RoadBikeReview.com's Forum Archives - General


Archive Home >> General(1 2 3 4 5 6 7 8 9 10 11 12 13 14 15 16 17 18 19 20 21 22 23 24 25 26 27 28 29 30 31 32 33 34 35 36 )


An illustrated Ride Report(44 posts)

An illustrated Ride ReportMB1
May 12, 2002 10:08 AM
Miss M and I like to ride from home rather than drive to the start of a ride. We also like to do long rides in the country. For some reason we got the idea that it would be nice to combine the two. This is a report of what can happened if you act on your ideas.

We started out from home taking the shortest route out of town. We were riding on tree lined, traffic free rural roads after about 20 miles.

We were heading towards Sharpsburg and the Antietam Battlefields. Normally about a two hour drive, we were about to find out how long it would take by bike.
Mile 57MB1
May 12, 2002 10:11 AM
Of course it wasn't going to be a flat ride. We were going to have to cross a couple of mountains and skirt the Blue Ridge coming and going. Here is Miss M flying down Deer Spring after crossing Catoctin Mountain.
sunny day, perfect road and no cars...is this heaven?(nm)merckx56
May 12, 2002 10:13 AM
Funny, many of the cars we saw had bikes on them.MB1
May 13, 2002 5:45 AM
There we were riding on a perfect day and there were all these cyclists driving. We figured there must have been a race or something.

We left home early to get out of town on roads that often are busy with autos. In the afternoon we took the C&O tow path (much to Miss M's disgust) to cut around busy roads.

There was about a 10 mile stretch in the morning and evening with lots of traffic and Georgetown is always congested.

Why would I take and post pictures of traffic?
Mile 65MB1
May 12, 2002 10:13 AM
Next up South Mountain. Here we are climbing Mountain Church Road. Have I mentioned yet what a perfect day for riding it was? Everything was green, there were still blossoms on the trees and spring flowers, temps were perfect for riding and there wasn't much wind.
Beautiful!!mosovich
May 12, 2002 6:30 PM
Ah to be in your shoes. Make sure you truly enjoy every ride, some of us have to fight traffic, even in the country.
South Mountain a bit of a climb...Brooks
May 13, 2002 8:39 AM
as I recall. Thanks for the photos. Brings back lots of memories.
Brooks
Mile 69MB1
May 12, 2002 10:15 AM
On the top of South Mountain we encountered the first of the many Civil War Memorials we would see. The War Correspondents Memorial at Gapland Park.
Mile 81MB1
May 12, 2002 10:17 AM
We hit Sharpsburg at mile 78 a couple more miles through the Antietam Battlefield and we were ready to start heading home. We started to pass and be passed by many groups of cyclists-this area is really great for riding. We talked to a lot of them, as you would expect except for the locals they had all driven for a least an hour before starting to ride.

Here we are crossing a one lane stone bridge over Antietam Creek which for a couple of days 150 years ago ran red with blood.
Mile 120MB1
May 12, 2002 10:19 AM
Riding like this is bound to make you hungry. In the afternoon it got close to 70 degrees. How to find relief from the heat???

A cone larger than Miss M ought to hit the spot.
i'll have one. looks delicious! nmcolker
May 12, 2002 10:40 AM
nm
Mile 120mosovich
May 12, 2002 6:26 PM
70 degrees hot!? That would be heaven here, it was 93 here with 96% humidity, now that's alot of heat!
Mile 135MB1
May 12, 2002 10:21 AM
I love to ride on the C&O tow path. Not so Miss M. Right after I took this picture she hit a rock, did a faceplant and ended up under her bike. Discretion keeps me from posting that pix.
How is Miss M after her faceplant?AllisonHayes
May 13, 2002 2:51 PM
Was she injured at all? How does she feel today?

Thanks for the pics!!! I particularly enjoyed it when you pointed out the historical facts along the route.

I also like Doug's idea about more people posting pics of their rides around the world. Thanks for showing us the way, MB1.
Mad as a wet cat!MB1
May 13, 2002 3:21 PM
No damage done, it was just a slide on a dusty dirt trail. She has quite a temper and she blamed it on me for choosing the route. It didn't take her long to calm down and start enjoying the ride again.

The beer at the end helped a lot too. On Sunday she kicked my butt on our 50 mile SS recovery ride-then we went dancing (but that is another story).
Mile 149MB1
May 12, 2002 10:22 AM
Riding builds up a powerful appetite. Not to mention a deep thirst. Chipotles ought to take care of that. Miss M's post-biff disposition was definately improved by the creveza.
Nice Image!Kristin
May 13, 2002 6:50 AM
You're a bit of a table top buff, no? This is a really nice composition...good symetry, nice balance of color and texture. I'm impressed. Miss M likes her drops, eh? BTW, I'm curious... Why do you call her Miss M? Isn't she rather more like a Mrs. M?
Tried to take a pic for everyone.MB1
May 13, 2002 7:05 AM
I started calling her Miss M when we were courting, never stopped. Otherwise she would be "Mrs. B.". Actually it kind of suprised me that she changed her last name when we got married. I was flattered.

When we first met she didn't fit her bikes all that well. It wasn't too hard to make a few changes in her setup to get a better fit. We also got rid of the bikes that didn't work for her.

Now she mostly rides her Rivendell with 26" wheels that fits her to a "T". Her Merlin is a little faster on flat roads but the Rivendell is more comfortable for long rides.
Mile 150 (BIG SMILES ALL AROUND!)MB1
May 12, 2002 10:24 AM
A couple miles more across the Key Bridge and through that nasty Georgetown Saturday Night traffic (made even worse by a few brews) and we are done. What a nice day. We decided that we will definitely do something like this again soon, only start earlier so we can go even further afield.

Mid-span of the Key Bridge.
Great little trip. You have suceeded in making me...JBurton
May 12, 2002 12:36 PM
homesick, however. I miss the east coast. No offense to Texas, though. Great rides here also. But the east coast....
Looks Like a Great Timejagiger
May 12, 2002 10:27 AM
I know some of the country, although not all the backroads that you took and it's pretty country, a little hilly to be sure! Thanks for the sharing your ride!
Thank you for sharing that. NMStewK
May 12, 2002 11:24 AM
Thank you for sharing that. NMAkirasho
May 12, 2002 11:39 AM
... ditto...

I was a bit surprised at how much I enjoyed seeing your photos (not the least of which would have been the fact that it's been raining hard and long here all day)!

We abide.

Remain In Light.
re: An illustrated Ride ReportScot_Gore
May 12, 2002 12:02 PM
Mark,

Thanks for sharing the ride report.
I'm a Civil War buff, so this ride and the last one to Gettysburg were great to see.

If you're looking for suggestions and like to visit Civil War sites, I'd love to see a picture of the "Crater" at Petersburg. I dropped this into MS Streets and Trips and it came out as 142 miles one way from Arlington VA, so this may be a little far for a there and back again outing. I'd be trilled to do the trip vicariously through you.

Here's the route
Thanks again you and Miss M are amazing and inspirational.
Scot
Living in DC we ride around a lot of battlefields.MB1
May 13, 2002 5:58 AM
We are often in or near Fredericksburg, Spotsylvania, Manassas and Richmond. It is suprising how many battlefields there are.

One of the oddest is when we rode past the grave of Stonewall Jacksons arm. There is some odd stuff out there...
Odd? Only if you're a transplanted yankee (as am I, btw). nmbill
May 13, 2002 6:16 AM
nm
Thanks for posting the map, tooKenS
May 12, 2002 12:37 PM
And where did you get your automobile vaporizer? I want one.
oops, thought that was MB1's triptik (nm)KenS
May 12, 2002 12:56 PM
Beautiful.Spinchick
May 12, 2002 3:42 PM
Almost felt as if I was there - especially the ice cream cone pic.

Great ride!
I thought you would prefer the beer pix.MB1
May 13, 2002 2:51 AM
After all those months of abstaining. Nothing like a good post ride feed.
Fantastic Production!!!jc66502
May 12, 2002 8:35 PM
Best thing I've read in ages! Thank you for taking the time and making the effort to post!
Wonderful ride!!rwbadley
May 12, 2002 9:10 PM
Thanks for the pics of your day
Gorgeous weather here in Reno NV too!
In a word ... idyllic. nmRoyGBiv
May 13, 2002 4:43 AM
nice countrysideDougSloan
May 13, 2002 5:26 AM
Looks like a nice place to ride. Very green.

More people should do this kind of post, so we can see what's it's like throughout the country (or world).

Doug
Wasn't sure if people would like it.MB1
May 13, 2002 5:50 AM
It isn't the usual thing we see here although on the MTB review page they do it a lot.

So are you going to tell us about the CCD?
CCDDougSloan
May 13, 2002 6:23 AM
I like the stories, especially with pix. Heck, it beats talking about pro racers or just equipment any day. The ride stories are the guts and glory of what we do.

I made a decision to ride this CCD purely for pleasure -- no worries about time, placing, or anything -- just have fun (only get in before dark).

It was in the 30's at the start at 5:40 a.m., but you begin climbing right away. It's cold enough that you acutally welcome the climbing. There were 147 people entered. Most of them I've seen, if not met, on many doubles around California or the 508. I wear my 508 jersey, so that's a great conversation starter -- "What's your totem?", it usually begins ("Dog").

I started out with the Penguin, Peter Pop, a sort of ultra-maniac who's done many RAAM's. But, the Mike Mosely tandem train came by, and I jumped on. Mosely is famous for pulling lots of cling-ons through doubles around here, including this one. He just flies down hill and on the flats. For some reason, I can always perfectly sync with his tandem, while I take it easy on the climbs and ride along side him and talk, then jump on as he hits 28 mph on the flats. We did that for about 20 miles, leaving many solos who tried to jump on in the dust. I don't know why, but many solos just can't hang on the train -- maybe they don't draft closely enough.

We were getting ready to make the turn to the first checkpoint atop the 20% grade, but Mosely tells me he's not going that way, as he burned up his brakes once before on the hairy descent folling the checkpoint. He predicted he'd come out on Highway 1 behind me, but later I found he came out way ahead and I never saw him again.

Rode with a few people on to Cambria, then up the coast to the second checkpoint at 67 miles. We picked up some goobers who went out too fast and then jumped on with us. I tell you, someone should give some lessons in paceline riding (we did try along the way). There were a few guys who did not have a clue, surging ahead on the front, staying up front too long until their speed dropped 5 mph, pulling off different directions each time, leaving gaps in the line, blowing through stop signs, weaving -- you name it. If it weren't for a 20 mph headwind, I'd have said screw it.

At the second checkpoint at 67 miles, some guys went on as I was in the restroom, and some lingered. So, I took off alone, which turned into riding the rest of the 209 miles alone. Just as well, I'd rather look at the ocean and mountains than someone's back tire any day. The coast line is beautiful, and this time no fog. Gorgeous scenery, smell of the ocean, sunshine, not a care in the world.

Turned to make the Nacimiento climb, 2,800 feet in 7 miles, and have great views of the ocean after every switch back, finding myself higher and higher until over half a mile up looking down on the ocean. This is one of the most scenic climbs on the coast. I pass some poor guy, a strong rider, but in too tall of gears. I spin happily by in my triple and 25 cog, while he muscles his double, doing the ditch to ditch weave. I wasn't even breathing hard at all. I decided to keep it that way the whole ride -- never even the slightest bit anaerobic. I want to remember my last double in a while to be fun. It is truly amazing what a difference low gears make on these hilly doubles; it really saves your legs.

Made it to lunch at 113 miles at 12:37. Remember that at this ride you are "off the clock" at lunch, so it encourages taking your time. I ate plenty, talked to a few people, had 1 1/2 Mountain Dews, and then left alone at 1:09. Throughout the rest of the ride, it was sunny and 70's or low 80's, and I just cruised. Sometimes strong climbers would pass me on the bigger hills, but then I'd go zooming past them on the following descents and flats. I was keeping a constant output, which I don't think many other people do. Plus, I get in a very aero position on the aerobars. It seems most people ride the climbs all ou
damn truncation!DougSloan
May 13, 2002 6:36 AM
I just lost about 5 minutes of writing! I hate when it cuts off, especially because it all shows up in the preview window.

...It seems most people ride the climbs all out and then have little left for the flats. I think that on the longer rides you do better with even output, the same on the hill as the flats, which evens out energy usage and allows food to digest better.

After the hill following last checkpoint at 179 miles, it was tailwinds most of the way in. I was cruising at 32 mph on the flats. I absorbed one guy, and we tried working together a bit, but he dropped off. I guess I don't make very good shelter when on the aerobars. Didn't matter, though, with that tailwind.

Got in at 7:03 p.m., only 15 minutes slower than last year when I rode hard with the leaders until bonking going up the coast. You really don't want to bonk at 70 miles in a hard double. I felt fine, except for the usual points of contact irritations.

That's pretty much it. It was sort of an idyllic ride, too. Never pushed it hard, great scenery and weather, a ride to remember. Isn't that what's it's all about?

Doug
Nice report, now I am jealous.MB1
May 13, 2002 6:55 AM
The Central Coast Double has always been one of my favorites. So many rides, so little time...

Course we are a little slower than you are. We get there in the end just the same (with big smiles on our faces).
sorry, Doug, we've been working on the truncation problem...gregg
May 13, 2002 7:03 AM
...for a while now. Unfortunately, we always seem to end up chasing our tails on this one. Still working on it.

-gregg
that's alrightDougSloan
May 13, 2002 7:25 AM
I know it's there, and you probably need some way of keeping your server from getting filled up with excessively long posts - I just forget about it and type too much and then lose it. I'm not faulting you at all.

Doug
Enjoyed the views, MB1. How did you get out of town? Thesebill
May 13, 2002 6:14 AM
are some of the same roads used by the club (I think that it's a Baltimore club) who set up the Battlefield Century last September, but of course, being mere mortals, we drove to western Maryland. Really pretty.
I thought you guys were doing a Nokesville Century this weekend? I'd like to do one with y'all (no fixie, but on my honor I'd keep shifting to a minimum), but not on Mother's Day.
Mothers day nixed the Nokesville ride.MB1
May 13, 2002 6:28 AM
So we made do.

We will do it soon but first we have the 400K this Saturday, a California trip, Tour de Montes, Memorial Day weekend and the planned RBR ride.

Busy, busy, busy.....

BTW we took Macarthur to Persimmon Tree Road to River Road. We were at Rileys Lock after 20 miles. Poolesville was fairly busy in the morning and afternoon. Other than there not much traffic at all.
re: These reports...JL
May 13, 2002 9:54 AM
make checking the board fun. It also makes for great motivation on my own ride explorations.

Keep it up and thanks.

Happy riding.

JL
Absolutely! Beautiful!! Thanks- nmrideslikeagirl
May 14, 2002 10:04 AM