RoadBikeReview.com's Forum Archives - General


Archive Home >> General(1 2 3 4 5 6 7 8 9 10 11 12 13 14 15 16 17 18 19 20 21 22 23 24 25 26 27 28 29 30 31 32 33 34 35 36 )


First century question(10 posts)

First century questionbike_guy
May 20, 2002 11:32 AM
A few of my riding buddies want me to do a century ride with them this weekend. The problems are that this would be my first century and it involves 10,000 feet of climbing. I consider myself to be a fairly strong rider and a good climber, but this may be more than I can handle. I have plenty of base miles for the year with a few 60 mile rides, but is it enough. Has anyone else done anything like this or am I crazy for considering it?
Nucking futs -nmSnowBlind
May 20, 2002 11:40 AM
Thats better than Smucking fart -nmLowend
May 20, 2002 12:37 PM
re: Not crazyMike Prince
May 20, 2002 11:41 AM
If your base miles are good and you have done several 60+ milers, I would do it without reservation. Unless it's 10,000 feet of climbing all at once, not a bunch to worry about. Just pace yourself (especially on the first few climbs), eat and drink intelligently and you'll be fine. The key will be having something in reserve for the last 20 miles, so don't push too hard too early.

If your friends are riding with you and you've ridden with them a lot this season, just ride with them and you'll all be in similar conditions by ride-end. As long as you aren't trying to ride at race pace and hammer each other you will have a great time. Pace yourself and the ride will be a breeze.
just like my firstmr_spin
May 20, 2002 11:58 AM
My first century was exactly that - 10K of climbing, some of it quite tought. And my base was mostly in the 60-70 mile range. I didn't do it on short notice, however!

Face it, it's gonna hurt. But you can get through it. If you are a good climber, that will help immensely. I'd be a little worried about one thing. If your buddies have been riding a lot more than you, they are probably going to drop you at some point. Maybe they'll wait at the top, maybe they won't. That might be frustrating for you and them, and you might even finish alone. Ask yourself if it's worth it, or maybe you can do some more training and do the same route later.
just take your time and be confident.JS Haiku Shop
May 20, 2002 12:10 PM
my first was a 7700 footer (early last year) with the big 'un at mile 80. if i'd had a chance to preview the course (it was out of town), i'd probably have ridden--not walked--that last climb. eat lots, drink lots, rest before, good luck. do it 'cause YOU want to do it, since their intentions probably won't matter much anymore after 70 miles of hills.

ps. gears are your friends.
re: Speed kills!dzrider
May 20, 2002 12:33 PM
Nobody remembers how great it felt riding fast at the start if they've suffered to finish. Find some folks riding a little slower than you're used to and enjoy their company for the first few hours. You'll be grateful in the last hours.

Eat early, drink often and you should be fine. Relax and have as much fun as you can!
You know, it's not a race...Wayne
May 20, 2002 12:58 PM
you don't have to keep up with anyone! All you have to do is pace yourself, eat/drink plenty and it will be a cinch. Speed (effort) is what kills, not distance. Maybe your backside will be a little sore from the unusual amount of time in the saddle but it will only be an awful experience if you push the pace.
assuming you have done wnough hillsColnagoFE
May 20, 2002 1:02 PM
you should be fine. if you can ride 60 you can ride 100. just make sure to eat and drink plenty.
Awful lot of climbing for a first century ...Humma Hah
May 20, 2002 3:12 PM
I'd say they're out to kill you. With your base, you should be able to do a century, but one with more like 3000-4000 ft of climbing. That will seem hard enough.