RoadBikeReview.com's Forum Archives - General


Archive Home >> General(1 2 3 4 5 6 7 8 9 10 11 12 13 14 15 16 17 18 19 20 21 22 23 24 25 26 27 28 29 30 31 32 33 34 35 36 )


Campagnolo 8 Speed Record or 105 9 Speed(16 posts)

Campagnolo 8 Speed Record or 105 9 SpeedLaVieClaire
May 16, 2002 4:47 AM
I just bought a Scattante Zonal frame. I have the opportunity to equip it with the older Campagnolo 8 speed Record or a new 9 Speed 105 Group for about the same dollars. What should I do? The Campy group appears to be in good condition.
105 9vTJeanloz
May 16, 2002 5:10 AM
In my opinion, new 105 9 is going to be better for you than Campy8; unless you have some emotional attachment to Campy. The groups are probably similar in weight; the 9 speed 105 will probably work a little bit better. It's just a technology issue- 8 speed Campy Record is at least 5-6 years old at this point. The 105 group re-design was ~3 years ago- it is simply a higher level group in almost every way (excluding the emotions of owning what was the very best at some point). And 8 speed Campy is cruising towards complete obscelesence- the hub splines are different, parts will be available going forward, but much harder to find, and much more expensive than 105 parts.
105 9vLaVieClaire
May 16, 2002 5:12 AM
Since my Scattante is Italian, I thought the Campy parts would be appropriate.
silly thought fer yaloop
May 16, 2002 5:26 AM
Actually, your Scat is welded overseas in Taiwan. That would make a Shimano groupset more geogrpahically consistent...if that matters to you. ;))

Aside from that, I'd have to agree with the thoughts about a newer set from the standpoint of parts availability, assuming that you're buying on a budget and don't want to experience any "cost creep."

Either way, enjoy the new ride.

Scott
silly thought fer yaLaVieClaire
May 16, 2002 5:30 AM
No it isn't. Scattante is an Italian word and an Italian frame. Supergo.com has them, and they have Italian plastered all over them.
silly thought fer yaloop
May 16, 2002 5:47 AM
The tubing is Columbus, drawn/made in Italy. The frames are welded in Taiwan, the same place that does a lot of contract work for other companies like Specialized, Giant, etc....

That's not a bad thing, though. Your frame is an extrordinary bargain, and you should be justifiably pleased with your purchase!

Supergo is marketing the three Scat. frames using a wee bit of hype to try to entice more people to buy them. Again, please don't misunderstand me, the frames are fine, but they are not welded in Italy like Colnagos, Pin's, DeRosas, etc. I'm not slamming Supergo; it's business after all.

Nor am I slamming your decision. On the contrary, I think you made a great choice, maximizing your bang for the buck. Again, from the purely silly standpoint, if you want to be geographically connected with the bike, I'd respectfully recommend the 105 gruppo with and ITM cockpit and a Selle-anything saddle. That way you'd have the Asian and Italian connection made.

Cheers,
Scott
silly thought fer yaLaVieClaire
May 16, 2002 6:14 AM
So you are saying the bike is Taialian.
Sorry, Scattante is not Italianjtolleson
May 16, 2002 6:27 AM
Why not do Centaur 10v? (nm)ColnagoFE
May 16, 2002 7:33 AM
agree...C-40
May 16, 2002 8:13 AM
Centaur 10 speed is only about $100 more. Well worth it, IMO.
kinda hard to compare old with new groups as wellColnagoFE
May 16, 2002 10:04 AM
I mean you could probably get NOS Chorus 9 speed or the like for pretty cheap too and that would kick the pants out of 105 in my opinion. And you can upgrade to 10 speed with a few modifications if you wanted to.
Troll alertgrandemamou
May 16, 2002 9:08 AM
C'mon guys a total troll.

He's pretty transparent. Yeah, Yeah I know your legit and why am I being so mean.
Troll alertloop
May 16, 2002 4:54 PM
Nope,

I started thinking the same thing.

Radical Ron perhaps?
I'm leaning to agree,TJeanloz
May 17, 2002 4:21 AM
While initially the question seemed benign enough, the follow-ups know-it-all while actually knowing nothing style smacks of RRP.
O it is RRP! I know in my heart it is!!(nm)Crankist
May 17, 2002 5:26 AM
Same MO or a copycatgrandemamou
May 17, 2002 7:03 AM
Ask an inocuous but loaded question. Campy vs Shimano, How come AL bikes don't break etc. Respond to every response with same.