RoadBikeReview.com's Forum Archives - General


Archive Home >> General(1 2 3 4 5 6 7 8 9 10 11 12 13 14 15 16 17 18 19 20 21 22 23 24 25 26 27 28 29 30 31 32 33 34 35 36 )


Shimano flight deck / Virtual cadence(9 posts)

Shimano flight deck / Virtual cadenceJoshua
Jun 1, 2002 7:48 AM
I am thinking of getting a flight deck computer. I would like some overall opinions on this computer. Also what is the deal with virtual cadence and how accurate is it. Thanks
re: Shimano flight deck / Virtual cadenceweiwentg
Jun 1, 2002 10:39 AM
the computer calculates your cadence from your gear ratio and speed. it's accurate if you're pedalling. it also has a gear display which I personally find useful (I've been riding less than a year, so I haven't really learnt to read my gears by feel yet). the integration with the STI levers is nicely done, but some people have had issues with accidentally pressing the buttons when they stand to pedal. I personally think it was a good buy.
re: Shimano flight deck / Virtual cadencejtolleson
Jun 1, 2002 12:13 PM
POINT/COUNTERPOINT

I think the "virtual cadence" feature is a joke. It assume cadence based on gear and speed. That means that it is inaccurate if there is any "coasting" assisting your speed. Down hill, or with a heavy tailwind, or it doesn't help break the new rider of "pedal-pedal-glide-pedal-pedal-glide" syndrome.

Those who need a cadence sensor are often newer riders who need constant reliable feedback, particularly at times they are tempted to coast rather than spin. And the FD doesn't really provide that.

I mean, it's better than no cadence input at all, I suppose, but for those who want cadence input to help assist in technique training, the FD is not the solution. A good cyclocomputer with real cadence sensors for less money is the Cateye Astrale.

That's my "counterpoint"!
re: Shimano flight deck / Virtual cadenceweiwentg
Jun 1, 2002 12:47 PM
> I think the "virtual cadence" feature is a joke.

then, why am I not laughing? it saves me from having to run a wire and strap yet another magnet on.

> Those who need a cadence sensor are often newer riders who need constant reliable feedback, particularly at times they are tempted to coast rather than spin. And the FD doesn't really provide that.

for how many percent of a ride does one coast?

>but for those who want cadence input to help assist in technique training, the FD is not the solution

I get a cadence that is valid for the 80-90% of the ride that counts. I don't need to know my cadence when I'm coasting downhill, as I'm not exerting effort. when I'm coasting on a flat, I don't find it necessary to check my cadence either. the cadence is valid when you are actually propelling the bike, which is most of the time. I grant that you may have different preferences, but it works very well for me.

> A good cyclocomputer with real cadence sensors for less money is the Cateye Astrale.

this is, admittedly, true. no gear indicator, but you can get one of the DA inline gear indicators. and there's no integration with the shifters, which is only a little less convenient.
Relax, it isn't personal.jtolleson
Jun 1, 2002 2:22 PM
That's why I called it "counterpoint." I think you got way too invested in your perspective.

I had the FD for two years with this feature... that's my opinion and I'm stickin' to it.
sorryweiwentg
Jun 1, 2002 8:03 PM
it just seemed to me that your arguments didn't hold water.
re: I bought the Astralefracisco
Jun 1, 2002 7:08 PM
I was considering the Flight Deck, and it would have integrated with my 105 shifters. Instead, I bought the Astrale for $25 from Performance. I have wires and magnets, but the price was right, and I really, really wanted to have cadence, since I wanted to know how I was spinning (I use the damn cadence readout to help decide when to shift...newbie here). So, I still look down to see where I am on the rear cassette, but I have cadence and all of the other regular bike computer functions.
re: Shimano flight deck / Virtual cadenceB2
Jun 1, 2002 7:59 PM
Personally I like the virtual cadence. If I'm on a steep descent (coasting) with an uphill to follow, as I near the bottom, I shift to a lower gear as I'm coasting. A quick glance at the virtual cadence tells me if I guessed right. I.e. - if it reads 150, that's faster than I can pedal (too low a gear), if it reads 70, I need to drop to a lower gear yet.

Not to say you wouldn't realize this immediately upon pedaling, but its kind of nice to get a little feed back BEFORE you try to spin away at 130.

Bryan
Shimano FD - Best purchase yet...spyderman
Jun 1, 2002 9:11 PM
The Shimano Flight Deck was one of the best purchases I've yet made! I have the SM-6500 and I paid about $60 online...

I really like the integrated shifter controls. You don't have to lift your hands off the hoods the get info. Never a problem. The virtual cadence is good. VC works when you need it. Nobody pedals 100% of the time and you don't need it on the down hills.

I thought it could use a back light and interval alarms...etc. But beyond that it does everything and more than I expected.

Be sure to keep track of the head unit. I proved that it's waterproof by putting it through the wash. It survived! Then I thought I lost it and road about 100 miles w/o. I didn't enjoy my rides nearly as much...

You can find my review at:
http://www.roadbikereview.com/Computers/Shimano,Flight,Deck/PRD_19028_1624crx.aspx