RoadBikeReview.com's Forum Archives - General


Archive Home >> General(1 2 3 4 5 6 7 8 9 10 11 12 13 14 15 16 17 18 19 20 21 22 23 24 25 26 27 28 29 30 31 32 33 34 35 36 )


Burning issue du jour: Color coordination, yes or no?(24 posts)

Burning issue du jour: Color coordination, yes or no?retro
May 14, 2002 8:27 AM
Well, this is sort of embarrassing, but it came up the other day when we ran across a couple of fops in jerseys, shorts, helmets and even gloves beautifully color-coordinated with their flashy, faddish bikes. We've seen these guys before, and they're ALWAYS fashion-correct, right down to their socks.
To me, this is just silly. I buy bike gear because it works, almost without regard for color or style except that I like a bright outer layer for visibility. Often that's an orange or neon green T-shirt. I'd frankly be embarrassed to ride in a "pro" jersey--it's like putting on pads to play football with your kids in the park, or painting your car like a NASCAR stocker.
Of the people I was with, though, a couple really liked the look and are shopping for jerseys to match their bikes.
Not a big deal, but does anybody have any feelings on this one way or the other?
re: Burning issue du jour: Color coordination, yes or no?Alpedhuez55
May 14, 2002 8:32 AM
Last year I bought a Green Giro Stelvio Helmet to match my Surly Cross Check. I have three helmets that match 3 of my 5 bikes. I think I have tried to buy jerseyes that match my bikes as well, but on the road, I like bright colors for visiblity reasons.
Sometimes style is all you got.Pack Meat
May 14, 2002 8:39 AM
I think racers should try to be coordinated, it's a matter of professionalism. Everybody else? Whatever. If you want to be Team McConnell and wear matching jerseys go crazy. Just remember somebody will always be looking at you and wondering if you have mirrors in your house. Do you care what you look like when you go to the gym?
Have you not got more important things to worry about? nm.unchained
May 14, 2002 8:42 AM
nm
Sounds like a "burning issue" to me.AllisonHayes
May 14, 2002 9:09 AM
D'ya gots sum problems wit dat, wiz guy?
Warning folks: this is profoundCrankist
May 14, 2002 9:18 AM
Judging from your handle
you have freed yourself
from the shackles of
fashion slavery.

Not all of us are wrought of such courage.
I am driven
to co-ordinate slightly
yes sometimes even to a worrisome degree.
I fret and I fret.
But I can always watch someone
who is overdressed and say:
"He looks douche-ey".
I am vindicated, validated
- I am alive.

M.2002
My point: fashion should not be an issue.unchained
May 14, 2002 9:31 AM
A fellow cycling enthusiast should be allowed to dress as they please, without worry of reprisal from either nosey neighbours, old retro-grouches, or the fashion police.

If people are more enthusiased about cycling, more visible to traffic, or more comfortable, whether co-ordinated or not, then all is well.
Well when I am on my faddish bike...agilis ti
May 14, 2002 9:03 AM
Doing my faddish intervals or my faddish basemiles I generally do like to match my pro-style clothes so that people who have very little to do will post a topic about me on the internet
To coordinate or not to coordinateonespeed
May 14, 2002 9:11 AM
I actually have a policy of buying any jersey that catches my eye but never the shorts, socks, hat or anything other than the jersey.

I made an exception when I bought a few jackets this last winter (the 2001 Alexia windstopper and the team long-sleeve zip up jacket for Tacconi-it matches my De Rosa). I rationalized these purchases because it was technical wear and kept my *ss warm this past winter.

My shorts are always a solid black. No piping, no colors whatsoever. My socks are always white. So color coordinating is really a very small endeavor on my part. My helmet is a gray Pneumo.

I feel like a "tool" (trying to avoid the Fredisms here)sometimes, but it is all in the pursuit of trying to look ones best at anything I do.

However, I dont think I will ever buy a jersey with pink in it though, just isnt my color.
ImagineCRM
May 14, 2002 9:24 AM
Imagine there's no heaven,
It's easy if you try,
No hell below us,
Above us only sky,
Imagine all the people
living for today...

Imagine there's no countries,
It isnt hard to do,
Nothing to kill or die for,
No religion too,
Imagine all the people
living life in peace...

Imagine no possesions,
I wonder if you can,
No need for greed or hunger,
A brotherhood of man,
Imagine all the people
Sharing all the world...

You may say Im a dreamer,
but Im not the only one,
I hope some day you'll join us,
And the world will live as one.

- John Lennon, 1971. (I think he was talking about this very issue!)
re: Burning issue du jour: Color coordination, yes or no?raboboy
May 14, 2002 9:24 AM
yeah, i like to look good, but I don't go out of my way to match or buy things just because they match. I go for quality & value first, but i try not to clash with other clothing or my bike if I can help it. I do like my mapei & rabobank jerseys, however. To me, it is just like wearing a red sox (or other pro team sport) cap or shirt anywhere else. I think they have cool designs and i like to support the companies that support the riders. The next time you are out among people look around and you will see advertising on most people's clothing, abercrombie, gap, llbean, patagonia, etc. Its a fact of life, companies have their name on your stuff, some more apparent than others. In the end, it is all just a matter of personal taste.
I agree.Ken of Fresno
May 14, 2002 11:29 AM
I think it is more along the lines of wearing a ball cap or a football or basketball jersey with your favorite team's logo. It just shows your interest in the sport. I don't think it implies you think you are good enough to be on that team or a hot shot of some sort. Just that you like the sport. Personally, I don't like the idea of having other people's or companies names on my body (kinda makes me feel like a billboard). But if a team jersey looked good, fit, and worked well I'd probably wear it.

Ken
I never, ever coordinate .... well almost neverMcAndrus
May 14, 2002 9:28 AM
I try my best to not worry about such things. As long as you ride, who cares what you wear?

Then this morning, as I'm packing my gym bag for the Tuesday night world championships I have a Stars & Stripes Jersey, black shorts, and my only clean socks are yellow. Oh, no! Yellow doesn't match.

But then I took a deep breath and threw them in the bag - remembering the first rule of worrying more about the ride than the clothes.
My favorite color is Blue...biknben
May 14, 2002 10:10 AM
It's got nothing to do with fashion, style, or whatever. I like the color blue. I own a blue road bike (yellow decals). My MTB is blue and yellow. My volkswagen is blue. I'm wearing a blue sweater right now. I often wear a Fasso Bartoli jersey because it caught my eye. Guess what, it's blue and white.

All of these items were chosen because of what appealed to me. If my outfits happens to be coordinated it's just coincidence.

Just to throw you off, my team jersey is red and yellow. I wear it only during races. I think it is butt ugly. Even I can't look at myself in that jersey. I won't subject anyone else to it unless I have to.
If you race for a team it's kind of a givenJS
May 14, 2002 10:13 AM
That your team kit is gonna match.
re: More Like a Burning Sensation...jrm
May 14, 2002 10:53 AM
You should get that checked...

PS: my $.02 says NO to color coordination.
When I play basket ball in my sneakers,elviento
May 14, 2002 11:03 AM
you will probably think I am pretending to be Jordan. Has it crossed your mind that people might ride bikes more seriously than playing football with your kids in the park, whether they earn a living out of it or not? Has it also crossed your mind that cycling, fortunately and unlike NASCAR, is available to the general public so your analogy doesn't really make sense?

Reverse snobbery, this is. Contrary to what you think, dressing in flashy clothes doesn't make them lessor cyclists than you are. Cipo wears all those tiger/muscle and other outrageous outfits, but he is still a great cyclist. Also there is nothing to be proud of to have dull and ill matching clothes.
I agree with elvientoQubeley
May 14, 2002 11:14 AM
I noticed a lot of cyclists realized the rule "wear team jersey and you are Fred", then they go out to buy all these "plain", "tasteful", "right" castelli, pearl izumi stuff. They are the real posers, trying to dress like catalog models. A lot of the people I know who wear team jerseys don't even follow Pro cycling at all.
re: Burning issue du jour: Color coordination, yes or no?fracisco
May 14, 2002 11:36 AM
Jeez, I'm a new roadie, and I'm trying not to stand out. But then again, my bike is kermit the frog green, so I think I already blew it. And I think I like black socks better. And I have learned why a good jersey costs a lot more than a cheap one, and I'll save my dollars for a good (plain) one rather than buy a cheap (plain) one.
I just saw a guy in plaid pants and shirtmoneyman
May 14, 2002 11:41 AM
Seriously. Two different patterns. It really looked odd.

I don't dress like that. I wear suits to work every day. In the evenings and weekends when I am out of the house, I wear clothes that are coordinated and tasteful. I like to dress nicely. It leaves people with the impression that you care about yourself and your surroundings. I think it has something to do with respecting yourself and the things you own, or more precisely, what it took to obtain the things you own.

If I am conscientious about what I wear off the bike, why would I want that to change when I am on the bike? I like to wear clothes that are neat, functional and look good.

And if you intentionally wear cycling clothing that is not coordinated, isn't that the same thing as wearing clthing that is coordinated? After all, you are spending time worrying about what you wear and not concentrating on the ride.

I have a fifteen-year old daughter who dresses uniquely and a bit against the grain. She sees it as a sign of independence and rebellion, much like I did when I was fifteen (twenty-nine years ago). The ironic part of this is that she is, like I was, dressed the same as everyone else she hangs around. They all dress uniquely alike.

I like color coordination. It is more pleasing to the eye, more aesthetically appealing, and I feel better when dressed that way. Why do you wear the orange or neon-green T-shirt? Sending a message to society? Because your friends do? T-shirts and long bike rides are not complementary to each other. T-shirts are baggy and flap horrendously in the wind. They do nothing to transfer moisture to keep you cool in the summer and warm in the winter. In fact, they hold all that moisture making you wet and clammy in hot weather and freezing in cold weather. There is no advantage to be gained by wearing a T-shirt except to say that you are NOT wearing a cycling jersey. Do you wear cut-off jeans for shorts? How about sneakers for shoes. You wouldn't want to be seen as a conventional cyclist and wear all that funny spandex, even though it is is extremely functional and well-made, would you? I didn't think so.

Please post a pciture of yourself riding in your neon T-shirt, cut-offs and Converse All-stars WITH the unmatched striped tube-sox while riding in your local office park criterium. I need some new wallpaper, as I am tired of the Graham Watson photo of the Koppenberg. You know that one, don't you? Its the one with the riders wearing color coordinated outfits.

$$
Color coordination -sounds like a fred/poser issue...PdxMark
May 14, 2002 11:58 AM
Why does anyone care what anyone else wears? One friend wears pro kits. Another friend wears gym shorts & t-shirts... I like them both... Maybe we should worry less about the color of a strangers shorts and more about how to get more kids off their fat butts and onto bikes.

(Or maybe I'm just feeling self-conscious since I have a Team Saeco Cannondale on the way from gvhbikes...)

Personally, I prefer dayglow-bright jerseys for solo rides. I have a few older dark jerseys I wouldn't buy now... I have my eye on a Freddie Rodriguez Stars & Stripes Domo jersey as my first "pro" jersey. It fails my dayglow bright rule, but is a sharp looking shirt.
Who cares about this non-burning issue?jtolleson
May 14, 2002 12:08 PM
We analyze the matchy-matchy team wear at least once a week. Give it a rest! Who cares what others wear?

Don't like it? Don't wear it.
Just a reminder . . .CRM
May 14, 2002 1:54 PM
Not everyone is on this board all-day, every day so issues are going to come up again and again.

I completely agree with you on the issue, though. The prevalence of topics in the "He/she likes something different from me and therefore is a Fred/Poseur/Loser" category makes a real statement about at least a portion of the cycling population.
Just a reminder . . .jtolleson
May 14, 2002 2:15 PM
I don't mind the repeats. Frame materials, sizing, double v. triple, even "why should I shave." But the obsession over what OTHERS wear (ie., not questions about who makes a good bike short) bespeaks a different kind of problem.