RoadBikeReview.com's Forum Archives - General


Archive Home >> General(1 2 3 4 5 6 7 8 9 10 11 12 13 14 15 16 17 18 19 20 21 22 23 24 25 26 27 28 29 30 31 32 33 34 35 36 )


good 1st bikes priced from $600-$750?(8 posts)

good 1st bikes priced from $600-$750?seangauvreau
May 14, 2002 9:42 AM
I am a former mountain biker. I moved to a large city and was making due with my Specialized Rockhopper, but unfortunatly it was recently stolen so I am in the market for a roadbike now. I would like some recommendations for a good first roadbike priced from $600-$750. I looked at a KHS Flite 100 and it seemed like a good bet, does anyone have anything to say about it?
thanks in advance.
You can get more value if you buy used....STEELYeyed
May 14, 2002 10:04 AM
I was looking for a road bike for my daughter last month and checked out all the entry level stuff,its not bad but it is not serious cycling equipment. I found a Serotta Classique with a mix of 105/Ultegra and Mavic OP's on RBR.com classifieds for $900,it didn't even have 500 miles on it and my daughter loves it. The only problem is with buying used is fit,you have to "measure twice and buy once"
because no bike is a bargain if it doesn't fit. This is just my opinion,others may vary.
I agree, buy used....tronracer
May 14, 2002 10:12 AM
Try the wrench science site to fit yourself. They were pretty right on when I tried it. Or spend $50 on a fit at the lbs and soak it up to the total cost of the bike. You'll be saving a bundle by buying used anyway. Just my 2 cents.
I'd be careful buying used.elviento
May 14, 2002 10:34 AM
If you are not reasonably experienced, it's easy to spend 75% retail for a 10+ year old model with hard to replace parts, consealed damage, ill fitting size, no service/refund/warranty, and a huge shipping charge. JUst a couple of days ago, someone on the board was considering buying a used/scratched C'dale CAAD3 FRAMESET for $500+.

Buying used usually works better for high end stuff and experienced buyers.

Take a look at Supergo, they might have some good deals.
True, buyer beware...used, new, whatever...tronracer
May 14, 2002 11:12 AM
Do your homework for a few weeks. Review this site and their classifieds. If you're in a big city, why not just get a single speed track beater and a tiny Ulock?? That old Pinarello track bike sold for just over 350 on Ebay.
My two centsMSA
May 14, 2002 11:33 AM
I tried to save money buying an inexpensive road bike, and ended up paying alot more in the long run. My advice is to bite the bullet and buy a good solid road bike. You can certainly save some $$$ buying an aluminum bike, but my suggestion is to go to a reputable shop, pay for the Fit Kit so you know exactly what size to get, and then consider getting a good solid steel bike. My brother, a very experienced cyclist, recommended the Tommasini listed at Colorado Cyclist. I ignored him because I thought it was too much money, and I've been kicking myself ever since.
KHS make great lower end bikesPODIUMBOUNDdotCA
May 14, 2002 11:49 AM
I used to ride a KHS track bike and it was great. So if it gets you out on the road thats cool.

My other piece of advice would be to get a mountain bike for the same price or a bit cheaper then invest in a pair of cheap wheels, put skinny road tires on it and possibly buy a stem that lowers your handlebars more. Then if you want get a 11-32 cassette so you have gears that are closer to road gears. That was my first road bike!!! Then you can switch back and forth riding road AND mountain with only one bike.

Cheers,
Nick
PodiumBound.ca
re: good 1st bikes priced from $600-$750?arslan
May 15, 2002 4:50 AM
I agree, you should go for a used bike.
But if you do decide to go for a new bike, than I would highly recommend Giant (OCR3,2). Giant simply has the best value.
Other bikes to look at: Trek 1000, Cannondale R400, Bianchi
Another reason why you should get a used bike is because you'll probably outgrow these entry level bikes anyway, and will have to buy a new bike.
So I'd say save money to buy a really good bike, for now, buy second hand..
good luck!