RoadBikeReview.com's Forum Archives - General


Archive Home >> General(1 2 3 4 5 6 7 8 9 10 11 12 13 14 15 16 17 18 19 20 21 22 23 24 25 26 27 28 29 30 31 32 33 34 35 36 )


The disappearing red Serotta OTTROTT picture.(11 posts)

The disappearing red Serotta OTTROTT picture.JS
May 20, 2002 12:08 PM
Any body remember that bike, well the frame is on sell at e-bay(only a few months old). It seems the guy has purchased another OTTROTT, the new one with the carbon stays. I know people will say "it's his money he can do what he wants", but come on, this is a classic example of "mine is bigger than yours". Well it's good for the industry.....heh.
I wonder if it was the guy ...tarwheel
May 20, 2002 12:15 PM
Who was ragging on Serotta in their chat board for coming out with the carbon-stay version of Ottrott only a year after rolling out the original Ottrott as the ultimate bike. He was pissed because he bought the O thinking it was be-all, end-all bike -- only to have it "outdated" by the new carbon-stay version. Seemed kind of silly to me. Personally, it seems like carbon stays are just another potential part to malfunction down the road.
Serotta design...elviento
May 20, 2002 3:20 PM
Serotta has traditionally been known as a high end ti bike maker in the past two decades. Then they started incorporating carbon fiber into their design, and then the Ottrott, then the carbon stays on the Ottrott. Before you know it, their new $5500 frame will be an all carbon frame with ti lugs. Imagine that.
it almost is...linkcollinsc
May 20, 2002 5:19 PM
http://www.serotta.com/images/Ottrottst_BG.jpg

I've been trying to figure out for some time now, is this a Ti bike or a Carbon bike?
Half and half. And a much betterdjg
May 23, 2002 11:29 AM
design than all those half carbon, half ti bikes where the left half is carbon and the right half is ti.
re: The disappearing red Serotta OTTROTT picture.gtx
May 20, 2002 12:18 PM
I thought this discussion was pretty hilarious

http://www.hydromedia.com/phorum/read.php?f=3&i=7222&t=7222
that's the one ...tarwheel
May 20, 2002 12:20 PM
It is hilarious. Some people don't got enough problems to worry about.
re: The disappearing red Serotta OTTROTT picture.TimePedal
May 20, 2002 12:24 PM
First of all, let me say, I know the guy who is sellng the red ottrott. And no, he wasn't the one complaining cuz the new ottrott with cf stays came out. Anyways, he's selling the frame and fork to add a little cushion to his savings cuz of his impending job lay-off and not to get a new ottrott with cf stays. And here's the thread to that:

http://www.hydromedia.com/phorum/read.php?f=3&i=8003&t=8003
Is it safe to say...mwood
May 20, 2002 12:33 PM
that it might represent a great example of diminishing returns. When a bike is as "perfect" as the ottrott, are carbon stays going to make it that much "perfecter"?
that's assuming it is the perfect bike to start with.ColnagoFE
May 20, 2002 1:01 PM
I can think of many applications (ie racing of most flavors) where this would not be the ultimate bike for durability reasons. No offense, but this is a status bike for people with lots of disposable income. I'm sure it's a fine ride and all, but it isn't the bike for everyone and is definately not the biggest bang for the $. Of course all in my humble opinion.
that's assuming it is the perfect bike to start with.mwood
May 20, 2002 1:07 PM
That's why the " " around perfect...
It seems once you get past about $3-3500 (for a complete bike) each $ brings an incrementally smaller "bang"!