RoadBikeReview.com's Forum Archives - General


Archive Home >> General(1 2 3 4 5 6 7 8 9 10 11 12 13 14 15 16 17 18 19 20 21 22 23 24 25 26 27 28 29 30 31 32 33 34 35 36 )


Any opinions on Seven bikes?(14 posts)

Any opinions on Seven bikes?szybki
May 29, 2002 6:49 AM
I'm considering buying a Seven Axiom. Anyone currently own one? How about an Alaris? Just wanted some overall opinions. What other ti frames should I consider for approx. $2500? I known this is a silly consideration, but I would rather not have an intergrated headset. Also, no carbon seatstays. I'm also not too concerned about weight. BTW, I race Cat 4 (will probably upgrade next year) 5'11", 185 lean lbs. Any suggestions welcome. Thanks.
they suckColnagoFE
May 29, 2002 7:22 AM
no just kiddin ya. they are great bikes as they well should be for that kind of $. You can pretty much get any bike you want in that price range so make sure that bike is the one you really want.
re: Any opinions on Seven bikes?getoffmywheel
May 29, 2002 7:36 AM
a Seven for crit racing? Ouch.

Nothing negative could be said about these bikes except the price. I wonder if the Alaris is too flexy for your size? If you don't care about weight why get it? Ask them to create a compact from for you from the Axiom. Either way, they'll dial everhthing in for you, maybe with an Axiom. Read the Velo news article on integrated headsets.

good luck.
I have one...PsyDoc
May 29, 2002 8:12 AM
...and I like it. Well, what else am I gonna say after spending that much $$$ for a frame. Prior to the Seven, I rode a Merlin Extralight for 9 years. In my opinion, the Seven rides better; there is less flex in the BB and it handles better as well. As the other posters indicated, most ti frames in this price range are going to be great frames. I am sort of an anal-retentive type; hence, I really pay attention to the details and Seven does a good job in this department. I have had zero problems or complaints with the frame. The ability to "customize" the ride/tubes is pretty cool as is their fit process. I live in Georgia and ordered the frame through Excel Sports and then worked directly with Seven on how I wanted the frame set-up.
I have one...JBurton
May 29, 2002 8:21 AM
Great to see you online PsyDoc!
Ever compare your '92 XL to a current version?Alex-in-Evanston
May 29, 2002 8:22 AM
Aside from the headset nonsense, were there any substantial changes over the past decade?

Just curious,

Alex
Actually...Yes.PsyDoc
May 29, 2002 10:40 AM
I test rode a 2001 XL for about 8 miles and it road a bit smoother over the pavement than my '92 XL, but I attributed the smoothness to the Ouzo Pro fork that was on it. My '92 still had the original Sake aluminum fork. I could not tell a noticeable difference in the stiffness in the BB and the handling between the 2001 and my old '92.
Thanksszybki
May 29, 2002 8:27 AM
PsyDoc: Appreciate the input, the ride customization aspect was the primary reason I was thinking of buying a Seven. They are really beautiful bikes.

GetOffMyWheel: I couldn't find any references to the headset article on velonews.com. Is it in the current issue of the magazine? What was their opinion of integrated headsets? The idea of the headtube serving as a bearing race doesn't sound like a long-term good idea to me.
integrated headsetsTig
May 29, 2002 9:13 AM
I couldn't find the article either, but you can read Chris King's article on them here: http://www.chrisking.com/tech/int_headsets_explained/int_hds_explain_1.html
He bashes them pretty hard with some decent as well as irrelevant comparisons.

I have an integrated fork/headtube on my Merckx and have had no problems with it. It uses a Record headset, which is easy to find if I need to replace it in the future. If I had a choice, I'd stick to a regular threadless system for simplicity and long term wear interests. I see very little advantage to an integrated system other than aesthetics.

If you can afford a Seven, then by all means go for it!
headsets...getoffmywheel
May 29, 2002 10:02 AM
It's in the publication for this month. Their opinion wasn't really negative but they leaned towards the traditional set up due to wear and non standardization of sizes. Since we're talking Seven, Rob Vandermark preffered the threadless as well but he said he would spec his bikes with an integrated headset if that's what the customer wants. When you call Seven for ?s on frame spec, ask them about it and see what they say.
Velonews and Merlin / Seven.EricTheRed
May 30, 2002 6:28 AM
I am having the same considerations as yourself, deciding on Merlin vs. Seven. Though I was originally leaning towards the Seven due to the non- integrated headset, I was glad to read the velonews article (in the current issue). The Merlins (and lightspeeds) have a Ti cup pressed in to the headtube which acts as a bearing race so, it's not wearing on the frame directly. So, bascially there seems to be no functional advantage / disadvantage or weight save loss from one to the other. The only decision is on looks and I tend to lean toward the integrated look. Merlin can also customize tubset and geometry. Tough decision, both would be great bikes.......
SuggestionNessism
May 29, 2002 10:16 AM
As the others have mentioned, Seven makes a great frame...for a price. If you want a nice sturdy Ti frame geared for racing you might want to check out Dean. For about ½ the cost of Seven, they will build a semi-custom that will perform just as well -assuming you don't have any special fitting requirements.

Ed
I have seven. That seems like enough. :-) nmDougSloan
May 30, 2002 6:40 AM
I have a Seven Alaris.paulw
May 30, 2002 8:06 AM
I had a Litespeed Classic but sold it and the fork that was on it due to fit. I had gotten a great deal on it and was, luckily, able to sell it for nearly what I paid. I transferred most of the components to the new frame.

Anyway, I went with Seven because they are local to me and I'm not easy to fit. I'm 6'1" but have a 36" inseam. My frame is 60 with a 57 top tube. The Classic was a 57 to get the top tube correct but it never worked well.

The Seven is stiffer yet seems to ride better. The ride improvement may be due to the Ouzo Pro fork and carbon seat post but I still like it. Seven did a great job getting the bike to fit me and the frame is very nicely made. One thing I really like is the carbon insert in the seat tube. Getting the aluminum seat post out of my Classic was nearly impossible even though it was greased. Another improvement is no more flexing in the front end. With the LS I had more stack height which was probably the main culprit but the 1 1/8" steerer and Chris King (vs. Crane Creek) head set might have something to do with it also. The Crane Creek headset sucked for other reasons.