RoadBikeReview.com's Forum Archives - General


Archive Home >> General(1 2 3 4 5 6 7 8 9 10 11 12 13 14 15 16 17 18 19 20 21 22 23 24 25 26 27 28 29 30 31 32 33 34 35 36 )


Custom Steel Frames(15 posts)

Custom Steel FramesJambo
May 9, 2002 1:41 PM
I'm looking for a good custom steel frame builder. Anyone got any suggestions? I'm sure there are some great builders out there that I've never heard of. I want something light and stiff enough to be raceable. I love steel, and if I'm going custom I want to get something distinctive.
Right now I'm leaning towards Land Shark.
re: Custom Steel Frameskoala
May 9, 2002 1:56 PM
I got a Tom Teesdale (tetcycles.com) and I am very pleased with it. I got a reduction in the advertised price on the web and the frames are all custom. My only beef was it took a long time to get it(nine weeks). I chose foco as it rides so much better than my master lite did and yet the frame is very stiff when you stomp the pedals(I weigh 167 and ride a 55c-c). Just make sure if you go threadless to specify if you want a longer than normal head tube for comfort. The frame weighs 3.34 lbs with bottle bolts and seat collar. Sweet ride.
re: Custom Steel Framesgtx
May 9, 2002 2:27 PM
9 weeks doesn't sound that bad, and his prices are pretty good. How's the paint?
re: Custom Steel Frameskoala
May 9, 2002 2:45 PM
The paint looks great but does chip more easily than the master lite did. Alignment was dead on.
If you wanted art, I'd look at Moon ...Humma Hah
May 9, 2002 2:13 PM
... I've personally drooled over a cobalt-blue Moon, gold-plated lugs ... custom built for enough $$$ to ruin a marriage.
even his "budget" work is beautifull..colker
May 9, 2002 2:38 PM
$1300. not bad. one color and standard lugwork. standard being high quality classic style build.
the usual suspectsJekyll
May 9, 2002 2:18 PM
Steelman
Strong
Anvil
Serotta
IF
Seven
Waterford
Keyser Soze
the usual suspectsloop
May 9, 2002 3:10 PM
Don't forget Dean, who, incidentally, looks nothing like Keyzer Soze.
Ditto Dean...I'm waiting for my Cuelbra SCI to arrive.Gregory Taylor
May 10, 2002 5:41 AM
www.deanbikes.com
Strong - reasonably priced, quality build, 4 weeks, good guy (nmterry b
May 9, 2002 2:25 PM
Spectrum CyclesBikewithadam
May 9, 2002 3:50 PM
I just got a custom Spectrum Ti, so I can't comment on Spectrum's steel frames too specifically, but I did see them being built and in that respect I can attest to how fabulous they are. More importantly, Tom and Jeff at Spectrum are the most knowlegable, and nicest, guys you'll find in the business. Tom's "the guru", period. (IMHO) I've had four outings on my new Spectrum thus far and I'll post pics/reviews ASAP. Check out www.spectrum-cycles.com for more info. If you talk to Tom I don't think you'll be disappointed! The bike he just built for me rides like a dream!
my custom spectrum - - -liv2padl
May 9, 2002 4:03 PM
built by the "master" tom kellogg is a dream bike. it's going on 14 years old and still looks and rides like the day i brought it home from pennsylvania. trust me, tom can build a bike.
my custom spectrum - - -SteveS
May 9, 2002 6:52 PM
I posted a picture of my Spectrum "green goddess" steel bike at the Spectrum Owner's forum. quite a lovely bike. And I third the comments on Tom Kellogg and Jeff.
Location and accessboneman
May 10, 2002 3:50 AM
I've had three built over the years and would recommend a builder you can visit. This way you can talk to them about what you want and also be measured in person. The other was is to find a builder who is comfortable with someone local, or through a standardized fitting system/kit, to take your measurements and discuss you preferences.

Custom's worth the trouble once you feel the fit and balance of custom fitting.
Dean rocks. Pegoretti looks very good, also.Gator
May 10, 2002 7:06 AM
I ride a Dean ti MTB, and it just rules, man. They're great to deal with, too. Lately, I've been very intrigued by Pegoretti, wich is a custom Italian steel builder that gets rave review and isn't outrageously expensive, and you can get super-wacky Italian paint. They're at gitabikes.com, I believe.

Curtlo is another good builder that is VERY reasonable. If you want a sort of retro bike that is stunningly beautiful, look at Columbine bikes --they're AMAZING. No one mentioned Richard Sachs, either.