RoadBikeReview.com's Forum Archives - General


Archive Home >> General(1 2 3 4 5 6 7 8 9 10 11 12 13 14 15 16 17 18 19 20 21 22 23 24 25 26 27 28 29 30 31 32 33 34 35 36 )


Scattante Framesets - Zonal???(14 posts)

Scattante Framesets - Zonal???JOM
Jun 2, 2002 2:30 PM
Hi Roadies,
Has anyone any experience with the Scattante Framesets? Are they worth buying? I ride a 5500 right now and would like to have a decent backup bike. I hear the come from Taiwan (Strike 1) and have only a two year warranty (Strike 2). Any suggestions for Strike 3?
JOM
re: Scattante Framesets - Zonal???wysiwyg
Jun 2, 2002 2:42 PM
I use a Zonal as a backup bike. I think it is a good choice for that application. It has a good lively yet comfortable ride. It is a great frame for the price.
re: Scattante Framesets - Zonal???weiwentg
Jun 2, 2002 2:55 PM
Strike 1 is invalid. my TCR comes from Taiwan. a lot of parts from my computer came from Taiwan.
Strike 3 is Supergo - their warranty process is slow. just don't crash.
re: Scattante Framesets - Zonal???Carbon fiber fanatik
Jun 2, 2002 3:18 PM
show me a frameset for the same money made in this country.. you cant do it. Made in Taiwan? So what... so were your forks...prob seat post, stem, etc.... Even the big boys use manufacturers in taiwan. Cervelo isnt even all cervelo. I own a scattante zonal frameset because A. I like underdogs, B. It's a great frame and well worth the money irregardless of producing country. Oh yeah...take a look at ritchey seatpost (stock specialized) stamped on the bottom? "Kalloy".... oh, my scat? is full dura-ace, ritchey wcs and hed 3's...so money wasnt the objective... I'm going riding.
Irregardless is not a word!JOM
Jun 2, 2002 5:13 PM
Hey Bub,
You talk English real good! Irregardless is not a word! However, idiot is. But you knew that...
JOM
Throwing stones in glass housesWalter
Jun 2, 2002 5:23 PM
You talk English real good! Irregardless is not a word!

"You speak (or write) English very well" is proper grammar if you're going to be picky.

Why get personal? You asked for an opinion, he gave you an opinion. The use of the word "idiot" reflects more on you than him (or her as the case may be), I'm afraid.
Throwing stones in glass housesCarbon fiber fanatik
Jun 2, 2002 5:35 PM
irregardless
adv : in spite of everything; without regard to drawbacks; "he
carried on regardless of the difficulties" [syn: {regardless},
{irrespective}, {disregardless}, {no matter}, {disregarding}]

Ah, tis the simple mind that lashes at which they do not understand.. hence? Irregardless is a word, and now I know what an idiot it too..
Throwing stones in glass housesJohnG
Jun 2, 2002 6:06 PM
Doesn't the Oxford dictionary state that 'irregradless' is "nonstandard" North American English?

FWIW: There are a bunch of sites on the web referring to the long history of the word. The web sites that I found also described the word as "nonstandard" NA English. Many sites also described the word as a double negative. IMHO, "irregardless" does sound and look (in print) very wrong.

Interesting trivia to be sure ..... but not enough to deserve attack.

JohnG
Throwing stones in glass housesCarbon fiber fanatik
Jun 2, 2002 6:19 PM
no kidding. I imagine I should consider a lengthy course study in the english language before I offer another opinion, for fear of being chastised over the use of a "non-standard", yet as far as grammer goes, "proper" use of a word. "Ain't" that a good idea?
Irregardless is not a word!wysiwyg
Jun 3, 2002 3:51 AM
Wow, we have an English teacher on this board. Can we get any luckier?
Taiwan is not a disadvantageliu02bhs
Jun 2, 2002 5:20 PM
The only reason Asian made bicycle products are cheap is because the labor is cheaper over there. They have a comparative advantage in the labor sector. The reason people think Asian products are bad is because they bought into all the American/European advertisements. I mean seriously, the tubes are made by Columbus, all Scanttante did was weld it together, how bad can the bike be? A lot of the bikes marketed by American/European companies are Asian made with the company's sticker on it.
re: Scattante Framesets - Zonal???McAndrus
Jun 3, 2002 5:05 AM
I beg to differ that Taiwanese manufacture is a strike against any product. Take a look at this website if you want an idea of the scope of cycling products made in Taiwan. http://www.biketaiwan.com

I own a Taiwanese made Giant CFR and have nothing but good things to say about it. Weiwentg often comments how pleased he is with his Taiwanese made Giant TCR and if I had the extra cash I'd buy one without qualms.

My guess is that the quality of Scattante frames is just fine and if I needed another frame, I'd take a look at them.
if you want mine...weiwentg
Jun 3, 2002 6:20 AM
I'm eyeing the TCR carbon :p
just kidding. there's no way I can afford that right now.
Again, I offer my opinionUncle Tim
Jun 3, 2002 6:48 AM
We recently added a short thread about the quality of Scattante framesets. I only reoffer my opinion because the same people offer the same old opinions time and time again about these bikes.

I know that the last thing many want to read is a negative comment about this brand of bike (if it really is a brand). Sometimes people just have to confront reality.

I have had the opportunity to closely inspect a steel frame Scattante. Again, I offer the view that the welds were so ugly that, even if they're good strong welds, the right thing to do would be to grind them down for aestetic purposes. Some commented that it is important to "see the bead" in order to evaluate weld quality. I agree completely.

My judgement of these weld beads tells me, as a person whose profession demands a great deal of knowledge about metal - including MIG and TIG welding - is that these welds are inferior. The ones I saw are so bad that they should have been ground down.

Again, the paint looked pretty good and the rider was pleased with the bike overall, but he had fit and squeak issues that he was having to resolve all by himself. I would not have had the same level of satisfaction if I had these kinds of issues.

These bikes are cheap and we all know that you get what you pay for. If you buy one via Supergo.com then you are practically on your won, as you have no relationship with an LBS if you have "squeak, rattle, and fit" issues.

Outside of the price issue, is there anything good about this?