RoadBikeReview.com's Forum Archives - General


Archive Home >> General(1 2 3 4 5 6 7 8 9 10 11 12 13 14 15 16 17 18 19 20 21 22 23 24 25 26 27 28 29 30 31 32 33 34 35 36 )


any info/opinions on mondonico/torelli?(10 posts)

any info/opinions on mondonico/torelli?rufus
May 27, 2002 7:22 PM
getting the urge for a real italian steed.
What about Pegoretti?Me Dot Org
May 27, 2002 8:07 PM
Nothing wrong with Mondonico/Torelli. I'm sure you'll find some owners with good things to say in the review section.

I've been tempted by a Pegoretti Palosanto. A real-deal-italian-steel ride. Cbike has 2001 closeouts for $749, which is $450 off the 2002 price:

http://www.cbike.com/pegoretti_palosanto.htm
re: any info/opinions on mondonico/torelli?mickey-mac
May 27, 2002 8:07 PM
I've got a six-year-old Torelli EL-OS and it's been a great bike. Torelli's high-end bikes are (or at least were) built by Mondonico. A friend of mine bought a Mondonico EL-OS the same year I bought my Torelli and they were just about identical, except the Mondonico had a wishbone-type seatstay. In addition to putting out great bikes, Torelli has great customer service. When I called with a question, the owner (Bill) answered the phone and answered my question. From what I've heard, this is typical. I've never heard any complaints about Torelli or Mondonico. IMHO, you can't go wrong with either.
Probably ok, but expensive.unchained
May 27, 2002 11:02 PM
Other choices:

Tommasini

www.wmlewisimports.com
www.coloradocyclist.com
www.tommasini.it

Viner, Merckx (Be)

www.gvhbikes.com

Moser and Carrera

www.redroseimports.com
also - in VeloNews a FL shop has closeouts on these

DeRosa

www.maestro-uk.com
www.ridecampy.com

Colnago

www.totalcycling.com
www.maestro-uk.com
re: any info/opinions on mondonico/torelli?cycleguy
May 28, 2002 6:36 AM
I have a Mondonico FUTURA Leggero. I love the way it rides and looks. Bill at Torelli will answer any guestions you have quickly and honestly. Read some of his stuff on his web sight about how his bikes are made etc. There are lots of choices for Italian steel, most are great bikes. I choose Mondonico.
re: any info/opinions on mondonico/torelli?rideslikeagirl
May 28, 2002 7:34 AM
Bought a used Mondonico a few years ago. So it's about 8 years old now.

She is my first and only steel bike, so I have nothing to compare it to. But I've been completely happy with it.
already done the basic research...rufus
May 28, 2002 8:09 AM
checked the reviews(not many) on this site, and have poured over the torelli site and even emailed bill, and he sent me a lengthy reply, telling me that for my size, an el-os or foco frame would probably be the best choice. only the top torelli, the nito express is now built by mondonico. i should have mentioned that i'm looking for a lugged and brazed frame, no tig welding for my road bikes.

it just seems that from what i read on the torelli site, and looking at the others, like tommassini and colnago, and others, that mondonico is one of the last builders using old-world techniques, like pinning lugs, and taking the time to hand build with care and tradition. it's hard to tell who the builder is with the other italian marques, and whether they still adhere to the methods that originally brought them their acclaim. at least a mondonico is built by a mondonico. really leaning toward that kind of tradition for my next bike.
Tommasiniunchained
May 28, 2002 9:38 AM
They are built exclusively in-house, including the steel forks. It is a small operation.

I believe Wmlewisimports.com currently has the Tecno Nemo in stock.
Where did you get that picture? (nm)Sintesi
May 28, 2002 10:43 AM
www.tommasini.it nm.unchained
May 28, 2002 11:40 AM