RoadBikeReview.com's Forum Archives - General


Archive Home >> General(1 2 3 4 5 6 7 8 9 10 11 12 13 14 15 16 17 18 19 20 21 22 23 24 25 26 27 28 29 30 31 32 33 34 35 36 )


Cinelli Starlight or Compact frame owners.(9 posts)

Cinelli Starlight or Compact frame owners.Pygme
Jun 4, 2002 5:03 AM
I have a Cinelli Starlight campact frame (48-50 cm size).

BTW it is killing me! Has been on my bedroom floor for two weeks with the Record group next to it because I am waiting on stem and seatpost!!!!

Ok, although I have not put it together yet, I think I see a problem with the water bottle cage and the front derailluer.

The distance from the top of the BB to the lower water bottle boss is only 11 mm. Has anyone with a compact frame had problems installing a water bottle cage (on the seat tube) because the front derailluer clamp is in the way?

Thanks!
re: Cinelli Starlight or Compact frame owners.Donna T
Jun 4, 2002 5:47 AM
I ride a compact frame and they included some spacers for the cage to clear the fd.
small compact frames and bottle cagesweiwentg
Jun 4, 2002 7:09 AM
I have a small TCR, and there seems to be no way to mount 2 bottle cages. mine is on the down tube right now. anyone managed to do it?
as donna said, the frame is supposed to come w/ spacersstr8dum1
Jun 4, 2002 8:07 AM
nm
re: Cinelli Starlight or Compact frame owners.Beaver
Jun 4, 2002 8:27 AM
As everyone has mentioned, you need spacers. But I did find a water bottle cage that didn't require spacers for my Medium TCR. Tacx Tao. I think http://www.cbike.com has some in stock.
re: Cinelli Starlight or Compact frame owners.abicirider
Jun 4, 2002 10:15 AM
Had the same kind of expericnce what I did was go to a home improvement center Lowes Home Depot in hardware you can by small plastic spacers that fit between the cage and the water bottle bosses this gives you room for the front derailleur clamp worked like a charm for me. you will like the starlight (starship) tubing I ride a frame with the starship tubing very nice good luck if you have any questions you can email me at Surly48x16@mindspring.com
Ray Still
North Carolina
re: Cinelli Starlight or Compact frame owners.curlybike
Jun 4, 2002 11:27 AM
Use the little knurled nuts that come on tubes as spacers, that is the best use for them.
re: Cinelli Starlight or Compact frame owners.wysiwyg
Jun 4, 2002 11:36 AM
You might try using Elite Patao bottle holders. They are smaller in diameter than a normal cage. They will help in a tight area.
re: Cinelli Starlight or Compact frame owners.Pygme
Jun 4, 2002 7:11 PM
I like the plastic washer idea the best. I dont want a scratch to turn into a bare seatpost.

Thanks to all for all of your replies.