RoadBikeReview.com's Forum Archives - General


Archive Home >> General(1 2 3 4 5 6 7 8 9 10 11 12 13 14 15 16 17 18 19 20 21 22 23 24 25 26 27 28 29 30 31 32 33 34 35 36 )


Any heavier riders with Colnago Tecnos?(16 posts)

Any heavier riders with Colnago Tecnos?hrs
Jun 4, 2002 4:35 AM
I had been interested in the MXL. When I was doing test rides there weren't any built up so I rode a Tecnos. It was great in pretty much every way. I was under the impression that the Tecnos was for lighter riders (I'm 185#)so I had been planning on the MXL, but I've read that the Tecnos from 2000 on is considered good for any weight rider.

So, anyoneout there around my weight or more with a Tecnos have any experience to confirm or refute that info?

Thanks,
Rodney
re: Any heavier riders with Colnago Tecnos?MXL02
Jun 4, 2002 4:46 AM
I ride a Master X and my weight is at 200-210, depending on how much I get to ride. the only guy I know with a Tecnos is tiny, about 140. I could never get any good info from bike shops. I would call customer service at trialtir, the US importer. go to trialtir-usa.com. They are usually very helpful.
PS the MXL is a fantastic ride.
Picking nitsNessism
Jun 4, 2002 5:45 AM
My understanding is that the Technos and Masterlight are very similar.

MXL- top/down/seat tubes drawn into a diamond "Master" profile
Technos- top/down tubes drawn with ribs added "Biconic" profile

The rear triangle lools to be the same.

The difference between these two tube shaping profiles is very slight and it's unlikely that you would notice any difference in stiffness. Very nice frames either way.

Ed
not sure about the rear triangleslow-ron
Jun 4, 2002 10:54 AM
I'm not sure but I think the rear chain stays on the MXL are different shapes. The MXL uses the fork blade shape and the Technos may use a different profile.

Regardless this may not impact stiffness at the b.b. all that much.
Hard to sayNessism
Jun 4, 2002 11:50 AM
You can check out some photos at Trialtir of both frames. It's hard to say for sure but the rear triangles sure look similar. Frankly, both FRAMES look very similar to me.

http://www.trialtir-usa.com/2002-colnago/masterxlight/mxl-ad14-bike.html

http://www.trialtir-usa.com/2002-colnago/tecnos/tecnos-ad14.html
The links to the frame geometries give the samehrs
Jun 4, 2002 12:43 PM
info, at least in my size 55 cm, so I guess the geometries are the same.
get the MXLColnagoFE
Jun 4, 2002 7:28 AM
You are the ideal weight for it. The technos will not be as stiff and I don't think you'll like it as well.
get the MXLDINOSAUR
Jun 4, 2002 7:37 AM
Ditto on the MXL. Not sure, but I believe the MXL is lighter. The Technos is designed for lighter riders -165lbs. The MXL is an incredible ride...
MXL is a tad heavier than the TechnosColnagoFE
Jun 4, 2002 10:16 AM
but not much. Definately not enough to notice. I have mine below 20lbs using light wheels, a SLR saddle and a pretty typical Record/Chorus mix. Nothing too unusual. The only other bike I'm lusting after at this point is a C-40, but for the $ I don't think there are many stock bikes that will do the job for heavier/stronger/taller riders as well as the MXL. Another option (if still made) would be some of the beefier Merckx steel frames. Probably a bit different geometry than Colnago though so make sure you know what fits you best.
Thanks all, guess it'll be the MXLhrs
Jun 4, 2002 10:49 AM
Weight isn't a major issue...on a long ride I'll probably lose more weight in sweat than the difference between the two frames. Of course there's still a small shred of sanity that keeps saying my Bianchi is fine (just swapped my Conti tires for Vittorias that are smoother, faster, and more comfortable) and using the downtube shifters forces me to improve my balance, etc. In the end though, it's just a matter of time before I order the MXL.
OK, so here's a question...Nessism
Jun 4, 2002 11:26 AM
In your first post you stated that you rode a Technos and liked it in every way. Correct? So why not just get one? I'm not trying to jab at you just wondering why you would choose a frame you never rode over one you liked?

Also wanted to remind you of one very important thing to consider, the fork. Make sure you get the fork you rode before. In my experience, the ride quality of different forks is significant. Don't guess here or you may be sorry.

Good luck.

Ed
OK, so here's a question...hrs
Jun 4, 2002 12:17 PM
I was originally interested in the MXL because as I understood it and was told by the LBS the Tecnos was for riders under 160#.

They didn't have any MXL's built up when I went in for my test ride (also road a Bianchi and an OCLV), but said that the Tecnos was the same geometry (Colnago indicates they are now using the same rear triangle) and that the ride characteristics would be pretty much the same as the MXL, except not quite as stiff. Then I read that the Tecnos after 2000 was no longer recomended only for lighter riders and figured since that was the bike I rode maybe I should go for that, but I want it to last, so I asked for some opinions. I'll also consult with my LBS (I have to order either frame so they shouldn't have any reason to push me in the wrong direction). But, going with the somewhat beefier frame makes sense since I want this frame to last. The fork will be the same though.

Thanks for the input,
Rodney
For what it's worth...DINOSAUR
Jun 4, 2002 3:12 PM
I researched frames for over a year. I wavered back and forth between a lot of bikes. I read a lot of reviews and started to take notice of the MXL. It sounded like the type of ride I was looking for. I did not have an option of a test ride. I talked to the owner of my LBS (Cambria Cycling Emporium-Auburn) and he was convinced that I would love the Master X-Light. He gave me a money back guarantee. I loved this bike since the first time I turned the crank. The steel has almost a magical feel about it. I went with the Flash carbon fork. I had it built up with Campy Chorus/Record mix (Record ergo brake levers and rear der).
My bike weighs 19.74 pounds, my second bike is a Klein. I can't feel the difference in weight. The Colnago is more stable when descending and is better for long rides (for me). I've never heard anyone bad mouth the ride of a MXL, you won't be disappointed. I'm even thinking about buying a second one somewhere down the road. Just make sure you can handle the geomety. I have long legs and a short torso and the MXL was a perfect fit on a 59cm. I weigh 210 and feel no flex at all when I am hammering or climbing. It's one sweet ride...
One last comment...Nessism
Jun 4, 2002 7:23 PM
Colnago makes great frames. They have an excellent reputation for making products that are durable and race worthy. I've heard the worry about the Technos being for "lighter riders" before but frankly I think this is a gross exaggeration. There is no mention of a weight limit on any of Colnago's products, no less one of their lugged steel frames. The Technos uses the same overall tube sizes as the Masterlight, which is the primary determining factor relative to stiffness- along with tube thickness. And don't forget, lugged steel frames constitute Colnago's bread and butter over the last 30 or so years and to my knowledge, they have never built anything questionable.

I think this pseudo weight limit came into being as a way for dealers to differentiate between these two models. The Masterlight frame has a more aggressive tube shaping profile therefore it makes the ride slightly firmer. But is firmness in the ride a good thing? Maybe yes for a racer, but not for most recreational riders. For most of us that are past our prime racing years and don't have the time to train anyway, a compliant ride is more important than ultimate bottom bracket stiffness.

Lastly, not to discredit the important experience of a nice guy like Ed (Dinosaur), he rides a significantly larger frame than you and he also weighs a fair bit more. A 55 cm frame is quite small actually and by shortening up the tube lengths, it makes them quite a bit stiffer. So frankly, a 60 cm MXL is likely to be more flexible than a 55 cm Technos.

Sorry for the rant. I'll shut up now.

Ed
Good point...DINOSAUR
Jun 4, 2002 8:46 PM
I really don't know that much about the Technos frame. Good valid point about the weight factor. The owner of my LBS is a big guy (larger than myself) and he rides a Mondonico Foco, custom built by Mondonico himself. They attempted to sway him away from FOCO saying that he was too heavy for the tubing. But he said build it anyway, and he has had no problems. Only thing I noticed is that he switched from a steel fork to Carbon. Funny also, as much as I love the MXL, if I had my old Klein built up (if it fit) with the same grouppo and wheelset as the Nago, I'd probably be just as happy. But had to convince the wife I needed a new bike. Two completely different type of rides, but I like both of them...like I said before it's nice to have two completely different bikes to choose from....I just had to put a plug in for my MXL...
Product differentiationslow-ron
Jun 5, 2002 4:19 AM
Sounds to me like no one can really tell that there would be any appreciable difference between the two bikes. I think some builders change frame designs a little bit here and a little bit there to make it seem as if there's a different product. (I think Litespeed is good at this.)Other than the slight profile change of the tubes and the paint schemes the bikes are built in the same manner with the same geometry.

Get the one that fits with the fork you've already tested and I think you'll be happy.