RoadBikeReview.com's Forum Archives - General


Archive Home >> General(1 2 3 4 5 6 7 8 9 10 11 12 13 14 15 16 17 18 19 20 21 22 23 24 25 26 27 28 29 30 31 32 33 34 35 36 )


Looking for advice on Kids' Bike Trailers...(9 posts)

Looking for advice on Kids' Bike Trailers...chrisbaby
May 13, 2002 10:09 AM
...I know about the Burley and Yakima models. Are there any other good models/brands out there (alas there is no review section devoted to these)? My primary concern is safety. Secondary is durability and performance. What is the minimum weight a child can ride in one of these?

thanks in advance!
re: Looking for advice on Kids' Bike Trailers...MrCelloBoy
May 13, 2002 10:22 AM
I remember strapping my kid AND carseat into my Burley before my son(s) could sit up on their own. As long as the top of the trailer is taller than the top of the carseat this can work. I think the baby's ability to sit up by his/her self is more critical than weight.

The Burley in my opinion is the greatest kid-trailer since sliced bread. You can clearly see their thinking in the design. I was thrown off at first by the fact that the trailer was "offset" to the left until I realized that it gave you the same curb clearance as your cranks.
The folding version (D'Lite) was the lightest and most convenient for me.
BurleyAndante
May 13, 2002 10:52 AM
We have the Burley Double. Fits in the car fine (folds up). Have used it from first few weeks of life (with infant seat buckled in). Very well made, have had it over 40mph, and durable. Also holds resale well. Recommend spending the extra money for the Burley.
I would buy BurleyMisJG
May 13, 2002 11:27 AM
If I had it to do over again. I thought I would save some money and bought a trailer that cost about half what a Burley cost. Mistake. The trailer is heavy, I don't like the way it hooks onto the left chainstay as the connection device begins to rub the spokes after a few right turns. I shoulda just spent the extra money and gotten the Burley, but I didn't know the difference at the time. Since I don't like the trailer I bought, it makes it harder to get motivated for a ride with it. I wish I could remember the name of the company, but I haven't used it since last year so I can't think of it. . .
Too bad "Trailers" are not in the review section! (nm)MisJG
May 13, 2002 11:29 AM
Re: Good resale value.MrCelloBoy
May 13, 2002 12:01 PM
I'd imagine this is true, but I've also picked them up for a song ($50-100) more than once because yuppies buy them then never end up using them enough and want to unload 'em.
I live in the greater San Francisco bay area, and there are a lot of cycling "yup's" here.
It case you don't get it yet....get the Burley.Scot_Gore
May 13, 2002 12:23 PM
If your primary concerns are Safety, Durability and Performance and Price is somewhere else down the list, get the Burley.

Go to your LBS put the Burley and whatever competition they carry side by side. Now...while looking at them, imagine each barrell rolling down the side of a hill. Once you compare the quality and completeness of the safety cages it looks obvious to me.

Our Burley worked great (never had the barrell roll scenario, but it only takes one). Sold it by putting it in the front yard with a sign on it for between 75 & 80% of what we paid for it.

My 2 Cents

Scot
a few thoughts on Bike Trailers...bill
May 13, 2002 12:58 PM
I have a Burley. A nice piece of equipment; I have no complaints. Nothing really to compare it to, though.
There are, however, a few things you should know before taking the plunge.
I would recommend against using it before the kid is at least one year/eighteen months. The issue is not about keeping the head up; it's about keeping the brains unscrambled. I remember reading some stuff about brain shakes in younger kids, specifically in relation to trailers, that scared the pants off of me. There is no suspension on those things, and baby gets a good going over. I think as much as anything that's why they recommend mph limits.
Also, neither of my kids LOVED the trailer. They would get excited about it and then get bored. Unless the kid falls asleep, you can get maybe forty-five minutes out of a ride before you have to hit some swings or whatever. And you're usually talking them through for the last fifteen of that. And then it's harder to get them back in the trailer for the ride home. Think about it- the visibility is mostly daddy's rear wheel, you can't REALLY talk or sing or whatever, and they're stuck in there with a couple of books, some toys, a snack and a drink, which is all great, but for a two-year old, that's about ten minutes work.
2d that.djg
May 14, 2002 7:43 AM
I don't have a Burley. I've got a budget model (Bell) that I bought at Costco. Looks strikingly like the Burley--also has 2 5-point harnesses; also has an AL frame surrounding the carriage.

But as Bill said, the safety features of any particular trailer are likely to be SWAMPED by other safety issues. Specifically: (1) is your child really ready to ride in the thing? (talk to your pediatrician--not strangers on the internet--and do not wing it; there's a developing brain in there); (2) how safely are you riding? (this is as much about where and when as it is about your bike skills--the only bike trailer that will protect your kid against a 4x4 says "Winnebago" on it).

And, as Bill says, the trailer has social limits as well as physical ones. My daughter loves getting in the thing. She complains bitterly (usually) if the ride doesn't last at least a half an hour. But she almost never wants to go a whole hour. It's a nice little thing to do together. And it's a nice way to get on the bike on a day that wouldn't otherwise allow it. But I haven't met the kid who is happy to sit there while you rack up the miles.