RoadBikeReview.com's Forum Archives - General


Archive Home >> General(1 2 3 4 5 6 7 8 9 10 11 12 13 14 15 16 17 18 19 20 21 22 23 24 25 26 27 28 29 30 31 32 33 34 35 36 )


Davis Double anyone???(7 posts)

Davis Double anyone???MrCelloBoy
May 13, 2002 10:04 AM
I'm planning on having the best time ever on my sixth Davis Double since 1974. Anyone else going?
I plan to ride smarter and finish fresher and earlier than in the past.
I'm in.Lon Norder
May 13, 2002 11:05 AM
Looks like it's going to be cooler this year. Last two years it was 102 and 100 F.

Did you ride in cutoffs and tennis shoes in '74?
I'm in.MrCelloBoy
May 13, 2002 12:08 PM
No, but I'd have sagged in if it hadn't been for a 15 yr. old kid who inspired me after lunch to keep on going.
I DID have nailed-on cleats though.
I really doubt rain this year. It's looking really good so far, 70's-80's. I'm praying for no headwinds on the long flat home stretch.
I've seen some loonies on this course over the years; a unicyclist, Schwinn-Twinn tandem team unloading concrete from panniers at the first climb, marathon runner riding an original Schwinn excelsior with basket...

My best finish has been about 14 hrs. I'm aiming for about 13 this year by hanging out less at the many rest stops, starting slower, and having more left for the end.
Yeah, it's the people that make the DDC fun.Lon Norder
May 13, 2002 1:50 PM
Of the 6 or 7 different California doubles I've done I think the DDC course is the least appealing (too much Central Valley riding). Plus, the two years I've ridden it it's been brutally hot. Last year a newbie I was riding with almost died (I kid you not). She had lost so much fluids that her veins collapsed and it took the doc 10+ tries to get an IV into her. I've also seen some ugly encounters between cyclists and impatient drivers. And I bet alot of the people hauling boats back from the lakes are drunk (2 years ago the CHP had a sobriety checkpoint set up - they were stopping only people hauling boats).

Still, I'm going back for more... or maybe it's the Sudwerk Heffeweizen I'm going back for.
Please don't Rainjvr-oclv
May 13, 2002 11:26 AM
Will be my third time. Did it last time 13 hrs. with stops. Please don't rain...100 deg. heat no problem. Have a good 200 miles!!!
BTW, Lon and JVR...MrCelloBoy
May 13, 2002 12:11 PM
I'll be the 5'8" guy on a nondescript ibis road bike, wearing a Terrible Two (overkill) Jersey and a bright yellow helmet. I'll also probably be one of the few single bikes willing to take a pull on a tandem train.
Doh! I'm gonna miss it by 2 days. Darn! (nm)Kristin
May 13, 2002 11:59 AM