RoadBikeReview.com's Forum Archives - General


Archive Home >> General(1 2 3 4 5 6 7 8 9 10 11 12 13 14 15 16 17 18 19 20 21 22 23 24 25 26 27 28 29 30 31 32 33 34 35 36 )


Simoni Plot Thickens(13 posts)

Simoni Plot ThickensBeaver
May 23, 2002 8:41 AM
http://www.procycling.com/news_main.asp?newsId=3922
"..."whereas cocaine is bicyclic." How appropriate."rideslikeagirl
May 23, 2002 9:03 AM
It did all seem just a bit too convenient.

I'd heard that one of the other teams (Telecom, maybe?) had copies of the infamous Doctors Note laminated and were passing it out. Who knows when you might need it?
Simoni rides good when he's all coked upDASS
May 23, 2002 9:13 AM
Sniff some blow, win a mountain stage!

Is Simoni an idiot? If he's a pro cyclist and he knows he'll be tested almost daily, why would he let a dentist near him with an anesthetic without checking what it was? And why would he FORGET about a jaw numbing shot he took when queried by drug testers later that day? How can he claim ignorance when his profession is constantly surrounded by doping scandals?
Simoni rides good when he's all coked upt-bill
May 23, 2002 9:40 AM
I agree! Given that these guys know they will be tested if they win, why would they ever go near any banned substance? It seems to me that they either feel like they are above it all and can't be caught (i.e. stupid), or there really is some sort of consipracy gong on. I hate the thought of that! Maybe all that riding is making their brains soft!
don't understand it , but it sounds impressive (nm)grandemamou
May 23, 2002 9:14 AM
When I want to party in Italy I am looking Simoni up...agilis ti
May 23, 2002 9:34 AM
He has the connections.
Vaughters could learn from the ItaliansDASS
May 23, 2002 10:27 AM
Remember when Vaughters had a bee sting last year in the Tour? He checked with officials, with his team, with doctors...he even publically discussed the situation on OLN...all BEFORE he took anything. He decided to take the drug (was it Cortizone?) and drop out. If he was Italian he would have

1) taken the drug without checking with anyone
2) forgotten about it later that day while being tested and queried by drug testing officials.
3) gotten a backdated, handwritten Doctor's note a week later
4) claimed that the drug was for a medical emergency and not performance enhancing.

Vaughters is too smart and rational! He's in the big leagues, he needs to play by Euro rules, I guess.
LOL, Too True!! nmBeaver
May 23, 2002 10:57 AM
Vaughters could learn from the Italiansbartali
May 23, 2002 12:19 PM
Well, I am not going to make any excuses for Simoni. I don't know if he indeed took cocaine or he went to the dentist and got a shot of novacaine. I tend to believe the former.

At any rate, assuming he did go to the dentist, the Italian people as a whole are not as "pignoli" (to the book) when it comes to rules and regulations as other people (namely American). They are a very understanding people and will tend to bend the rules.

Sometimes this is too often assumed in Italy and is probably the case with Simoni if indeed the dentist's visit is true.
HUH?cyclejim
May 23, 2002 3:36 PM
I do not agree with your logic on this point.

"they are a very understanding people and will tend to bend the rules".

Your argument is that because in your opinion the Italian people are very understanding (which may well be true) it justifies him bending the rules? In my opinion, most people would call that CHEATING, not being "very understanding" Maybe that is the American in me just blinding following all the rules =)

I hope I am not misconstruing what you have said, I'm sure you will set me straight if I am.

Cheers!
Same for the Belgiums...Wayne
May 24, 2002 4:12 AM
a Belgium aquaintance of mine here in the states summed up what she feels is the typical Belgium attitude concerning doping in cycling. It basically went something like this, "Of course they dope, they ride their bikes at speeds most normal people can't maintain for 5 minutes let alone 6 hours, and they do it day after day after day. They have doctors to look after them, they take what they need to recover and be competitive, just don't go overboard with the drugs. What's the big deal, they all do it?"
She compared it to the way most American view taxes, everyone cheats a little, and nobody resents it unless someone is really going overboard.
HUH?bartali
May 24, 2002 7:52 AM
You missed the point. I said ASSUMING it is true that he did go to the dentist, Simoni didn't think twice about the novacaine knowing that Italians in general aren't sticklers for rules as other people.
well lets say his story is true.....cyclejim
May 24, 2002 12:38 PM
And it happened at the dentist. He is a professional cyclist, and being a understanding Italian or not he obviously knows about the rules and the dangers of using or being administered ANY substance. If he doesnt, he is either stupid or ignorant.