RoadBikeReview.com's Forum Archives - General


Archive Home >> General(1 2 3 4 5 6 7 8 9 10 11 12 13 14 15 16 17 18 19 20 21 22 23 24 25 26 27 28 29 30 31 32 33 34 35 36 )


GVH Bikes(13 posts)

GVH Bikeszray61
May 27, 2002 4:56 PM
I am considering buying a bike from GVH. A frame and a
Utegra package. GVH will assemble and ship. Has anyone
had experience with GVH? And,if so, would you tell me about
it? Thank you.
re: GVH BikesFrank
May 27, 2002 5:10 PM
I have bought three complete bikes from Gary and had him build two more up for me. Great values, big selection, and a wonderful guy to work with. I think you will get lots of "me too's" on this one.

For probably hundreds of additional positive responses, go to:

http://groups.google.com/groups?hl=en&lr=&q=gvh&meta=group%3Drec.bicycles.marketplace
negative from me and some others, check it over on arrival nmishmael
May 27, 2002 5:17 PM
Details?Kerry
May 27, 2002 5:40 PM
You're the first one to report problems with GVH that I can remember on two major web forums. Everyone else really likes the guy, his prices, and his products (no personal experience here). Please offer details of the problems that you (and some others) have experienced.
He's not the firstterry b
May 27, 2002 6:45 PM
Ismael and I have recounted our sad tales of woe at least three previous times on this forum and I laid mine out once on Velonews.

See my reprise telling below.
Wrong color bottle cage or what? nm.unchained
May 27, 2002 11:28 PM
Good experience hereTrent in WA
May 27, 2002 5:36 PM
I ordered a built up bike from GVH. Gary patiently answered my hundreds of questions first prior to purchase, and the bike arrived safe and sound just when I expected it. The rear wheel was badly out of true--his shipping info warns that wheels may go out of true in shipping, but this one seemed like a bad set up job. On the whole, though, I feel like I got a great deal on a bike I couldn't buy locally and Gary was a pleasure to deal with.

Melinda, posting on her husband's login again.
Great guy, but watch the hidden mech disasters.terry b
May 27, 2002 6:27 PM
I really liked talking to Gary about my purchase - interesting and helpful.

What I didn't like was the BB installed in a Ti BB shell without any Ti prep, grease or even teflon tape. When it was time to change it, I needed a 24" crescent wremch.

I also did not like the inner chain ring rubbing on the seat stay. Of course, it didn't leave GVH that way, I found it out when I torqued the crank bolt properly (it came loose while riding) and discovered that it was an impossible fit. Didn't like it as well when I called the frame builder and he told me that generation frame did not have the clearance for the newer splined BBs.

Didn't care for the 1" wobble in the front wheel, but we can blame UPS for that.

The frayed cable housing was not nice, nor was the backwards wrap on the handlebar tape.

Last, but not least the constant rub of the chain when in the 53x11 combo was unpleasant. He did swap out the 11 for a 12 free of charge.

You might get lucky like the 1000s of other happy customers, or you might get a lemon like I did. Of course, I'm hoping all the 1000s of happy customers have had an opportunity to check their BB installation, might be a surprise there for everyone!
Great guy, but watch the hidden mech disasters.gtx
May 27, 2002 8:46 PM
who made the frame? I assume you mean the c-ring was rubbing the chainstay. Sounds odd.

Also, does Gary build his own wheels?
Great guy, but watch the hidden mech disasters.terry b
May 28, 2002 5:12 AM
It's a Calfee, and Craig was very helpful in getting it resolved with me. So easy in fact that it made me wonder why GVH shipped it to me in the condition it was in.

Don't know on the wheels. Funny thing is it was packed very well so I'm not sure how it could've been whacked as much as it was in shipping.
re: GVH Bikeszray61
May 27, 2002 9:00 PM
I want to thank everyone who responded. The information was
a very big help. And I will buy a bike from GVH.
Thanks- Ray
bad wheel build, chipped paint ...Lon Norder
May 28, 2002 1:58 PM
I bought a KHS Aero Comp from GVH 3 or so years ago. Great deal, Reynolds 853 frame, carbon fiber fork and Ultegra components for under $1200.

Two complaints: I had to retighten 4 or 5 spokes on each wheel numerous times because they became loose. Over time I had to retighten them less and less frequently, though. Also, the rim tape wasn't even wide enough to cover the spoke holes. My first ride was a nightmare of flat tires until I replaced the rim tape.

My second complaint was that there was a chip in the paint (3/4" by 1/8") that someone covered up with a warning sticker. Someone at the factory might have done this, though, and not GVH.
I bought and I love my bike nmPhatMatt
May 28, 2002 2:22 PM