RoadBikeReview.com's Forum Archives - General


Archive Home >> General(1 2 3 4 5 6 7 8 9 10 11 12 13 14 15 16 17 18 19 20 21 22 23 24 25 26 27 28 29 30 31 32 33 34 35 36 )


No more cheap sunglasses(20 posts)

No more cheap sunglassesTig
May 17, 2002 6:49 AM
After breaking 2 pair of clone sunglasses this spring, I'm vowing to not repeat my mistake. The cheap ones look OK, but the materials are not the same as reputable manufacturer's. The frames would develop a crack without any warning and later... snap!

I don't like chunking down $100+ for nice ones so I'm trying some Bolle Rogues that Performance has for 55% off (now $44.98). After trying to ride in the rain yesterday with naked eyes, I had to break down and do something smart for once. I actually had pieces of sand and tiny rocks trying to imbed themselves into my eyes! After a few weeks of use I'll post a review on them. Performance has a few other Bolle models on sale if anyone is interested.
re: No more cheap sunglassesMel Erickson
May 17, 2002 7:13 AM
I was really interested in the Rogues about a year ago when the optical shop at my optometrists told me Bolle was coming out with them. Originally they were supposed to be designed to accept the optical insert but Bolle either made a decision not to offer them with that option or they had trouble with the design. Either way you can't get them with the insert. I liked the design and the polarized lenses available. Bolles fit me better than any other brand (narrow face) and I wanted a do-it-all pair of sunglasses, particulary for biking and trout fishing. Friends have had Bolles for years. They are a quality sunglass and the price is reasonable.
Bolle Vigilantes w/ optical insert. Love 'em. nmBrooks
May 17, 2002 7:48 AM
Bolle Vigilantes w/ optical insert. Love 'em.PhatMatt
May 17, 2002 8:04 AM
Same here. I have had them for about 1.5 years now.
I love the vigilantes too, except.......mixinbeatz
May 17, 2002 9:01 AM
My girlfriend won't let me leave the house with them on, depending on what I am wearing, she says I either look like an 80's butt rocker or a bass fisherman on TV. High points for functionality, but low points for style.
Another vote for the Bolle's.look271
May 17, 2002 1:14 PM
I've had mine for about 3 yrs now. It's about time to change them. I've got the optical insert so I'll get another pair. Only problem I've encountered is that one of the pairs of lenses had it's little slot in it chip off so it won't stay in the frame. =( It'll be cheaper to replace the frames than the lenses (I lost my clear ones......).
Another vote for the Bolle's.PhatMatt
May 17, 2002 1:18 PM
A local merchant here in Utah has a big blowout every year on bolle's. I got a brand ne pair for 45.00 today.
Thanks.look271
May 17, 2002 1:33 PM
Since I live in PA, I'll just order from Performance. I need some more "stuff", too =)
Yeah, the Vigilantes are greatMel Erickson
May 17, 2002 11:17 AM
but unfortunately you can't get them with polarized lenses. This doesn't matter for cycling but is imperative for fishing. I want a "one pair does all" pair of sunglasses (with Rx insert) that fits my face as good as Bolles but haven't found them yet.
Yeah, the Vigilantes are greatPhatMatt
May 17, 2002 1:13 PM
I am assuming you are talking about fly fishing. After spending a few days here fishing on the green river I have resorted to just using dynamite. It is easier and much more fun. Just kidding. about the dynamite.
Prescription w/o inserts @coonass
May 17, 2002 6:00 PM
http://www.optilabs.com/homeframeset.html.
I haven't ordered mine yet, but Polarized, prescription BIKING glasses are available in different models.... NO INSERTS! Has anyone here had any experience w/this site?
on the other hand...EpicX
May 17, 2002 7:32 AM
After destroying 3 pairs of oakleys in various mishaps, I decided I'm just not meant for nice shades. I got a pair of Faux-Kleys at the gas station for $12 and they lasted about 2 years before the earpiece broke in half a couple of weeks ago. I just ordered some performance shades. should be here today. i'll try to remember to review.
how about Smith?Jekyll
May 17, 2002 8:21 AM
After much ado with Oakleys and how easily they scratch (Minutes both model name durability of the lenses) I bought a pair of Smith Buzzsaws on closeout from CC for $50. Easily interchangeable lenses (comes with 3), so far almost impossible to scratch, no fogging, and a great fit. I think Performance has some deals on these as well.
I like my sight, gas station/mart glasses have problems with distorted optics and poor UV protection. Its not worth the savings to play with your sight.
re: No more cheap sunglassesdirthersh
May 17, 2002 10:34 AM
I bought a pair of fake Oakley M frames from Zybergear.com for $25 plus $7 shipping. They have other styles also and so far I'm happy with them. So is my wallet and hence, my wife.
Arnette Catfish for meonespeed
May 17, 2002 11:53 AM
I have been wearing the same model for the past 4-5 years. Some years I will go through 2-3 pairs-because I lose them. But to me they are the best pair of sunglasses I have ever used. Even if the arms get loose they still grab your head and will never fall off when you look down.

I always have 2 pairs on hand in case I lose one pair.

Current pair has been with me since last October. This means I am due to lose them soon.
I just ordered a pair of Oakley Jackets......STEELYeyed
May 17, 2002 12:31 PM
with Rx gold Iridium lenses,$325 smackos!.......... they had better be good.
I just ordered a pair of Oakley Jackets......PhatMatt
May 17, 2002 1:17 PM
When I use to shoot competively that is all I would wear, but that is before I needed glasses. I love the wualit of Oakley's lens (of old) but just to much scratch now. I will stick to my bolle's
you're gonna be kickin' yourself in the ass...dustin73
May 17, 2002 5:28 PM
the first time you scratch that lens...and believe me, it'll happen. Oakley lenses are too delicate to use for sports such as riding. i got a pair of their snowboarding goggles and somehow have managed not to scratch those (Blue Iridium), and my XXs (Ice Iridium (absolute best lens made))are the same. i had a pair of E-Frames that had scrathced lenses, and Oakley replaced just the lenses for 15$ + shipping. not sure how they'd handle Rx lenses.

the worst part about it is that i have yet to wear anything that comes close to the Oakley optical clarity. Rudys, no; Zeal, no; Smith, no (though i didn't get to actually ride them, just a couple hours of wearing). if only Oakley would match Rudy "no scratch guarantee", life woule be grand.
Best hands down Adidas Evil Eyes -DY
May 17, 2002 11:26 PM
I don't know why they aren't available here in the US. Bought mine in Germany. They come with two sets of lenses. Very easy to change (unlike Smith sliders). Hard storage case. Adjustable like no other pair of sun glasses I've ever seen. Nose bridge adjustable for width, temples adjustable up and down to change the angle at which the wind hits them or to compensate if you have one ear lower than the other :) Vents everywhere. I've never fogged these up like I used to on my Spys. Even has a area on the nose bridge for a snap in Rx insert. Super sticky rubber on the nose piece and ear areas for no slip. What more can you ask for? Well they cost me about $150 but I think I'll be using them for a long while to come. As a side note, a lot of the Northern European cross country skiers were using them in this last Olympics. They also make an accessory that is like an elastic strap from ski goggles. You pop off the temple pieces and snap this strap on. So then you have ski glasses.
Walmart for Bolle!!!!Asphalt Addict
May 18, 2002 6:35 AM
Anyone who's interested in purchasing Bolle sunglasses Walmart Superstore Optical shop has them. Cheaper than Performance.