RoadBikeReview.com's Forum Archives - General


Archive Home >> General(1 2 3 4 5 6 7 8 9 10 11 12 13 14 15 16 17 18 19 20 21 22 23 24 25 26 27 28 29 30 31 32 33 34 35 36 )


Heard Bicycling magazine is completely changing formats for.(23 posts)

Heard Bicycling magazine is completely changing formats for.teacherguy
May 15, 2002 7:09 AM
. . the September issue. Moved into the same building as Mountain Biking, laid off some editers. Sad about the lay offs, but I think the rag could use an overhaul what do you guys think?
content vs formatDougSloan
May 15, 2002 7:19 AM
A format change won't do anything. They need a content change. The need more information, less fluff. They need to write for experienced cyclists as well as newbies. They need to stop hyping what are seemingly fantastic in-depth articles on the cover (how to ride hills faster) that are in reality 4 lines of obvious junk (ride more hills).

There is too much emphasis on format and marketing, and not enough on substance.

Doug
It's so funnyelviento
May 15, 2002 12:00 PM
how they can publish all that crap and call them training tips, such as "what if you are not a good climber?" answer: break away on the flats so you will have more time when you come to the hills.

Simply stupid.
Bicycle Magazine...Me Dot Org
May 15, 2002 7:30 AM
...reads like a glorified PowerPoint Presentation. It's all bullet points. There is virtually no writing. They've discovered that it's easier to change type faces than to think.
same objection, but...sprockets2
May 15, 2002 10:40 AM
I suspect a lot has to with the level of literacy and willingness to read amongst the readership. Of course, it is mainly the MTB guys! ; )
wow! now it'll be like a McDonalds picture menu!! (nm)EpicX
May 15, 2002 7:48 AM
ya, maybe no words at all nmDougSloan
May 15, 2002 7:50 AM
It's pathetic really.Sintesi
May 15, 2002 7:58 AM
I like Mountainbike and I like Zap Espinosa, but if Bicycling becomes a MTB mag clone then that won't be much of an improvement over the current form (although it will be an improvement nevertheless). It's a shame the US can't put out a decent cycling enthusiasts' magazine that doesn't keep repeating itself year after year after year. We deserve a US version of Cycling + or Velo.
what I don't understand is...DaveG
May 15, 2002 8:05 AM
Why the US market can only support one magazine (and not a very good one at that). Aren't there enough cycling nuts to support another magazine? Yet, Winning, Bicycle Guide/Bicyclist, RoadBike Action all went belly up. Even Britain has more cycling magazines for enthusiats than we do (I'm not counting VeloNews which is more race-coverage oriented). Skateboarders and kayakers have more magazine choices. I wish someone could step in and fill the void. Until that happens, I expect Bicycling to continue to stay content-free.
It's all about advertisingColnagoFE
May 15, 2002 9:41 AM
Bike equipment is not a big markup anyway so profit margins are pretty small on most stuff so they don't have a lot of $ to advertise and advertising is what keeps a magazine afloat. Those cheap subscription rates are not making them any cash--in fact they are probably losing $ from those. And products that do have a larger markup (ie luxury goods) will just advertise in a more general magazine to make the most of the advertising $.
Overhaul is neededAlpedhuez55
May 15, 2002 8:11 AM
You can read it through in about a half hour. I swear the editrors must think we have the attention span of a hyperactive 6 year old after drinking a six pack of Mountain Dew.

It would be nice to have well written articles rather than a bunch of boxes with a couple of sentences in it. I remember reading a wonderful article on the Chapel Madonna Ghisalo in Mountain Bike Magazine. It made me want to go there. It was 100 times better than anything Bicycling Magazine has written in the past several years.

I think they can keep a digest format for part of the magazine. I even get some chuckles out of the Style Man. But please throw in a couple well written articles that you can sit down and read.
But I haven't yet learned how to get "Legs of Steel!"jtolleson
May 15, 2002 8:19 AM
Cut them off of Tom... -nmSnowBlind
May 15, 2002 1:14 PM
Look Out USA Today!grzy
May 15, 2002 8:21 AM
Now if they'd just use that cheesy paper we'd have some good fish wrap.
Rodale might have bigger problems than mag formatLO McDuff
May 15, 2002 8:29 AM
Slightly off topic but interesting nonetheless. Rodale sic'd their lawyers on a small running website because of a "deep-link" to a runnersworld.com story.

http://www.wired.com/news/ebiz/0,1272,52514,00.html

The link was to a printer-friendly version which contained no advertising. The courts have ruled that deep-links do not violate "fair use".

What is really interesting is the hipocrisy of Rodale. Apparently they have deep-linked to a number of websites, INCLUDING the one to whom they sent the nastygram.

http://www.letsrun.com/2002/Runnersworldlawsuit.htm
they stuck it to the lawyersDougSloan
May 15, 2002 8:49 AM
They made the lawyers look like idiots. Sounds like the lawyers need to discuss things first with their client, and take a look at Rodale's website, too. Pretty funny.

Doug
yeah, but making it better would require WORK!!EpicX
May 15, 2002 8:54 AM
I think they are content to just splap it together at the last minute with stock images and recycled articles. They probably only have 3 people actually working on it. If they can continue to sucker people into paying 3 bucks for it without spending much $$ to produce it, why change?

People like US don't buy it because we know its crap; but all those newbies/casual riders at the grocery store or getting new gel shorts to go with their gel saddle on their suspension seatpost at the LBS don't know better. we see through the fluff and the BS ads, but they think it's cool.

the sad fact is there are more of THEM than US and that's who BiSICKling will continue to cater to.

damn i miss Winning. It was the only thing close to Cyclesport or ProCycling in the US and it didn't cost 8 bucks an issue... You think THEY put out a good TDF issue? HA! Winning used to have a GIANT format post TDF issue. i mean it was huge like 18"x12" huge. They would cover every stage and have these awesome 2 page photos that looked like posters. those were the days...
I miss...Frank
May 15, 2002 10:00 AM
Bicycle Guide, which changed to "bicyclist" before going out of business. I still go through the old copies just to look at the ride tests and more in-depth reviews on bikes.

I probably took them for granted when they were here, but now that they are gone I don't like any of the current stuff (CycleSport, Velo News, or Bicycling) enough to pay for renewal to a subscription.

I would subscribe to a good road bike only magazine, even if it was "bicyclist" reborn.
"Hot Tubes"DMoore
May 15, 2002 11:09 AM
My favorite feature in Bicycle Guide/Bicyclist, and in fact in any bike magazine, was the (almost) monthly "Hot Tubes." Each issue, they'd feature a different frame maker. Over the years they did features on quite a few builders (and even Joe Bell, the painter) that I found fascinating. I wish Bicycling would do something like that.

I keep subscribing to Bicycling, but I think it's only from morbid curiousity to see if the next issue manages to be even worse than the one preceding.
re: Heard Bicycling magazine is completely changing formats for.CT1 Guy
May 15, 2002 10:59 AM
I agree with previous poster on Bicycle Guide - seemed to be the only magazine with any substance. Maybe Bicycling's been rebranded as SUV Monthly as there were always more pictures of trucks than bikes....
Living here in the UK, we are certainly spoilt for choice with one weekly three pretty good monthlies, with Cycle Sport and ProCycling gunning after the English speaking market - I do get hacked-off sometimes about the over- bias, but then again, wouldn't want to lose the choice and they need the North American circulation.
Finally, I know that advertising rates in the US are a lot higher - maybe its cheaper to support non-US publications?
Bill Strickland...Jon Billheimer
May 15, 2002 12:04 PM
once told me that there simply are not enough roadies in the U.S. to support a magazine. I find it hard to believe, but that's what he said. He said the serious recreational and racing demographic only consists of 60,000 people and that isn't nearly enough. FWIW! I've long ago lost what little respect I ever had for Rodale Publishing. BTW, the two senior guys that they fired, due to "lack of demographic demand," Fred Matheny and Ed Pavelka, are doing quite nicely with their e-publishing business, which to me, gives the lie to Rodale's marketing assumptions.
re: Heard Bicycling magazine is completely changing formats for.NJRoad
May 15, 2002 12:10 PM
It never ceases to amaze me. Bicycling magazine is a rag, I come home, pull it out of the mailbox, sit on the can for 1/2 an hour, finish the mag and toss it in the recycling bin all within 40 minutes of seeing.

But extent to which people are able to refer with such disdain to a newbie or beginner in any hobby is incredible.

This is identical to the people who get upset that my wife is not a scratch golfer and therefore shouldn't be allowed on the course. Instead they think it more productive to stand bye and huff when she whiffes (sp.) on the tee.

Back to cycling, I consider myself exteremely fortunate to have been introduced to cycling by two riders who had no problem taking an extra long pull for someone who's getting into a sport that is nothing but positive for ANYONE remotely connected to that person. To laugh and make a point of dropping a "newbie" rider says nothing for anyones riding skills but says alot about their concern for the sport of cycling.

Stepping off the soapbox.
Italian Magazines Instead of BICYCLINGmerckxman
May 17, 2002 6:36 PM
Compared to Italian cycling magazines BICYCLING is pitiful.
CICLISMO has about 300 pages each month! Great fotos, reviews, racing, clubs, organized rides, etc. It's also quite interesting to see the product ads; there is another world out there! It's in Italian of course but after awhile you get get the sense of the articles. Email comedi@edisport.it for subscription information. LA BICICLETTA is also good; 200 pages approx a month. See www.cycling.it. Then there is CICLOTURISMO another good magazine running 200 pages a month. You can keep pretty busy reading these each month.