RoadBikeReview.com's Forum Archives - General


Archive Home >> General(1 2 3 4 5 6 7 8 9 10 11 12 13 14 15 16 17 18 19 20 21 22 23 24 25 26 27 28 29 30 31 32 33 34 35 36 )


is joseba beloki a threat to LA?(14 posts)

is joseba beloki a threat to LA?Maverick
May 10, 2002 9:44 AM
in the absence of Ulrich, will beloki be a threat to LA in the tdf this yr?
No, a great rider but not very good at TT (nm)grandemamou
May 10, 2002 10:11 AM
he only lost 2.5min on TTcyclopathic
May 10, 2002 10:43 AM
and Jan lost 1:40.

If you only consider people who beat Lance in TT then you need to watch out for Cadel Evans.
Cadel Evans, Ha!TJeanloz
May 10, 2002 10:53 AM
Cadel Evans will not beat Armstrong in a Tour Time Trial. I wouldn't be surprised to see a top ten GC for him- but he isn't in the same class TT wise as Armstrong. The only people capable of that feat are probably: Zulle, Jalabert, Ullrich. And only one of them will be at the Tour. Cadel didn't win any of the TT's at Romandie- Zulle beat him handily in the longer one.
One result...Wannabe
May 10, 2002 11:00 AM
I love how people will cite one result where a particular rider did better than Lance and then say that said rider is the one to watch out for come tour time! Yes, Cadel beat Lance in that one TT last year following the tour, but if I remember correctly, Lance wasn't second either...

Andy
re: Cadel Evans, Ha!cyclopathic
May 10, 2002 11:14 AM
I'd be fairly surprised if rookie (assuming Mapei will list him) will win tour. BUT grandemamou thinks that only people who beat Lance in TT are capable of winning tour. Evans beat Lance in Aug, '01, Lausanne by 1:30 (it was a short 1/2hr TT too)

I personally think good climber can beat Lance this year, there're 4 or 5 stages ending with long climb. Anyone cappable of putting 2-3min on Lance over 13-20km 7% climb should be able to afford to loose 2.5min on TT.

Anyways if there's anyone to challenge Lance it would be someone relatively unknown, not Jan 'nd "usual suspects".
That would be coolgrandemamou
May 10, 2002 11:27 AM
Maybe a good young rider makes a break through. If I remember right the same top three, 2 yrs in a row.

As much as everone else seemed to enjoy RRP I much prefer this arguement.
re: Cadel Evans, Ha!yeah right
May 10, 2002 12:09 PM
I'm just curious who the pure climbers who can put 2-3 min into lance (assuming in form) a stage are? In the mountain stages in last years TDF, I don't remember and GC challengers out climbing lance, and I doubt Simoni is capable of that feat as well. I'm not a card carrying member of the "lance is god" club, but I don't see any "pure" climbers challenging him.

P.S.
Start talking about Cadel in 3-4 years, then he might be a serious contender.
Exactly!Wannabe
May 10, 2002 12:38 PM
Everyone thinks that a "pure" climber could challenge Lance. Personally, I don't think any climber at the peak of their form, can beat Lance at the peak of his.

My opinion...

Andy
this is only your opinioncyclopathic
May 10, 2002 2:04 PM
and I have mine so what? we'll see in a few weeks who is right. Lance is not god and he is not unbeatable face it.
Yep, that's part of the fun..Wannabe
May 10, 2002 7:08 PM
is being opinionated. No, he's not a "god" and no, he's not unbeatable. But I think he's the best climber going right now.

Cyclopathic, you're on! By the end of July we'll know if Lance was the best climber in this year's tour!

Lance was the best climber last year, face it.

Andy
He's not a lousy TT'rgrandemamou
May 10, 2002 11:20 AM
He's actualy much better than he used to be. I don't think he'd have to destroy Lance in a TT but IMO he couldn't afford to lose 2.5 min and expect to win.
Nope, but Mapei yes!!!! We'll see with the Giro.tempeteKerouak
May 10, 2002 12:19 PM
If the Giro is a good measure for the Tour form, let's see how Mapei does with the young dogs that can climb, and TT with the best...

My vote to Cadel... Hope he turns some heads.
LA is the only threat to LA. nmMaRider
May 10, 2002 5:09 PM
.