RoadBikeReview.com's Forum Archives - General


Archive Home >> General(1 2 3 4 5 6 7 8 9 10 11 12 13 14 15 16 17 18 19 20 21 22 23 24 25 26 27 28 29 30 31 32 33 34 35 36 )


105 is the best? What did this mean?(9 posts)

105 is the best? What did this mean?tronracer
May 9, 2002 6:59 AM
A few days back, I read on this sit (now I can't find it of course)that for 2002, 105 is the best group. Then ultegra and went down the list. If anyone remembers this, clue me in because I thought Dura ace and Record were tops. What does this guy mean that 105 is the best? Best value perhaps?
re: 105 is the best? What did this mean?Len J
May 9, 2002 7:03 AM
I didn't see the post you are talking about, but most people believe that 105 gives the best performance for the money in the Shimano road line. It's not as light as Ultegra or D/A but it gives you about 95 % of the performance for consirably less money. I have a 105 equipped (triple) Lemond & a D/A Trek. Frankly, the 105 has been bulletproof. Downside is it is heavier, and not quite as smooth shifting and has a few rattles in the hoods.

YMMV

Len
Best value, probably--90+ percent of Dura Ace for less $retro
May 9, 2002 7:17 AM
You see that a lot, and FWIW, I agree--105 gives performance very close to Dura Ace, but for far less money. The weight difference isn't great enough to matter to me, but it does to some people.
Would you make the same analysis andconclusion b/t 105&Ultgra?nm128
May 9, 2002 7:47 AM
re: 105 is the best? What did this mean?Indiana Rider
May 9, 2002 7:48 AM
I've had 105 and Ultegra... for the money 105 is a great value. I noticed little if any difference in performance.
Thismuncher
May 9, 2002 8:52 AM
It's great value. I have been using it for 10 years, and I just wouldn't bother paying more - it works great. And my hoods have never rattled - just lucky I suppose, but in any event there is an easy fix for that with a bit of gum.

My only concession to weight/price is to use an Ultegra block - it is a lot lighter and not a lot more money.

M.
105 BB's stink!Alexx
May 9, 2002 1:22 PM
I must've killed 5 of them, before I switched to Ultegra. No problems since.
BTW, Record is made by Campagnolo, not Shitmano.
I think I posted that...I Love Shimano
May 9, 2002 5:32 PM
Well, my opinions are partly true from a more economical perspective. 105 is better than D/A BECAUSE if give more performance PER DOLLAR. Otherwise, of course, D/A and Ultegra perform better than 105.

I cannot speak for Campy though, I haven't had the chance to use their groupsets.
re: 105 is the best? What did this mean?NJRoad
May 10, 2002 4:35 AM
I've been riding the 105 group for a year now. Granted this is my first road bike but I have no complaints about the performance. And as far as the weight goes when you weigh 220lbs like I do you can't get too picky about 50 grams either way.

P.S. some of the performance benefits can be upgraded into the 105 group. After taking apart my rear drlr for some cleaning I noticed how flimsy the pulley bushing were and picked up a set of Ultegra pulleys for $16 at my LBS.