entertaining posters -- including you, Allison, who are a breath of fresh air. For technical advice and general knowledge, I always try to read posts by nessism, tjean, doug sloan, MB1, jtolleson, lonefrontranger, grzy, dino and many others I forget to mention. For humor and entertainment, I always try to read posts by allisonhayes, jshaiku, woofthedog. I try to avoid flamers, lazy, and posts about politics, religion and boils on butts. If I don't know the poster but the topic sounds interesting, I'll read it. Often, if a message has a lot of hits and responses, it's worth reading -- but sometimes these can also be the worst, such as when flame wars ignite.

I generally post topics when I have questions about a particular problem or I'm seeking advice. This board is an invaluable source of information -- more than you could ever get from the various magazines available -- but you have to learn to separate the wheat from the chaff. Unfortunately, many people offer advice on topics they apparently know nothing about. However, you learn after a while that people like nessism and tjean really know their stuff.

I really enjoy the posters like MB1 and dougsloan who understand that we are a community of folks with more in common than what separates us. MB1's posts with photos and descriptions of his rides capture what cycling is all about -- having a good time enjoying something you love to do. Finally, I have received genuine help from a number of posters, including some who have provided advice and even sent me needed parts. There are a lot of great people who hang out here, despite the occasional jerks. I honestly would enjoy going on a ride or drinking a beer with just about anybody here -- but, of course, NICKPODIUMBOUND would leave me in the dust unless his crank broke first.
A good post...biknben
Jun 4, 2002 11:31 AM
A good post is one that answers questions you didn't know you needed answered. I read most but not all the post simply because I often find a little tidbit burried somewhere that I wouldn't know otherwise. My knowledge has grown immensely just from spending time here.

Contrary to what others said, I'd like to read more of the "had a great ride yesterday" posts. Exchanging knowledge gets monotonous. I enjoy comparing my good/bad rides to those of others. I spend a lot of time lurking on the Passion forum on MTBR. Being a "BI"cyclist I need to get my fix of dirt too. Many people flame them for being mud lovin Gen-Xers but I admire their "Passion" (for lack of better word). There are 20-30 people over their who continuously post about their rides and experiences. The posts contain endless pictures and even videos of beautiful places. They get together regularly for rides throughout the country and have a noticeable respect for each other.

I lurk here more than post only because I think I have more to learn than to offer. But when someone asks a question I can answer, I feel free to chime in.
My answersms
Jun 4, 2002 12:34 PM
Why do I post: I post rarely because I think that others with more experience have better answers than I have. But, if my personal experience is relevant and I have time to write, I will post. (Question: do lurkers like me have a duty to post more often to keep the board active?)

Why do I read: I read to get information, to get a good laugh, to think about cycling when I am desk-bound.

A good post: Something that is well-written and to the point. Something that offers a perspective on an issue that I had not considered. Something that answers a question that I feel too dumb to ask.

A bad post: A personal attack. Self-promotion. A long post that takes too long to get to the point. A post that is misrepresented by its title.
THIS POST PISSES ME OFFAllen az
Jun 4, 2002 12:36 PM
Put it on the "NON-CYCLING DISSCUSIONS"!!!
Aw shucks AllenAllisonHayes
Jun 4, 2002 12:57 PM
You're not one of those Mariposa boys are you? You know the ones from Surprise, Az who on March 13, 2002, were arrested for possession of dangerous drugs, possession of drug paraphernalia, resisting arrest, possession of stolen property and possession of fireworks.

It's the fireworks charge that floors me. Now that one is really bad. Taking away one's fireworks can make a person really mean-spirited and turn them into an explosive personality.

(just joshin 'ya Allen, I know you don't play with fireworks.)
sincerity and helpfulnessDougSloan
Jun 4, 2002 1:05 PM
I look for sincerity and helpfulness.

In my view narcissistic posts are allowed, if you post 10 helpful comments for every one of them.

I post to share and learn. It's a good bargain.

Bad attitudes piss me off. I can handle repeats or newbie questions all day long, but bad attitudes really suck. I don't mind doing what I can to help keep things civil, too.

If people were simply sincere, helpful, and nice, everything would be fine.

Doug
"simply sincere, helpful, and nice, everything would be fine"rideslikeagirl
Jun 4, 2002 1:09 PM
Kinda like life in general, huh? :)
yeah but you gotta admitlonefrontranger
Jun 4, 2002 1:24 PM
every so often it is kinda fun to feed the trolls!

;-)
Yeah, but only the grade A trolls, not the 4th division one's nmLen J
Jun 4, 2002 1:29 PM
I agree with both of you, should we start scoring the trolls?MB1
Jun 4, 2002 1:33 PM
A scale of 0.1-10.0, high and low thrown out and average the rest?
gee, imagine the creative arguments troll scoring wouldlonefrontranger
Jun 4, 2002 2:07 PM
precipitate. Tonya Harding vs. what's-her-name? (the victimized princess) would have nothing on us!
Oh, when can we start??? nmMB1
Jun 4, 2002 2:12 PM
I'll give RRP an 8.5 nmDougSloan
Jun 4, 2002 2:15 PM
Problem is that a good Troll's true skill.......Len J
Jun 4, 2002 2:12 PM
doesn't manifest itself for a long time. So you can only grade them after the fact.

Len
sureDougSloan
Jun 4, 2002 1:45 PM
I think we need to distiguish between "trolls" and "flamers," though. Trolls can be entertaining. Flamers are pests.

Doug
Lots of action in a hurry=don't open for me.MB1
Jun 4, 2002 1:28 PM
I look for the name of the poster, if they have been doing good things I'll keep opening them. It has gotten to the point I only open about 10% of the threads here.

I'll open any haiku anytime.
Humma anytime.
Brek always.
Spinchick cracks me up.
If Doug posts I'll open, he replies to a lot of things I won't open.
Ride reports always get my attention.
Shaved leg posts-please, no.
"Me" posts, I'll only open posts like that once, then never again from that poster.
Giro & TDF arguments get old in a hurry for me but seem popular.

I miss Trollman....
Watch It....I miss "X" is the magic spell that resurects trollsScot_Gore
Jun 4, 2002 4:18 PM