RoadBikeReview.com's Forum Archives - General


Archive Home >> General(1 2 3 4 5 6 7 8 9 10 11 12 13 14 15 16 17 18 19 20 21 22 23 24 25 26 27 28 29 30 31 32 33 34 35 36 )


Ksyrium SSC SL's or Dream Wheels??(7 posts)

Ksyrium SSC SL's or Dream Wheels??coonass
Jun 1, 2002 4:42 PM
I want to upgrade my wheels....are there any negatives to the Ksyriums (other than price), or are the Dream Wheels as equal?
If you had to do it over again, would you buy the Ksyriums?
Merci.
re: Ksyrium SSC SL's or Dream Wheels??szybki
Jun 1, 2002 6:37 PM
I have the Ksyriums, not the SL's the "original" ones; however, they do have the FTS-L rear hub. I have approx. 12000 miles on them (races, training, etc.), and have only had to touch up the true (on the rear) twice, once right after I bought them and once about two weeks ago - hit a clump of asphalt (on a newly paved road, going downhill, too fast). They have been completely reliable and still spin like butter. I bought them from totalcycling.com for a lot less that the $800 retail. If I remember correctly, they cost around $550 shipped. BTW, I weigh 185 lean lbs (I fancy myself as a sprinter). I would definitely buy them again. I just bought some Zipp 404's and they are nowhere near as stiff as the K's (the rim hits the brake pads on hard corners, and I can feel them wind up when I stand on climbs, etc., they are a little faster in the flats though). There have been mixed reviews on the SpeedDreams and I don't think they are everyday type wheels (just my opinion). I'm sure some SpeedDream owners will set me straight ;)
Thanks...coonass
Jun 1, 2002 7:22 PM
I think I already knew what my decision was going to be....you just confirmed it :))
I found the SL set at xpedia.com for $476 (+ $9 for the wheel magnet) total w/shipping = $520.
What site is this?granda
Jun 1, 2002 8:20 PM
didn't see anything regarding bikes when I went to that
website.

I also have the SSC SL's and damn they are good wheels.
They spin so smooth and just seem to give me more
confidence flying around.
They came on a used bike I bought and the rear was kinda
tweaked. I tool it into my shop and they did a
wonderful job trueing and evening the spoke tension.
I said "maybe they are good, but rediculously expensive"
and the wrench said "yes, but they are also rediculously
good wheels"
Thanks...B2
Jun 2, 2002 7:00 AM
You might check out their shipping again. There was a post earlier where a guy bought K's from xpedia; the shipping was $100 (UPS) and customs was another $64 (with a couple of tires and maybe something else). Total deal closer to $625 - still waaay better than $800, but not what I would call inexpensive.

Bryan
re: Ksyrium SSC SL's or Dream Wheels??pmf1
Jun 1, 2002 7:28 PM
I have both. I have had a set of Ksyrium SSC for about 2.5 years. They have been fantastic wheels. I think they are a really good, tough set of wheels that are somewhat light and somewhat aero. If I were to buy a set today, I'd go to Excel and buy the old ones for $550. I think this new rendition with the shaved rims is hype. I can't imagine they're any lighter.

The SD aerolights I got about 9 months ago. These things are light (1435 grams/set), but I worry about them. No problems so far, but I worry that I'm too heavy to be riding them (195 lbs). The spokes are very thin, but if you break one, easily replaceable. They're on my wife's bike right now and she loves them. I did ride them a couple 1000 miles with no problems. The nice thing about these wheels is they're made of standard parts and are easy to repair. Dave was great to deal with as well.

I'd say, a toss up and depends how big you are or how rough you are on wheels. No way are the current Ksyriums worth $800+ -- SD are a way better deal for $520. For $550 for the old K's, they're worth a thought. They're completely bulletproof.

I'm not dissatisfied with either. But if I were to head for the hills, I'd have the K's on my bike. The SD are a good 200 grams lighter though. You can't go too wrong with either. You also cannot go wrong with a good set of Mavic Open Pro with DA or Record hubs. A lot cheaper, easily repairable, almost as light as the K's and a bit more comfy. Everyone should have a good set of wire wheels.
Thanks again to allcoonass
Jun 2, 2002 9:01 AM
1) The correct site address is: www.xpedia.co.uk and hopefully the total will not rise too steeply; 2) Yes, the guy still got a better deal than $800 but there should be some way to determine this 'total cost' prior to deciding to order (I've seen lots of queries on this forum regarding this....it's almost like it depends on which Customs Agent makes the decision to bill or not, if so, how much...bummer), and 3) the DA hubs on Mavic Open Pro CD rims are what I'm upgrading from....there's no problem with them (bullet-proof wheels), just want to upgrade. (I upgraded my off-road wheels (Bontrangers) to Mavic Cross Links a couple of years ago, and the ride was/is noticibly much better...) I'm not a racer; I just enjoy a good ride w/my buds.