RoadBikeReview.com's Forum Archives - General


Archive Home >> General(1 2 3 4 5 6 7 8 9 10 11 12 13 14 15 16 17 18 19 20 21 22 23 24 25 26 27 28 29 30 31 32 33 34 35 36 )


Cannondale CAAD5 - voided warranty(12 posts)

Cannondale CAAD5 - voided warrantyhrosvit
Jun 2, 2002 6:12 AM
I have been looking into buying a CAAD5 frame from GVH bikes and building it up myself, but ran across an interesting tidbit on the Cannondale website this morning - any Cannondale bike or frame purchased over the internet or mail comes with no warranty ?!?!

http://www.cannondale.com/bikes/internet_sales.html

Does anyone have any experience/info regarding this? Is this standard operating procedure for other bike companies, and I was just unaware?
re: Cannondale CAAD5 - voided warrantyPMC
Jun 2, 2002 7:01 AM
Do yourself a favor and just give Gary a call. If I'm not mistaken, his Cannondales carry the same warranty as the LBS bikes. I'm just not sure if it's provided by Cannondale or Gary himself.

That deal he has is super tempting isn't it...

A Caad5 with full Record for under 2300 is a smokin deal. Too bad my wife would hang me from a hook if I bought one.
Meh... does it really matter?PODIUMBOUNDdotCA
Jun 2, 2002 2:59 PM
My take on this is to not even worry about not having a warranty. I've put over 10,000 km on my frame and its not even showing signs remotely close to coming to the point where it will fail. However, I do recommend buying from a LBS since if you ever have any problems with the frame such as overtightening your front derailleur, service issues, all that then you can just take it in and get it fixed right away. It saves a lot of hassle in just going directly to the company who want you to go through a LBS who won't listen since you ordered it off the internet to save $10/part.

Cheers,
Nick Corcoran
PodiumBound.ca and supporter of LBS
Meh... does it really matter?hrosvit
Jun 2, 2002 5:20 PM
I support the LBS...at least in theory. Unfortunately, too many of the LBS around here are staffed by surly teenagers whom I wouldn't trust to assemble a bowl of cereal, much less a delicate instrument I may soon be trusting my life to. Their primary qualification for the job seems to be that they answered the ad. They may know what they're doing (and I stress the word 'may'), but they hide it well behind their apparent unwillingness to halt the converation they are having with the three friends who have come to hang out with them to wait on me. I trust me, and would rather do the maintenance, etc., myself. I am doubly hesitant to pay more money to have someone I didn't want in the first place doing a job I would rather do myself.

Having said all that, there is quite possibly the best bike shop in America nearby (Speedgoat), and I am going to take a ride up this week and see what they can do for me.
Go to a LBS YOU trustPODIUMBOUNDdotCA
Jun 2, 2002 6:13 PM
I completely agree with your opinion. Although I am 19 so just cus I'm a teenager doesn't mean I don't have good opinions. But I agree if the teenager who works there puts his friends above you complain to the owner and go somewhere else. The people who work at his store aren't representing him properly which gives him a lot of negative publicity. At the same time a bike isn't rocket science. But it does take a lot of experience to figure out how to fine tune it and that teenager who you respect so little may really know his shit. He just needs to learn how to present himself. Even if he's only being paid $10/hour. So cus him some slack since as fun as his job is... it doesn't pay a lot.

Cheers,
Nick
PodiumBound.ca
Go to a LBS YOU trusthrosvit
Jun 2, 2002 7:12 PM
If a bike isn't rocket science, why doesn't Cannondale trust me to build/maintain my own? I would submit that the reason Cannondale does not want me to buy a bike on the 'net or via mail is in order to support their distributors - a worthy cause, but not if it causes me grief.

And the key word in the phrase "surly teenager" isn't "teenager", it's "surly". I don't like being waited on by belligerent people in fast food restaurants, and I'm only handing them $5.00, not $2000. I don't like being made to feel like I'm interrupting something important that they are doing, and can't wait to get back to.

And a person who makes me feel unwelcome in a business establishment of which he/she is an agent should not be cut some slack. They should be fired. The entire concept of retail sales is to make the customer happy, to ensure that he and others like him return, thereby prolonging the existence of the store. We have somehow in America wandered into this bizarre alternate reality in which is is acceptable to be rude and/or inattentive to customers. I understand that the shop employee is not going to get rich at $10.00/hr., but he's got a more enjoyable and more lucrative job than the poor guy scrubbing toilets or flipping burgers at McD's. You're not supposed to be getting rich at your job when your 19. Not working retail for someone else. And you shouldn't take it out on the customer.

I'm sure that there are a lot of teenagers who know a lot more about bikes than I do; they probably spend a lot more time working with them (and I guarantee you they are faster than I am!). But talent does not make up for lack of manners.
AgreedPODIUMBOUNDdotCA
Jun 2, 2002 7:44 PM
Agreed... Cannondale should warrantee the bikes to whom their distributors sell. So their warrantee says they won't but hassle them enough and they will. The warrantee is meant so you cannot sue them but they are free to go over and above that to make you happy. I've broken numerous Coda saddles for stupid reasons that were my fault but my LBS covers them because I am a value customer.

This is why I love my LBS. They make my life a lot easier. Going to them and whining is a lot easier than going to Cannondale and whining.

As for the phrase surly teenager thank you for pointing out "surly" was the key word. I completely agree if someone in retail isn't representing the story properly they should not be cut any slack and should be fired. But your criticism needs to be critically looked at. If the guy is talking on the phone to an annoying customer and not you... is he wrong? No... he's doing his job as best as HE knows how. Of course you can bring him to the side and give them advice just do it in a positive way. Approaching it in a negative way makes them feel attacked and they definitely won't learn anything from it.

Cheers,
Nick Corcoran
PodiumBound.ca
re: Cannondale CAAD5 - voided warrantyTJeanloz
Jun 3, 2002 4:40 AM
I don't know of any major bicycle company that offers a warranty on mail-order or internet sold bikes. Bikes typically need to be purchased from an authorized dealer for the warranty to be valid, and to be an authorized dealer for most lines, you are required to deliver bikes FULLY assembled and in the best possible working order. This is pretty much impossible to do via the web, given what UPS will do to the bike. So GVH and others are not authorized dealers, and as such, cannot offer Cannondale's warranty.

How do they get bikes? Typically from the so-called "gray market"; bikes that were intended for foreign markets, but for some reason (like the foreign distributer couldn't pay the freight bill so the shipping company sold the contents of the container) never made it to the foreign shops. GVH or others, buy these bikes from somebody other than Cannondale, and since Cannondale has lost track of what might have happened to them along the way, they can't offer a warranty or support for them (but sometimes they do).
call gary and ask...JS Haiku Shop
Jun 3, 2002 4:49 AM
I have the answer to your question, but you should get it straight from the "horse's mouth". call gary and ask (or e-mail him). i'm on my 2nd bike from him, and considering that caad5 as a replacement for my tuning-fork specialized...wouldn't have any qualms about buying it from him, manufacturer's warranty or not.
Legalitiesmr_spin
Jun 3, 2002 9:30 AM
Most states have consumer protection laws that require a minimum warranty on all sales. Companies simply cannot sell defective products, even if they try to tell you up front that there is no warranty. If a company wants to do business in that state, they have no choice but to comply.

Cannondale can say anything they want, but in the end, if the frame is found defective within some period of time, they will have to replace it. It is possible that Cannondale has a more comprehensive standard warranty with additional coverage that may not apply under your state's minimum warranty requirement. Do some research. I think you'll find the law is on your side.

A good friend had a defective Cannondale frame a few years ago. He took it in and they replaced it. They never asked him where he bought it. I wouldn't worry about it.
True,TJeanloz
Jun 3, 2002 10:41 AM
But a company doesn't have to warranty something that they didn't sell. If you pulled a frame out of the dumpster behind Cannondale (which is effectively the same as buying on the grey market), you couldn't demand that they offer a warranty on it.
Other companies are doing the same, it's calledPaul
Jun 3, 2002 10:46 AM
the "grey area". Mavic won't give a warranty if you buy from totalcycling. Seems they only want the retailers to make money, and not the internet companies. Yet distributors will sell to anyone. I bet the retailers are complaining about being undercut. If you have a quality product, why do you care who sells it. They (Cannondale) will take the money and run, and call it profit.