RoadBikeReview.com's Forum Archives - General


Archive Home >> General(1 2 3 4 5 6 7 8 9 10 11 12 13 14 15 16 17 18 19 20 21 22 23 24 25 26 27 28 29 30 31 32 33 34 35 36 )


trunk rack suggestions???(8 posts)

trunk rack suggestions???Aztecs
May 13, 2002 4:39 AM
My friend is just getting into biking and would like to purchase a relatively inexpensive trunk rack (holding 2 bikes). Any suggestions in the $50-70 range. Thanks in advance for any suggestions/reviews!

Az
Saris Bones, but it will probably cost more.Spoke Wrench
May 13, 2002 4:49 AM
Strap-on racks have two serious problems. First of all, if you use it regularly, by the end of the season you will be able to tell where the feet sat on your car.

The second big problem is straps that loosen up and sometimes cause your rack and bikes to fall off of the car while you're driving down the highway. The Bones rack has nice sturdy metal cam locks for the straps that keep them tight. The plastic strap tighteners just don't get the job done.
Yes, Saris Bones is solid & worth the money [nm]jagiger
May 13, 2002 7:01 AM
I agree... Lost a bike once...tronracer
May 13, 2002 5:45 AM
Riding back from a race. My friend was driving my car and I was napping. He woke me up with..."Dude your bike just flew off the trunk rack." WHAT A RUDE AWAKENING!!! I look to see my bike doing a somersault at 70 mph and cars swerving to avoid it. We pull over get out and run to see the bike now on the shoulder of the road. Frame cracked. Trek can fix it for $200. No thanks, I'll just get a new bike. Found a Vicious cycles frame with CK headset, and Rock Shox sid xc for $350 (Used). Deal. Thule Roof rack for $85 (Used) at swap with three bike rails + fairing $15 (Used) + Fit kit for myt car 49.95 (New). 149.95 for a roof rack. Costs more to fix a bike if the frame cracks. Draw your own conclusions.
Rhode Gear Shuttle..Lowend
May 13, 2002 6:12 AM
Had the Shuttle for six years now and never lost a bike. As long as the straps are tight, you have nothing to worry about. The only complaint is the fine scratches on the trunk lid. The car is now six years old also, so who cares about a little scratch.
got lucky this weekendPaulCL
May 13, 2002 6:31 AM
Drove up to Columbus from Cincinnati with my beloved Colnago on an eight year old Rhode Gear trunk rack. As I removed the rack from the car, it broke apart in my hands. I was about one pothole from losing my baby off the back of the van. It knew its' time was near, but not that near. Time to buy a new trunk rack.

I had already planned to replace it with a Saris Bones three bike carrier. Very sturdy and solid. I don't travel with the bike enought to justify a roof rack.

I have a hitch mount that I can't use anymore. Anyone want a good hitch mount rack??? Real cheap.
re: trunk rack suggestions???raboboy
May 13, 2002 10:31 AM
Have a Bones also, and it is very solid. It will cost slighly more (approx $110) for the 2 bike rack.
Saris Bones 3 bike for $109.99PaulCL
May 13, 2002 12:05 PM
at Performance in grey color only. On backorder for a couple of weeks.