RoadBikeReview.com's Forum Archives - General


Archive Home >> General(1 2 3 4 5 6 7 8 9 10 11 12 13 14 15 16 17 18 19 20 21 22 23 24 25 26 27 28 29 30 31 32 33 34 35 36 )


How come only fast people are allowed to ride fast bikes?(21 posts)

How come only fast people are allowed to ride fast bikes?Ken of Fresno
May 12, 2002 8:50 AM
I'm finally getting to the point in my life where I can almost afford the kind of bike that I've always wanted. Almost. There's just something about a time trial bike with a fancy wheelset, maybe Hed 3 front and disc rear, that just screams FAST. The only problem is I'm not that fast. On a good day after I've warmed up I may be able to keep a pace of 23 or 24 maybe, but not all day. Although, with a Hed 3 front and disc rear and on aero bars that might easily become 25 or 26 :) . Also, I'd say I'm a good 20 pounds heaver than I want to be right now. It's tough to find time to ride when you're a grad student. OK. My question is this: why do people see someone on a bike that they think is too good for him and immediately think "Fred" or "Poser" or what ever term they're using these days to refer to someone they deem to be a "wanna be." Is it because the people are just jealous that they can't afford the bike they've always wanted, or is it that there is some rule that says good bikes should only be ridden by good riders? I'm not the kind of guy to wear name brand stuff just for the name or team jerseys (I did when I was on a team though). I think I'm more of a "wanna have" than a "wanna be." Besides, the external motivation would probably make me ride faster anyways. What do you guys think?

Thanks,
Ken
re: How come only fast people are allowed to ride fast bikes?akjohn
May 12, 2002 9:39 AM
Hi Ken,

Being a high-performance cyclist is not everything. Obviously you have worked hard to get where you are in life. Buy what YOU want. After all, you are the one who is signing the check.
After beginning an effective wellness program last year through which I dropped about 40lbs of weight and lots of body fat, I decided to get back into cycling. I did not look forward to starting the season on my old heavy Centurion so I decided to upgrade to a new bike. I figured that I had earned it.
So, after a few months of working hard on a my trainer I bought a new Look frame built up with Ultegra components. Can I ride this bike to its full potential...no way. But, the bike is truly a pleasure to ride, looks cool (no pun intended) and inspires me to improve my cycling ability. I may get left by stronger riders on lower end bikes but who cares...I am healthy, in very good physical condition and happy to be riding. For now that is good enough. Speed will come if I continue training.
Kick butt in grad school, ride on and who cares what others may think :-)

jb
re: How come only fast people are allowed to ride fast bikes?Snowbird
May 12, 2002 3:07 PM
Centurions rock! Mine was stolen about 20 years ago but it sure did serve me well.
That's right!Ken of Fresno
May 12, 2002 7:43 PM
And I've got a $125 Bianchi that I use for a commuter bike. It's a little too small for me, but it gets the job done. If it's got two wheels and it'll roll It's good enough. All bikes are special in their own way.

Ken
re: How come only fast people are allowed to ride fast bikes?fatroadie
May 12, 2002 9:40 AM
I think you should ride whatever the hell you want to ride. I think the only sport more concerned with image is golf. If people exerted as much energy into riding as they do looking "good", then this country would have a lot more kick-arse riders.
Golf?Kerry
May 12, 2002 1:14 PM
"I think the only sport more concerned with image is golf." Have you thought about alpine skiing? Possibly tennis? Sailing? Can I go on?
The rider makes the bikePODIUMBOUNDdotCA
May 12, 2002 11:03 AM
Hey Ken.

I've always been super lucky... or blessed... however you want to say to have parents who I could convince I needed the better stuff. And it helped. I have a nice Cannondale that I got when I first started riding with full Ultegra at like 66% of the retail price then I got hit last year and insurace picked up the tag on a big that doubled our initial investment.

Thats just on the road. On the track last year en route to 4 national championship medals and a trip to the Junior World Track Championships I got a very nice custom frame, full dura-ace track components and corima wheels. It helped me make it but I still had to go faster than any junior ever had. But I also wanted it. Cycling is a style sport and having the coolest stuff is the best part about it... people do get jealous and call people posers but more out of jealousy. So if you want to get a super nice bike I say go for it!!! The nicer the bike in the garage the more and the harder you want to ride it.

Cheers,
Nick Corcoran
In the garage?Ken of Fresno
May 12, 2002 8:13 PM
Hey Nick,

Congrats on your achievements. I saw your web site. Takes really hard work to get that far. I'll be praying for your speedy recovery.

I agree. Ultimately it's the motor, not the bike. I do all my own maintenance on my bike, and I know that the good stuff is just so much easier to work on. When I worked in a bike shop I used to hate having to work on the cheese bikes that would come in. My last Dura Ace bike (a Cannondale) was stolen while I was living in Japan. This next bike will be my first full DA bike in a long time. But hey, I deserve it. Yes, cycling may be sort of an "image" sport, but I don't really look at it like that. Too me it's more like owning Snap-On tools vs. Kmart ones. They'll both work, but the Snap-Ons will work better and longer. Dura Ace works like well made tools. Although, you can't help but feel a littl cool with a full Dura Ace Titanium Time Trial bike and a disc wheel. :)

By the way, do you really keep your bike in the garage? Is it just me or does'nt everyone keep their bike in their bedroom. Hmm. Maybe it's because I'm still single. Or maybe that why I'm still single????

Cheers,
Ken
I keep it in my bedroom too!(nm)James
May 12, 2002 9:42 PM
Thanks and of course I keep my bike in my bedroom!PODIUMBOUNDdotCA
May 12, 2002 11:03 PM
Hey Ken,

Thanks for taking the time to look at the site. And the congratulations on my achievemtns means a lot to me but but can I hope its only a start. Thank you for keeping me in your prayers. As as it stands my recovery is moving along at a very rapid rate that even the doctors don't know why. Just unfortunately I'm only on the bike indoors on rollers to reduce the risk of another fatal blow to the head. I meet with my coach and family doctor to plan the offical plan of attack.

As for you working on old lower end bikes I used to work building bikesat a sport store that only sold bikes as a side to clothing and all that other stuff and I agree the lower end stuff sucked to work on. But cheap bikes get people on bikes at least. Then if you decide you want a nice bike thats your call and if you get called a poser you just have to turn your back on the people who say that. My first "real" mountain bike was a high end Cannondale going on 4 years ago which is still going strong as well. But you know what? It got me really hooked on the sport and I've never looked back since. I've always had a "sprinter" build so my climbing ability always well... wasnt very good! But its getting better.

Then theres a lot to be said about having your road bike hanging up in your room. I have mine with the rollers set up in front of the TV in my bedroom with my other 2 bikes just outside. It feels far better than the wall of medals and trophies I have, because I ride for the love of the sport not that I'm good at it. Thats why as much as it sucks that amateur sports in Canada tends not to be well financed, at least the money doesn't tarnish the sport like many professional sports. But as it stands I feel I'm ready to try to make a motivational/self-marketing career for myself for the time being.

Cheers,
Nick
Email: Nick@PodiumBound.ca (I'll reply to any and all emails)
Website: PodiumBound.ca
In the garage?timmyh
May 13, 2002 7:59 AM
As long as the bike isn't in bed with you, you're okay. :)
re: How come only fast people are allowed to ride fast bikes?Carbon fiber fanatik
May 12, 2002 1:24 PM
I think you should go for it. I'm no pro, i'm not rich, I'm just a normal middleclass, thirty-something, half bald guy with a passion for cycling. I'm gonna catch a lot of grief this year on the road and I could care less. I ride for it's in my blood, what I choose to ride is my choice, no one elses. My newly completed "dream" bike, is a Martec with full dura-ace, hed 3 wheels, aero bars, look forks and I love it. I dont care what it weighs, I dont care if it looks silly to people, I ride for the sheer love of riding and money cannot touch that. People cannot touch that. So my advice? Do your research, buy whatever you want. Bottom line? Ride for yourself and never stop.
P.S. My bike? is damn fast...
Aero wheels make the coolest sounds!PODIUMBOUNDdotCA
May 12, 2002 11:06 PM
Your gonna just laugh at me for saying this but spin your Hed wheels and I believe since at least the front would be a 3 spoke it makes that aero wheel WHOOSH WHOOSH as you blow over it. When I first got my Corima's that entertained me for about 2 mins before I decided to just go ride it! :)

Cheers,
Nick
Email: Nick@PodiumBound.ca (I'll reply to any and all emails)
Website: PodiumBound.ca
re: How come only fast people are allowed to ride fast bikes?timmyh
May 12, 2002 2:26 PM
Ken,

The answer to your question is that those people are elitists. Ride whatever bike you want and pay no mind to what they think. How can they possibly judge you based solely on the bike you ride?
re: How come only fast people are allowed to ride fast bikes?S-U-B
May 12, 2002 3:37 PM
I agree with the rest. I too can afford any bike I want. am I a great rider? not yet but I'm getting there. When people use the term poser, or fred, it is just showing their jealousy in my opinion. If it makes you want to ride more, go for it. I recently decided to buy another bike, I got the Look 381i on the way, and a couple of friends who are not well off were drilling me on why I need another bike. I do not rub it in, or brag, but I could see their jealousy. I tried to explain how I wanted a more comfortable bike for longer rides, my other ride is an Aluminum GT, that I will keep for criteriums, but they were not buying it. Looking back, I should have just said "I got another bike because I can afford it and I want it." amazing to me how people without money can turn those of us who have some into evil people.
re: How come only fast people are allowed to ride fast bikes?firstrax
May 12, 2002 5:12 PM
I can relate. I just dropped 3 grand on a bike and got labeled a rich guy. What they dont consider is the fact that I dont have a boat a motorcycle a four wheeler and an SUV (nothing wrong with having those things). They do.
re: How come only fast people are allowed to ride fast bikes?nat_ct1
May 12, 2002 6:50 PM
im an american living in sicily. i dont even get the option of riding an american bike nor would i. i can get my colnago ct1/ksyriums/daytona 10/carbon seat post,forks for $3000. to me this is top of the line...we watch the prices people in the states pay. im glad i started this sport here,i only pay $23 for a jersey that you are paying $64 for. so if you look at it are they riding a quality bike or are theyriding a price tag? you ride what you want because anytime someone wants to cry or comment they are more than likely just jellous.
How about American bike prices in Italy?Ken of Fresno
May 12, 2002 7:33 PM
Sounds like you've got it made. How much do American bikes go for over there? Or can you even get them? I'll bet the pasta and pizza is pretty good as well as the vino. Altough our California wines are getting pretty good now. Thanks for the input. By the way, I've been toying with the idea of going to Italy for a while. I don't suppose they're looking for English teachers over there? What do you do, if you don't mind my asking? Hope you're enjoying your stay.

Thanks,
Ken
How about American bike prices in Italy?nat_ct1
May 12, 2002 7:51 PM
im in the military.as for the american bikes i only know of one guy with one and he brought it from the states. mainland sicily is up to date but sicily is like the land that technology forgot so if you like all you all your electronic toys forget it. but if you want a place full of culture and history ill see you soon...but you know there is a difference in lang between italy and sicily??
Sounds like Sicily would be good to visit, but...Ken of Fresno
May 12, 2002 8:30 PM
I'd have to have access to the hi tech stuff, so the mainland would probably be more my speed. I guess I got spoiled in Japan as fas as traveling and technology goes. That internat cafe sure was nice. Had satelite tv too. Do many people speak English there?

Thanks for the info,
Ken
rRide what makes you happyjc66502
May 12, 2002 8:42 PM
Who cares about the people who lable you a 'fred'. Are they the type of riders you want to associate with, anway? A nice bike makes me happy, it gives me pride of ownership, and it's within my means. So, I really don't let others opinions about me and my bikes get me down.

I just received a new DA group for my old-ish Serotta. Am I ever going to use the DA to its fullest potential? Absolutely, because it's fullest potential is to make me happy as a cyclist, not to wear the maiilot jaune on the Champs Elysees.

Think of it this way: if only 'fast' riders could ride nice bikes, there would be precious, precious few nice bikes.

Cheers (and ride what you want to ride)