RoadBikeReview.com's Forum Archives - General


Archive Home >> General(1 2 3 4 5 6 7 8 9 10 11 12 13 14 15 16 17 18 19 20 21 22 23 24 25 26 27 28 29 30 31 32 33 34 35 36 )


Simoni tests positive for Cocaine......Again!(12 posts)

Simoni tests positive for Cocaine......Again!chopper
May 31, 2002 11:23 AM
Just read it on Yahoo.
saw it also... this is looking more like the NBA or NFL!Tig
May 31, 2002 11:32 AM
"A separate sample, taken on May 21 after the ninth stage of the Giro from Tivoli to Caserta, also tested positive for cocaine, his team said."
If his team admits it, you KNOW he's in deep.
re: Did he go to the dentist, again?MaRider
May 31, 2002 11:34 AM
Between ninth and tenth stages?
Surely this means Saeco is out of Le Tour......nmchopper
May 31, 2002 11:38 AM
Panaria or A&S should be invited instead (nm)Bruno
May 31, 2002 12:02 PM
re: Simoni tests positive for Cocaine......Again!amflyer
May 31, 2002 12:03 PM
The Whole dentist thing is bull anyway...you don't test positive via GC/MS for cocaine unless you have the drug in your system. Dental anesthestics aren't even close when using this method.

Steve
It's possibleDaveL
May 31, 2002 1:49 PM
to test positive for cocaine after going to the dentist - IF you do a couple of lines before you go.
re: Simoni tests positive for Cocaine......Again!Doc
Jun 1, 2002 3:58 AM
This Dentist agrees
Now it's the worst possible Giro for Saeco!mr_spin
May 31, 2002 12:31 PM
There was a recent post called "Worst possible Giro for Saeco?" that asked how could it be worse?

Ask and you shall receive!

Let's see. We'll get rid of Mario (5 stages) and Savoldelli (Maglia Rosa). Oh, and we also had Cadel Evans (Maglia Rosa) last year, too. Let's trade all that for Simoni!

The purpose of sponsoring a team is publicity. They certainly got a lot of that!
Now it's the worst possible Giro for Saeco!yeah right
May 31, 2002 1:11 PM
you are correct, but I was assuming that Simoni was already toast.
Now it's the worst possible Giro for Saeco!No_sprint
May 31, 2002 1:21 PM
Well, I'm not so sure. I think they're damn glad to be there. Look for them to make some moves, well, starting now!!! LOL

Take for instance, Saeco might not have wanted to offer Cipo the vast amount of money he ended up getting. Therefore, they've got more dough. 2nd, they're still in the TDF! Superstars or not. Several of the other teams have no superstars, no possible stage winners, no nothing, but I'll bet they're damn glad to be there. Bang for your buck, any of those teams would probably take 1 TDF over 4 Giros and an Espana to boot! They are a legacy TDF team and I would be surprised to see them ousted unless they just up and fall apart this year.

Not to say they might be a little disappointed about the way some things worked out, however, they undoubtedly let Cipo go without a fight nearest I've heard. The other decisions just happened to work out that way. Gotta admit, Savoldelli is very flukish this year.

Simoni was probably feeling so much pressure he felt he had to go to the tooter!

You're right, lots of publicity! Just wanted to offer a different perspective is all.
Note!!!!!No_sprint
May 31, 2002 1:39 PM
I just read Saeco might be booted from the Tour and the organizers retain the right to boot them all the way to June 16th!

Now that would hurt the team. I'm sure they'd like to be there regardless, if they have the manpower.