RoadBikeReview.com's Forum Archives - General


Archive Home >> General(1 2 3 4 5 6 7 8 9 10 11 12 13 14 15 16 17 18 19 20 21 22 23 24 25 26 27 28 29 30 31 32 33 34 35 36 )


Opinions on carbon handle bars(15 posts)

Opinions on carbon handle barscyclinseth
May 16, 2002 10:35 AM
If you use them, which brand do you use? How do they compare with regular aluminum bars? Are they durable enough in a crash? How do they alter ride quality. Now that there are a number of companies making them, which brand would you recomend?
Kestrel and EastonDougSloan
May 16, 2002 10:42 AM
I have the Kestrel (not the new superlight one) and the Easton on two different bikes.

They weigh about the same as light aluminum bars -- about 200 - 220 grams.

They might cut road buzz just a little.

The Kestrel is far stiffer than the Easton, but heavier by about 20 grams. Kestrel is also stiffer than a Deda 215 I have.

I like the bends of the Kestrel better; I don't like the weird bend in the tops of the Easton.

The Kestrel has double cable groves, the Easton none (at least on mine).

The Kestrel is ok to use aerobars with; not permitted with Easton.

They both look sort of cool.

Have not crashed either.

I like Kestrel better over all.

Doug
Doug, did you weigh them?Ian
May 16, 2002 11:00 AM
Just curious, I thought the Kestrel bars were heavier than that. If they are that light, I don't care what Kestrel says, I wouldn't trust aerobars on them.
Doug, did you weigh them?DougSloan
May 16, 2002 12:03 PM
around 220 for the Kestrels on my scale; they have been fine for about 5,000 miles of aerobar riding
Curious about...dsc
May 16, 2002 12:45 PM
which aerobars you're using.

I don't currently run them, but should I decide to in the future, I'd be interested in knowing which ones you've had good results with.

Thanks,
Debi
Curious about...DougSloan
May 16, 2002 1:07 PM
My favorite is the Syntace C2. It's very comfortable and light.

I've used the Profile Century, too, and it's not bad.

I have the Profile Carbon X on the time trial bike, which is very good, but it's an integrated handlebar/stem/aerobar.

Incidentally, I wrap a piece of Velox rim tape around the carbon under the aerobar clamp.

Doug
Cool, thanks for the info (nm).dsc
May 16, 2002 1:43 PM
Kestreldsc
May 16, 2002 11:17 AM
Have had the EMS Pro's on the bike since February. I like them alot. My hands fit into the hooks nicely, and I do think that they dampen road buzz, as compared to the aluminum Cinelli's that I had on before.

-The bars are 40 grams heavier (42mm) than the Eastons.
-I didn't like the crazy band on the Easton's, either.
-Don't ride w/ aerobars, so no help there.
-I have never crashed them.
-Kestrel's customer service is outstanding.

My .02.
-Debi
Easton...floatch
May 16, 2002 11:27 AM
I recently bought some Easton EC-90 carbon bars. I love 'em, because they absorb road chatter, and look hella cool. They're crazy light, which doesn't scare me, because I am too. They spun a little at first, but I realized my stem wasn't torqued to spec. They're the greatest! I did notice that I can grab them firmly at the drops and bend them slightly with great force. Again, this doesn't scare me, it's more of a selling point. I'm sure they'll never break on me during the course of normal riding. As far as crashing, I haven't... yet. I picture a shredded mess however. >shudder< I hope it doesn't happen!
Cinelli RamPdxMark
May 16, 2002 11:35 AM
Just checked-out a friend's Cinelli Ram handle bar. An extremely nice feeling bar. The flat tops feel great. He likes the dampening of chip seal road buzz. Internal cable guides for either Shimano or Campy... I think I know what I want for X-mas.
Cinelli RamPeter E
May 16, 2002 12:54 PM
You want an expensive christams gift, The RAM is NOT cheap, but awfully cool and have high want-to-have Stats
I crashed hard and the Kestrel bars...........................James
May 17, 2002 12:21 AM
I got nailed by a car about 2 months ago and slammed the bike hard. The Kestrel handle bars hit first and all of my 220 lbs followed. I figured the bars were toast(the frame was!), but they held true as can be. They are stiff as the best out there, I crank on the bars while standing and have no flex what so ever. Some of the Euro companies are coming out with carbon bars, but they seem to be really expensive. I'd suggest Kestrel's bars and say they worth the money.
I crashed hard and the Kestrel bars...........................dsc
May 17, 2002 8:56 AM
Sorry to hear about the crash - hope that you are fully recovered. Good to hear how well the bars held up.

Thanks for the info.

-Debi
re: Opinions on carbon handle barsCT1 Guy
May 17, 2002 10:58 AM
Checked out a pair of ITM Fibra at the LBS and was really disappointed to find it was an aluminum bar with a carbon wrap over the centre bulge. Heavier than Milleniums and about 3x the price - forget it.
Wouldn't go for the Easton with Campy - no cable grooves. Still looking to get some WR Compositi to go with their stem (guys who make the Pinarello stuff) has two grooves and is pretty light (not sure if you can get them in the US though)
WR CompositiDMoore
May 17, 2002 8:24 PM
You can get WR components through Dave Lloyd's website in England - I bought a WR seatpost from him. Also, the Stella Azzuro carbon bar is reported to be in fact a "re-badge" of the WR bar. I can't vouch for the bars, but the WR seatpost is the best I've owned.