RoadBikeReview.com's Forum Archives - General


Archive Home >> General(1 2 3 4 5 6 7 8 9 10 11 12 13 14 15 16 17 18 19 20 21 22 23 24 25 26 27 28 29 30 31 32 33 34 35 36 )


Am I a sprinter or am I wasting my time?(48 posts)

Am I a sprinter or am I wasting my time?PODIUMBOUNDdotCA
Jun 3, 2002 9:49 AM
So anyway... as I love creating a good debate TJean... (sorry to lazy to look at the proper spelling) inadvertantly called me a "sprinter". I take offence to this even though it was probably unintentional. And please noone take offence if they think I feel I'm above them.

So to my proof:
1) I cracked the 12 second 200 m barrier in a year and a bit of training after being on crutches for 3 months. And as much as I respect my teammates... they took far longer.
2) First day on the bike after getting off crutches doing a start I pushed with my good leg that had been supporting me while I was on crutches and sheered the crank in half length wise.
3) I have no endurance whatsoever naturally... I used to blow up in the 200 m time trial.
4) My peak speed in the 200 m time trial was almost identical to my sprint speed so I sucked at time trialing but I made up for it in the sprints.
5) I have one of the fastest starts even if I have little technique behind it.
6) I have done what other people do with all their muscles with just MY quads. Which made me a scary rider to be behind at speed since I was so sketchy but still... I use half the muscles in my legs when other people use them all.

I hope this is proof and I'm interest to hear others opinions. And just like Ullrich has so much talent... you can't waste talent. You can only use it since talent can't be found without determination.

Cheers,
Nick
PodiumBound.ca
Does this Canadian dude ever stop talking???(nm)bob_vanderhaus
Jun 3, 2002 10:03 AM
no(nm)gregario
Jun 3, 2002 10:06 AM
You're not that good, get over it.TJeanloz
Jun 3, 2002 10:12 AM
Nick, I have a lot of respect for a lot of riders. The riders I have the most respect for never tell other people how fast they are; everybody already knows. I think this is a good tact for you to take. Frankly, I don't care how fast you are, but I'm willing to cut you some slack for young and arrogant, because I was both of those pretty recently.

1) 200 meters is a sprint.
2) Shearing a crank proves nothing but that the crank had a defect. Nobody is strong enough to shear a Dura-Ace or other top quality crank (without long term stress).
3) You have no endurance naturally. Nobody has 'natural' endurance. Being able to go 200m doesn't prove your endurance.
4) See 1- 200 meters IS a sprint. Tell me what your 40k TT time is and that would be an interesting statistic.
5) Isn't a fast start effectively a sprint?
6) How do you know what muscles other people are using? And how do you avoid using your calves? Don't your "power cranks" force you to use your calves?

You shouldn't feel like you have to justify yourself with how fast you are. Because there is always somebody faster. It took me quite a while to learn that one, but I'm perfectly o.k. with not being fast anymore. Your opinions are equally valid if you're a world champion or not- in the scope of things, nobody really cares how fast you are on a bike.
with all due respect, my friend Nick, you may be a great rider,bill
Jun 3, 2002 10:26 AM
you may be a great guy to ride with, or watch, or whatever, but
these self-promoting posts are a little hard to take.
big deal...merckx56
Jun 3, 2002 10:36 AM
I went sub thirteen the first time i ever set foot (wheels?) on a banked 333 track. and i don't like track racing! the previous post is right. break 53 or 54 in a 40km tt or win a field sprint after a 100+ mile road race and then talk shit. not before! sprinting on the road is about 50 percent strength and 50 percent mental. look at nothstein. he kills everyone on the track but can't get to the end in a pro road race. coming to the sprint in the last 5 km of the race, the field will be above 55km/h and around 60 km/h in the last km. if you can't stick there, you shouldn't be racing pro 1,2!
geezgregario
Jun 3, 2002 10:37 AM
Get over yourself. Fine, you're a good bike rider, but enough of these self promoting posts. I was tired of them weeks ago but held my tongue. Find a job where you will get a constant ego stroke and you'll be happy. Sound like you need everyone to say "WOW Nick you're awesome!" all the time to be satisified with yourself.
a suggestion...AllisonHayes
Jun 3, 2002 10:52 AM
Have Gregg set up a couple of new forums:

1. Shameless self-promotion forum. The WWF could offer insights into best one-liners
2. Nick's forum for awesome feats. And it could be linked directly to his website as well.

(Nick, don't mean to be cruel but you set yourself up for this one.)
Allison Hayes on the Attack!!!bob_vanderhaus
Jun 3, 2002 11:01 AM
What is this board coming too?
I should add that the WWF is now officially the WWE, cause the World wildlife fund(panda stickers on every car at REI) sued old Vince and took his name away!
You surprise me Allisongregario
Jun 3, 2002 11:02 AM
I thought you were going to defend him...I guess he went just a little too far.

and don't forget the AWESOME crash footage that no one could decipher.
just keeping you guys on your toes.AllisonHayes
Jun 3, 2002 11:10 AM
I don't want to become too predictable now do I? :)
weeks ago...husker
Jun 3, 2002 4:23 PM
This same thing was brought up weeks ago and a few people were sick of him, and many, Allison included defended him. Those who were against him were attacked for not being sympathetic. I was sick of him then and still am. Jesus Allison, stop flip flopping and stick to a decision. So what is it? Tired of him yet?
flip flopping?AllisonHayes
Jun 3, 2002 4:54 PM
First, let me remind you that is my prerogative. :)

Secondly, no, I am not tired of Nick but it is time that he realize that he is trying everyone's patience, including your's truly.

I will "defend" him or you or anyone if the "attack" is unwarranted. In the prior post you mentioned, I felt it would help if people new something of his background. I still feel that Nick has promise, but he doesn't need to flaunt his abilities on this board, particularly since there are others who may be as talented. I hope he does spectacularly well and we all have a chance to read about his successes.

This time, however, Nick kind of stepped into the dodo all by himself and he is going to have to extricate himself as well. Nick has a lot of potential; unfortunately, that is a French word that means, "doesn't amount to anything." Nick needs to prove himself with his deeds and not his words. I hope to be the first in line to congratulate him on his successes, just as I would be for anyone that I have come to know. Records stand; opinions don't.

Third, I am not "attacking" him. I am, however, giving him a hard time. See my post below, "one more thing."

Finally, stop calling me Jesus.
thats funnyishmael
Jun 3, 2002 2:06 PM
being nice isnt as funny
YOU ARE THE MAN!mr_spin
Jun 3, 2002 11:06 AM
It's nice to know that you can seriously kick my ass on a 200m ride. Normally, I'd feel outclassed by such incredible talent, but most of my rides go more than 200m.

I think your vision has been clouded by a steady diet of coaching affirmations and podium dreams. Maybe your judgement, too. Ullrich actually has results to go along with his talent, and his results also came in races longer than 200m.
Everybody wake on on the wrong side of the bed today?Len J
Jun 3, 2002 11:15 AM
You guys & Gals are cold!

What's with the attacks? If you don't agree with what Nick's saying or how he's saying it, just ignore him but don't attack him.

So he's proud of himself, he's been thru a pretty tough time & he's still a kid. Give him a break. Semms like some of you were trying to give advice, but as someone just reading, It sure felt harsh to me

Just my oponion, I'll shut-up now.

Len
My bed seems to have no right side lately...TJeanloz
Jun 3, 2002 11:28 AM
I don't see the above really as attacks. Attacks would be if we had no basis to go on (like: "you're momma's so fat" even though we've never seen his mother). But where we do have information, I think we're providing fair, if unflattering, analysis. We'd do the same thing if somebody said: "My Rolf wheels are the best wheels ever built", or "Spokes bike shop is the best bike shop in the world"- we have information to the contrary, and we'd point it out.
TJ's just crabby becauselonefrontranger
Jun 3, 2002 11:45 AM
a) he doesn't live in Boulder anymore.
b) he doesn't have the luxury of listening to Terry's endless rants about squirrelly riders / the "Greenie-Meanies" attacking on the Monday night ride / how bad his knees are this week, etc.... ;-)
c) 2 of his bikes live in a garage 2000 miles away.
d) his ride time is seriously hampered by having a real job.

JUST KIDDING, geez don't kill me!
Let's think about that one,TJeanloz
Jun 3, 2002 11:50 AM
a) Yes, crabby about not living in Boulder.

b) Yes, crabby about not listening to Terry's endless rants

c) Yes, crabby about not being able to ride the Merlin, and being stuck with this Litespeed POS.

d) Yes, crabby about my real job.

It seems you've summed things up pretty well.
And it only gets worsepmf1
Jun 3, 2002 12:16 PM
What are you, 24 years old?

Wait until you own a money pit that you're always tinkering with and the job gets more demanding.

Or worse, wait till your wife decides its time to have a kid. I'm really looking forward to that boosting my riding time.

The only positive thing about growing up is you seem to have more money. Unfortunately, there's more you have to spend it on.
And it only gets worseTJeanloz
Jun 3, 2002 12:31 PM
Sadly, I'm only 23. But my job can't get any more demanding. I'm buying a money pit ASAP.

Thankfully, kids are not even a blip on the radar screen at this point.

Yes, I make more money than I did at the bike shop. But actually, when you work 120 hours a week, you really don't have time to spend the money you make.
Look at the bright side of your last statementKurt H
Jun 3, 2002 1:40 PM
I found that when I was working all the time (prior to getting married last month - this whole statement no longer applies), I had no time to spend what I was making.....but when I did have a moment to spend what I was making, I could buy something REALLY nice. Just trying to help you keep things in perspective and on the sunny side of the street :-)
Oh its sunny,TJeanloz
Jun 3, 2002 1:52 PM
I bought a new car yesterday. Actually, I bought a spot on a waiting list for a new car.

I can't complain but sometimes I still do.
yeah sorta agree hereColnagoFE
Jun 3, 2002 12:55 PM
I had a photography teacher who used to day, "it ain't bragging if you can back it up" and what everyone is saying is that he can't back it up.
You want summa this too?!!! ;o) nmAllen az
Jun 3, 2002 11:51 AM
And one more thing...AllisonHayes
Jun 3, 2002 11:28 AM
You will continually be besmirched until you win the TDF at least 6 times -- and even then people will criticize you to no end because you were just a tad arrogant.

So, just give up the self-aggrandizing and go out and prove yourself. That way we can all entertain ourselves through endless debates over why you can never be compared to the greatest riders ever, even if you break every record ever recorded in the annals of cycling.

I can hear it now, "Nick had an advantage because his brain split in two giving him special powers, therefore his records all need to have an asterisk beside them."

Alas, the true Nick will forever be misunderstood.

(That's OK Nick, we still think 'yer grand. Just messin' wit' 'ya as Ahisma would say.)
Board Alert !!DaveL
Jun 3, 2002 12:16 PM
This should be posted on the Narcissists' Board.
How about we don't feed the trolls, folks. (nm)czardonic
Jun 3, 2002 12:25 PM
It says a lot about a member when every thread is about "I"jtolleson
Jun 3, 2002 12:49 PM
glad I wasnt the only one noticing that (nm)collinsc
Jun 3, 2002 2:32 PM
*******MY ONLY COMMENT TO THIS THREAD.*******PODIUMBOUNDdotCA
Jun 3, 2002 4:50 PM
Sorry felt the need to make this post stand out.

So where is the rule that says your not allowed to tie your own experiences into your posts? Or ask a legitimate question like am I really a sprinter? Hench I say *I* and in *MY opinion*. My opinion isn't any better than any one elses. Period.

However, I have a lot of experience and being a National Team athlete I don't have more than other peoples but I have a lot different view of things. Notice how *I* always write everything off as my opinion? Your free to disagree, flame me, whatever you want. I really don't care.

And for the record how you people can make a judgement on whether I'm a sprinter or a wanna-be-sprinter is beyond me. Just like you shoot down someone who's nickname is 2010_Tour_de_France winner. Why? Because probably some (not all) have realized you'll never do it so you shatter someone elses dreams. And part of being a cyclist is knowing your better than other cyclists but that gives you no right to treat others like they are lower on the ladder than you. Exact same reason people call other riders posers? Why can't a non-pro who rides to the corner store and back buy a pro replica bike if that makes them happy? Give me a break!!!

By the way I have never done a 40 km TT but I have done a 3 km pursuit. My personal best was 4:00 flat without much training for it last year.

Thank you to everyone who was willing to start an arguement over this. I know I set myself up but it was a legitimate question I had.

Cheers,
Nick Corcoran
PodiumBound.ca
Go out there and prove yourself with your deedsAllisonHayes
Jun 3, 2002 5:30 PM
and let us read about it. I would love to read about you being a TDF stage winner and someday even more.

Good Luck,

Allison
Hmmm... why does everyone miss my point?PODIUMBOUNDdotCA
Jun 3, 2002 7:43 PM
As great as winning a TDF stage is... you've never seen me ride. Nor has anyone else on this board so I'm amazed how many people can say I'm not a true sprinter or even you Allison who I respect so much and know more about my achievements than anyone on this board. Plain and simple I know I'm a track sprinter. Its what I'm built for and its what I love to do.

Cheers,
Nick Corcoran
PodiumBound.ca
Actually,TJeanloz
Jun 4, 2002 4:01 AM
Through your infinite self promotion of your website, we've all seen you ride, or rather, crash.

It's interesting, because I like to think that my original comments started this thread, and my intent in putting "sprinter" in quotation marks was not to imply that you are not a great sprinter, but rather to imply that I believe it's foolish for riders to put themselves in a box like that. I believe (and have seen many cases of this), young riders too often put themselves in a box, and set themselves up to fail. I've known 'climbers' who were strong enough to win a time trial, but never won, because they mentally knew they were 'climbers' and not 'TT specialists'. And similarly, I'm disapointed in you, that at 19, you say you're a "sprinter" so you can't climb. I think it's just an excuse that people (including myself) have used.

So, I have every confidence that you are a great sprinter, but great sprinters are born of great cyclists, and to go anywhere in the sport, you need to be a complete athlete.
Nicely stated!AllisonHayes
Jun 4, 2002 5:59 AM
Nick, I think everyone wants you to succeed and to fulfill your dreams. What people are trying to tell you is to simply stop telling people how great you are each time you post.

You have some lofty goals; but you still have to prove yourself. Are you heads and shoulders above me or above most people? By all means, I would presume so.

We get the point: just stop beating everyone over the head with it. Channel your passion into what people want to hear. For example, what I would like to hear from you are things like:

1. what kind of training are you doing?
2. when will you be able to compete again?
3. what are the doctor's saying about your injury?
4. how are you helping others?
5. what are the obstacles you are facing and what are you doing to overcome them?
6. what kind of advice would you like or do you need?--such as what TJ stated above.

b Give us the facts; tell us how you feel; share your passion; be careful about coming across as arrogant or self-promoting.

i Hey, this is a rough RBR bunch--they take no prisoners and hold no quarters. So, if you step in dodo, they will tell you in no uncertain terms.

(Ahem, now she pauses and takes a deep breath, "We will see what the next chapter brings.")
Thanks... those were great commentsPODIUMBOUNDdotCA
Jun 4, 2002 6:51 AM
I have inifite respect for what you said in the previous post.

Me riding in that video was not normal me riding... not to make excuses for myself but I was sick, injured my knee a couple days prior, and was just having a plain bad week.

You can take complete credit for starting this thread. And although it was completely unintentional it got me to ask the question. Especially after someone questioned why my slowest time of the YEAR... a 12.025 was the time he read at Junior Worlds. I had been sprinting at that speed in races if not an 11.9. I just simply screwed up in my wind-up. But enough with excuses.

As per your comments about young riders trapping themselves in boxes. I completely agree. Most young riders do. I know countless riders who have considered themselves sprinters and either gave up because they were not the best or their body could not handle it. Sprinting is about leg speed, strength and power. Without all 3 of these you are not a true sprinter. I know someone who I have infinite respect for that considered himself a sprinter for the first couple years after he turned 18 doing 11.4's consistently. But not because he was a sprinter but because he has amazing leg speed. He can spin 205 RPM on rollers... with one leg. Impressive. He has now moved on to endurance track events.

And I agree with your statement "great sprinters are born of great cyclists."

I'm going to continue this debate in a new thread.

Cheers,
Nick
PodiumBound.ca
It was a trap I fell hard into,TJeanloz
Jun 4, 2002 7:11 AM
When I was your age (which wasn't THAT long ago), all of the races in my area were criteriums. So, naturally, every race I ever won was a criterium. So, it followed, that I was a criterium specialist. I then went out to Colorado with this attitude that I was a criterium specialist- not really a climber per se- but more of a sprinter. And it took about a year for me to be convinced of what was painfully obvious to everybody else (I was 6'0" and 130lbs, and beating everybody up the climbs). I never considered, and still don't, myself a climber. But it was a mental block I had that was preventing me from doing well in road races with long climbs. And it was strictly mental and organizational- I'd look at the race months before and say: "that has a big climb, so I really don't stand a chance, I'll focus on another race". It turns out that some of my best races had big climbs. So, despite the rambling, I think this 'boxing' is a trap that too many riders fall into and should be avoided by any 'new' riders (and by new, I mean racing competitively for less than 10 years).
Thanks for the story (nm)PODIUMBOUNDdotCA
Jun 4, 2002 10:37 AM
"This is how it's done....."BIGBOB
Jun 4, 2002 7:15 AM
....with humility and class. http://www.tylerhamilton.com/home1.html
Humility and class still means using "I"... (nm)PODIUMBOUNDdotCA
Jun 4, 2002 10:38 AM
You are missing the point...jtolleson
Jun 3, 2002 5:47 PM
but nevermind. This debate isn't worth the trouble. Others say it better than I do, anyway.
is this really a joke?gregario
Jun 4, 2002 3:45 AM
When i read your first post I had to wonder if it was a joke or flame bait, but knowing what you've posted before I figured it was neither, just more self promotion. Please take it somewhere else. You still don't get it.
I don't think you get itPODIUMBOUNDdotCA
Jun 4, 2002 10:29 AM
I never had the intention of trying to promote myself. I asked a question. Plain and simple.

Cheers,
Nick Corcoran
PodiumBound.ca
nick who??? never heard about him.. probably never will-nmzooog
Jun 3, 2002 3:23 PM
nick who??? never heard about him.. probably never will-nmPygme
Jun 3, 2002 3:42 PM
I I I I I I I I I I I I I I I I I I I I I I I I I I I I I I I I I I I I I I I I I I I I I I I I I I I I I I I I I I I I I I I I I I I I I I I I I I I I I I I I I I I I I I I I I I I I I I I I I I I I I I I I I I I I I I I I I I I I I I I I I I I I I I I I I I I I I I I I I I I I I I I I I

There, I think that takes care of all the "I"s for you next post. So you can leave them out next time.

Get over yourself, Dud..Dude.
could this be an elaborate RadicalRonPruitt troll?? (nm)EpicX
Jun 3, 2002 6:43 PM
Chill .... people!jarraa
Jun 4, 2002 3:19 AM
Relax. This is a human being we are talking about. You guys act as if he is something less (maybe a cyclist? ... after hearing you all I am not too sure anymore!). So what if Nick talks more about himself than anybody else on this board. Does he rub it in your face. No ... this is a public message board. So stop flaming people/groups. Look at yourself before you criticize others. Let him speak .... and if it offends you ..maybe there is a problem with you (as long as the offense is not targeted to you personally). We seem to rant alot (I do to). I remember my mother used to say "Empty vessels make the most noise". I am probably half the age of some of you and thus very naive, but I do know that what is going on in this thread is not right. Stand back and look at yourself before you judge others.
take care. My worthless 2 cents.

-assad
"Empty vessels make the most noise"rideslikeagirl
Jun 4, 2002 7:35 AM
Thanks for putting it into words for me.

Seems to me that this board is basically narcissistic by nature. And that's not necessarily a bad thing - just the way it is.

We're all here to gain knowledge to apply to our personal situations and better our biking.

"I" want to climb better

"My" feet hurt

I don't see the problem with it.